We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Hamilton Tainui

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Hamilton Tainui to your Saves list
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Alma St, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%!
Ranked #18 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Tauranga
2 reviews
“Overnight room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Required room for an event in Hamilton. Good clean room.Service was good. No problems would stay again as close to town..Good value for money with breakfast included in deal. Breakfast could have had a better fresh fruit selection but was Ibis not Novotel

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Allison B,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for ibis Tainui Hamilton. We are really happy that you enjoyed our central location and that you would stay again.
Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel.

Kind regards,

Daniel McKeown
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    302
    147
    41
    12
See reviews for
122
248
88
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The hotel location was fairly simple to find, the parking was made easy with a valet (at a cost) the staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was just the right size and the dinner was simple but affordable and the breakfast was great with lots of variety and healthy alternatives. All in all a very satisfying stay and I will definitely be back when I have business in Hamilton.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear smily016Tauranga,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for ibis Tainui Hamilton. The whole team would like to say thank you for positing such great feedback about the hotel. It is really great news that you enjoyed both the breakfast and dinner; and most important of all, that you would return.
We really hope that we can welcome you back to the ibis Tainui Hamilton very soon.

Kind regards,

Daniel McKeown
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melboutne
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Very central hotel close to shopping, restaurants,my room had a king size bed with city views, bathroom had shampoo & conditioner. Hotel has free 30 minutes wifi in reception area. Otherwise charges are $9.90 for 2hrs or $22.90 for 24 hrs. Breakfast was very good & very very clean. Hamilton is a wonderful place to visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear foreveritalian,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for ibis Tainui Hamilton. We are delighted with your fantastic feedback and enjoyed our central location and views of the river.

It is great news that you enjoyed the breakfast and found the rooms and hotel to be very very clean.
Thanks again, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Daniel McKeown
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed at IBIS Hamilton last week. the staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean an comfortable. However, the one meal I had was rubbish. If the fish was any more undercooked, it would have been flapping and demanding to be put back into the little pond it was scooped out of. .. my colleague had undercooked pasta the same day. Another colleague commented that his food was awful also. Oh well, at least there is plenty of choice for nice meals in the vicinity.

In short, happy to stay at the hotel, but never to eat there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Rodney0001,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for ibis Tainui Hamilton. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay overall, however I am really disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your meals. We have worked hard to ensure that we offer a fantastic menu and an excellent quality of meals, and I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy your dinning experience on this occasion. If you could contact me directly at h6690-gm@accor.com with some more details, I would love to investigate your comments further to be able to improve on your experience.

I am really happy that you found the rooms clean and comfortable and the staff helpful.

Thank you again for sharing your comments.

Sincerely,

Daniel McKeown
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Hamilton Tainui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Hamilton Tainui

Address: 18 Alma St, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Hamilton
#13 Business Hotel in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Hamilton Tainui 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Waikato River, the Hotel Ibis Tainui Hamilton is your gateway to New Zealand's wonderful Waikato region. Primely positioned in the heart of Hamilton City, the brand new 126 room hotel is ideal for both leisure and business trips. Just 20 minutes from Hamilton International Airport, the hotel also offers easy access to relaxing river walkways, cafes, restaurants, Skycity Casino, shopping and entertainment. Part of the only international hotel chain in Hamilton, the Ibis hotel is a great way to enjoy your stay in the Waikato! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Hamilton Tainui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hamilton Tainui Hotel Hamilton
Accor Hamilton Tainui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Hamilton Tainui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.