We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food but way to expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cullens Restaurant

Cullens Restaurant
Hood St, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand
07838 3618
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 203 Restaurants in Hamilton
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Coolangatta, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice food but way to expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The food was very nice, but not worth the price that was charged. If you love seafood it might be worth it but $30+ for a bit of chicken and $18 for a small desert is a bit steep!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    24
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Consistently very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Good service, the food was excellent. Not too busy. Excellent ambiance. We ate the Fish of the day with a seafood risotto, the fish was hake which was perfectly cooked, still moist but firm. The risotto was flavoursome. The guys ate the lamb and couscous, the NZ lamb was cooked to perfection, still pink. Topped off with creme brulée, pear tartin and affogato.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jun F, Manager at Cullens Restaurant, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Hi Pennycameron,

I am very glad you enjoyed your meal at Cullens, and a big thank you for your very detailed review of our food which was a pleasure to read!

Thanks once more, and we hope we would have the pleasure of you dining with us.

Best regards,

Jun Fu
Assistant Manager
Cullens Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely fresh fish and wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Sunday night in Hamilton and everything was shut. I hadn't checked out this place on Tripadvisor but it looked really nice - a very simple menu full of fresh fish. From the moment we walked in, we couldn't have been better looked after. We decided to try different wines by the glass, and the waitress was very knowledgable about the list. They were wonderful about my dietary requirements too, (no wheat, no dairy) and brought me gluten free bread without even being asked. My main course - Hapuka - was one of the most delicious fish dishes I've ever had. Apart from Ortega Fish Shack in Wellington, this was the best meal I had in a month of travelling around New Zealand.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Very expensive for very average food. Wannabe fancy with not much going for it in terms of flavour, partially incredibly salty, partially plain - overall a mix of too many flavours none of which were tasty and didn't work together. Presentation showed some effort but couldn't distract much from the taste. Pretty disappointed sadly. Atmosphere was quite nice though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A night with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Beautiful food, good setting, service was good too. Really enjoyed the experience, and will be happy to return. Only slight issue was I think our. Waitress was run off her feet, maybe should have had extra staff on for a busy Saturday night.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cullens Restaurant also viewed

Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 

Been to Cullens Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cullens Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.