We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How many hours til dinner?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Quayside Restaurant & Conference Centre - CLOSED

Quayside Restaurant & Conference Centre
10 West Quay, Ahuriri, Napier 4110, New Zealand
(06) 833 6035
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Buffet
New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“How many hours til dinner?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We were a party of 14, prebooked for 7pm, on a night when the restaurant was not busy, so waiting 3 hours for our mains was totally unacceptable, particularly as most of our party did not have entrees so this was their first food for the evening since arriving! The menu was limited and uninspiring, the meals came out slowly a few at a time, and were at best lukewarm and some cold, 1 side arrived after the main was completely finished and the last steak arrived after 10pm, the steaks tasted fine apart from the cool temperature but 2 of the other meals were inedible! So by the time we finished eating it was well after 10pm so all enthusiasum was long since gone and forget dessert, the manager on duty also the chef on the night had left, leaving 2 young waitstaff to apologise for the debacle, they were embarrassed at the slowness of delivery, and we were embarrassed as locals going with a large group of friends from out nof town. It provided a very poor impression, and the waitstaff were in no way at fault but the kitchen staff ..... I can only hope the manager on duty and cook for the night handed his resignation in as he left, before we had even finshed our mains . The restaurant has a spectacular view, and should have been great, but we will not be returning any time soon, and will instead take visitors to 1 of the many other fine restaurants that Napier has that showcase the excellence of the region so well. Shame on you Quayside.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    1
    1
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Too quiet - no locals eating there?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

The food was 'OK' except that the menu wasn't the same as the one made available at our very local motel (Anchorage) and the rack of lamb - undercooked for my taste - was served up with roast sweet potatoe. The menu stated 'roast potatoes' so I wasn't expecting anything different - and I really don't like to Kumara type of potatoe.
Sorry to say that my wife and I would not visit again even though it's very convenient to where we're staying.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimate, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very very disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

took visiting australian friends here on a wednesday night.... very long wait, 1.30 hours between courses.... and then when it came it was pretty crap food.. boullinese thing had very tough squid and a couple of mussells, and a huge amount of liquid .. snapper was over cooked and mushy, flounder was undercooked..... all we got was a couple of free beers and charged the full amount!! never will be back and recommendiong no-one else does..

  • Visited February 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quayside Restaurant experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2008

First vist ever to Quayside. Couldn't complain about the food, large servings, well presented and a great selection. Decor looking very tired and shabby, but the view over the harbour is great.

Front of House was appalling!! We stood at reception for some minutes while the girl behind the desk fiddled about trying to input a food order into the computer.

We were just about to leave when another waitress came out from the kitchen, and we were seated. As it was mid week there were very few people in the restaurant at the time, there were no excuses for this lack of interest.

PLEASE a note to all restaurants, your Reception/Front of House are crucial to your business. A smile, a hello or good-eveing are the very least your guests expect.

Food and Beverage Service staff in NZ are often not well trained and possibly not well paid, but if you want to succeed in the supposed tough times ahead, take heed.

We will try this restaurant again, in the hope that this was an off-night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Great Salmon dinner and...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2008

Great Salmon dinner and Oyster Shots with tomato juice!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quayside Restaurant & Conference Centre also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quayside Restaurant & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.