We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay spoilt by credit card commission on charge” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Hamilton Tainui

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Hamilton Tainui to your Saves list
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Alma St, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%!
Ranked #18 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
“Stay spoilt by credit card commission on charge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed due to location although I have stayed many times with my previous employer and knew it to be acceptable.
Our stay was ok but our room very noisy.
Staff were polite but quite uninterested.

Our stay was completely spoilt on leaving by being charged 1.5% because we paid by credit card. This is unacceptable and I was not even told until it was being processed and I questioned the price change. Customers understand if you do not take certain credit cards as the commission is high but a MasterCard is only 2% - if told I could have switched to Eftpos. I own a business and would never consider on charging the commission - my customers would stay away if I did.

I expected better from Accor - it is the principle of the thing !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    301
    147
    41
    12
See reviews for
122
247
88
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed here and the rooms were quite small, however very tidy not recommended for a family stay however couples may be perfect. Location was great very central and a walk to sky city. The buffet breakfast in the morning however was amazing. all in all not to bad.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My third stay at this hotel. Very efficient from arrival with valet parking (additional cost). Staff were most helpful and room was well appointed. Not too much space if 3 were to stay in the room. My river-view room window as very small and you had to stand on the spare bed to see out. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My stay at the Ibis Tainui was great, however, I was disappointed with the parking situation. If travelling by car, there are limited options for parking. There is no free parking, only valet service that you pay for. The cost of this was not on the website. There are only 30 carparks for over 100 rooms, so you if you arrive late, you may not get a park at all and the only alternative is to park a block away in the casino carpark pay everytime you exit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

For an hotel in the middle of town with excellent customer service, adequate rooms, free Internet and a handy (though over priced) restaurant, the Ibis Hamilton is excellent value. $20 for overnight valet parking, smiling co-operative 'can do' staff and a friendly atmosphere make this an enjoyable stay. Thank you

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear HopefulTraveller748
Thank you for taking the time to post you feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Ibis Tainui. I am pleased that your enjoyed your visit and found the team friendly & co-operative. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind regards
Clare Eccles
Hotel Manager
Ibis Tainui Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was clean, comfortable and being on the 7th floor,had amazing view over the city. The breakfast menu offered a wide variety of good foods.We were out for the other meals so can't comment on them. The hotel is well positioned for the shops and we had a pleasant walk over to River rd to visit friends. We did recommend it to our friends as they asked about telling their friends if it was a good hotel.
The tariff offered online was excellent value. Valet parking gave us peace of mind.

This review is late as I didn't notice the email when it arrived.

Thak you,
Priscilla Penney.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Prisky_13
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay with us at Ibis Tainui. I am pleased that you enjoyed you time with us and have recommended the hotel to your friends and family.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind regards
Clare Eccles
Hotel Manager
Ibis Tainui Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Have stayed here a few times in the last three years and not much has changed. You have to get your own trolley to unload your bags. Have asked before if someone could do it and was told that they do not have the staff to do this. You then have to check in on the 1st floor taking your own packed trolley with you. The staff are friendly though.the carpet in front of the reception desk needs replacing as it is frayed. The hallways are a bit tired and knocked around. The rooms are due for a major overhaul, The fridge needed replacing as it makes very strange noises in the night,had to turn it off at the wall.The pillows were terrible, there was no substance to them at all. Have not tried the restaurant.The overall cleanliness is ok.
Its ok but is only worth $125 a night maximum.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Hamilton Tainui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Hamilton Tainui

Address: 18 Alma St, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Hamilton
#13 Business Hotel in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Hamilton Tainui 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Waikato River, the Hotel Ibis Tainui Hamilton is your gateway to New Zealand's wonderful Waikato region. Primely positioned in the heart of Hamilton City, the brand new 126 room hotel is ideal for both leisure and business trips. Just 20 minutes from Hamilton International Airport, the hotel also offers easy access to relaxing river walkways, cafes, restaurants, Skycity Casino, shopping and entertainment. Part of the only international hotel chain in Hamilton, the Ibis hotel is a great way to enjoy your stay in the Waikato! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Hamilton Tainui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hamilton Tainui Hotel Hamilton
Accor Hamilton Tainui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Hamilton Tainui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.