We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute stay. ..great find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nautilus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Nautilus to your Saves list
The Nautilus
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   387 Marine Parade, Napier, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Last minute stay. ..great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Friendly reception, good location, free parking and very comfortable room with everything we needed. Breakfast was included and was a good continental type breakfast. Enjoyed our day in Napier and would highly recommend the Nautilus

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    130
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
49
258
16
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colwyn Bay, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We came across the Nautilus by accident after being recommended the hotel next door, so we thought we would drop in for a comparison.

Got offered a special rate ($135NZ / night), and when we checked the room it was like a mini apartment! Kichenette was modern and well-specced (microwave was better than mine :) ), and patio doors opened out to an ocean view on the balcony.

Service was brilliant and friendly - they even let us keep our car in the carpark on the final day after we checked out whilst we shopped!

PROS : Lots of space, Price, Cheap wi-fi, Room spec, coffee had a plunger and proper milk!
CONS : Slight leak in Spa bath,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Would highly recommend this hotel, fantastic rooms and service was so fantastic, great prices, room service, great location. We were very late to check in and the man was very accommodating, it was not an issue, will be back! Thanks very much!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

No matter how many times I go to Napier, The Nautilus is the place to stay. The room is layed out just right and very clean and tidy. Always ask for the ocean view. The dawn is just breathtaking. A very good restaurant with good food at realistic prices. The parking is tight so first in, first served. Your hosts are friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne NZ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We have stayed at this Motel on several occasions. We keep coming back, its nicely appointed, has great views of the water, lovely hosts, and reasonably priced. The restaurant is great if you arrive later in the day and don't want to travel far for dinner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed in the Nautilus for two nights over Auckland Anniversary wkend, our room was really good. Lots of room, large walk in shower, large spa bath which was very relaxing. The staff here were nice and friendly. Nice leather couch and two armchairs which made relaxing while looking out at the ocean a great way to wind down. When the bifold doors are open the traffic is quite loud, when they are closed it is very quiet. Little touches were a nice two seater by the entrance door so you can catch the afternoon sun outside, another is we asked not to be disturbed one morning - we went out about 11:45am and put the sign up asking for room to be serviced. this was done without any issue at all, such a nice touch - thank you Nautilus. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Definitely choose either the middle or upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at the Nautilus for one night and were extremely suprised at the quality of the room and motel. We booked a suite on the first floor and had a very comfortable stay. The motel restaurant was also excellent. All rooms are spotlessly clean and you have wall-mounted flatscreen TVs in the living room and bedroom, with the full set of Sky channels (including sky movies). Highly recommended motel, offering 4 star hotel quality for a motel price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nautilus

Address: 387 Marine Parade, Napier, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#5 Business Hotel in Napier
#8 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nautilus 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nautilus Hotel Napier
Nautilus Hotel Napier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nautilus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.