We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak, Eggs and Chips, a bit of Kiwi gourmet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cock & Bull Traditional English Pub and Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cock & Bull Traditional English Pub and Restaurant
1 Corner Maui and Church Streets, Hamilton 2001, New Zealand
(07) 850 5254
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 203 Restaurants in Hamilton
Restaurant details
Canberra Australia
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
366 helpful votes 366 helpful votes
“Steak, Eggs and Chips, a bit of Kiwi gourmet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

It was near the motel we stayed and we wanted a change from the Motel restaurant and this was the closest, at the North end of Te Rapa Road and turn right. Good atmosphere even if it is modern "Olde", had the steak eggs and chips and a huge Weiss beer, $30 for the meal, not much change out of $20 for the 2 beers. Scotch fillet steak had a bitter sort of taste and should have been much more tender. but ate it all as I was hundgry. Any other time I would have sent it back, maybe the grill has caked on carbon and the flame was too high? Efficient staff but with superficial false smile "niceness".

Wouldn't go again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    17
    12
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Normanby, Taranaki NZ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Always good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We have had meals here before while staying in Hamilton. We always find the service great, the meals lovely, it always feels warm with the fire going and feels like a little country pub in the UK. What I did find was it was a cold windy night, and every time smokers went out or came in off the porch area freezing air came in, and the door was slammed with an almighty bang! Maybe on cold nights the smokers could use the front door to come in and go out for puff ups.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“English pub in the heart of Nz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

If any place has gotten close to replicating an English pub... This place has come very close
The secound you walk in its a piece of England in the heart if Hamilton
Good service is exceptional for a pub : and a huge range of local and English beers makes a great night out
It is a pub... Not a Resturant.. But with a name like "Cock and Bull" what else would you expect
I will be back

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Never before have we been met at the door by the staff, seated and then waited on. This is a pub that serves meals, not a restau”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Just for a treat we went for lunch before the Field days in the Waikato.
As said, we were greeted at the door, seated, presented with a menu and asked if we wanted a drink.
I had a beef roast and Yorkshire pudding and my lady had a Thai beef salad. We both enjoyed every mouth full.
House beers, a good wine selection made for an enjoyable lunch.
Definitely we will go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just average...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Went for a family lunch..food was pub grub and prices seemed excessive. Can't really rate the service as we had to go to the bar to order drinks as well as food. However the food was served fairly promptly. Just an average meal...and average overall experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cock & Bull Traditional English Pub and Restaurant also viewed

 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 

Been to Cock & Bull Traditional English Pub and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cock & Bull Traditional English Pub and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.