We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Hamilton Tainui

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Hamilton Tainui to your Saves list
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Alma St, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
A TripAdvisor Member
“Excellent place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Everything was very good about our stay here; just two things could have improved our stay.
1. The price of breakfast.
2. The room was bright with light through the pull across blinds all night. Discovered next morning that there was a pull down blind behind the front blinds!
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing to stay at Ibis Tainui Hamilton, I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ibis when you next visit Hamilton.
Kind regards
Clare Eccles
Hotel Manager
Ibis Tainui Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    324
    156
    44
    15
See reviews for
132
266
92
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Hamilton is a small town and there isn't much to do here. Ibis Hamilton is centrally located, a few steps from the casino and the main shopping strip. The room was one of the bigger ones that we have stayed at an Ibis property. But I was very disappointed with the service here. When we arrived, I needed a luggage trolley to push our bags to the room. I asked the hotel staff at the door for the trolley and he pointed it to me. He just stood there all the time when I was struggling on my own to push the heavy trolley into the lift. He didn't see the need to help me while other hotel guests were kind enough to help.

The free wifi at the reception was almost non existent as they only gave a very small mb per room. I can't remember how little it was but my session was up within 5-10min and I only did some surfing on Facebook.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Bluefish7
Thank you for choosing to stay at Ibis Tainui during your recent visit to Hamilton and for taking the time to post your feedback. I am pleased that you found our hotel handy to most things and apologise that some areas of our service did not meet your expectations. Our complimentary internet is for 30minutes or 8mbs daily per device we also offer complimentary guest computers with internet access for guest on level.
Again thank you for your feedback.
Kind regards
Clare Eccles
Hotel Manager
Ibis Tainui Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed at the Ibis Hamilton again this year and as always found it to be a very clean and well presented property. The room we had looked out over the river and had everything we needed. We had all our breakfasts at the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed sitting out on the verandah overlooking the mighty Waikato River. The food is always of a good standard and the staff are always prepared to go the extra mile. Will be back again next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing to stay at Ibis Tainui again during your trip to Hamilton and for taking the time to post your feedback. I am pleased that you continue to enjoy your time with us and will share your comments with the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Ibis Tainui next year.
Kind regards
Clare Eccles
Hotel Manager
Ibis Tainui Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Hotel was close the shops and casino,hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was average but we didn't have it late in the morning. Had noisy fridge in room and smell from bathroom drain so had to keep bathroom door shut. Room was adequate for 1 night stay but was too compact for extended periods. Valet parking was very prompt.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear cj2809
Thank you for posting your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Ibis Tainui Hamilton. I am pleased you enjoyed your time with and will share your feedback with the team so the areas you mentioned can be improved. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Hamilton.
Kind regards
Clare Eccles
Hotel Manager
Ibis Tainui Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Excellent location, right in the heart of the city, just across from Novotel and Sky Casino. Can choose to dine anywhere. Can easily take a walk down the Waikato river path. Only issue was the carpet in the room could do with a steam clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear billy_kingi
Thank you for choosing to stay at Ibis Tainui during your visit to Hamilton and for taking the time to post your feedback. It is through all feedback that we have the opportunity to improve the service & facilities we offer our guests. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Clare Eccles
Hotel Manager
Ibis Tainui Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Had left my wallet locked in company office, so no Credit Card to take at check in- the staff were polite and obliging ( sought duty Manager to authorise my check in) and he advised they would accept room account but I couldn't charge anything back to it. Obviously with no Wallet my options for dining elsewhere were 0, so common sense ( and sense of Trust for an Accor Club member ) prevailed and dinner and breakfast were charged back to my room and the account paid next morning once I had retrieved my wallet from the Company's local office. Everything else very good, as per normal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Rabo_12
Thank you for continuing to support Ibis Tainui, and for taking the time to post your feedback. I am pleased that under difficult circumstances that the team showed flexibility with our procedures and were able to assist you. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ibis Tainui when you next visit Hamilton.
Kind regards
Clare Eccles
Hotel Manager
Ibis Tainui Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Hamilton Tainui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Hamilton Tainui

Address: 18 Alma St, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Hamilton
#11 Business Hotel in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Hamilton Tainui 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Waikato River, the Hotel Ibis Tainui Hamilton is your gateway to New Zealand's wonderful Waikato region. Primely positioned in the heart of Hamilton City, the brand new 126 room hotel is ideal for both leisure and business trips. Just 20 minutes from Hamilton International Airport, the hotel also offers easy access to relaxing river walkways, cafes, restaurants, Skycity Casino, shopping and entertainment. Part of the only international hotel chain in Hamilton, the Ibis hotel is a great way to enjoy your stay in the Waikato! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Hamilton Tainui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hamilton Tainui Hotel Hamilton
Accor Hamilton Tainui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Hamilton Tainui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.