We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Motor lodge in the city of the future” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park View Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Park View Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Park View Motor Lodge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   450 Tristram Street, Hamilton, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Motor lodge in the city of the future”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for 3 nights on a business trip. I really like the fact that places like this have great little kitchenettes that you can cook meals and store food in a decent fridge etc. It had a LCD TV, heat pump and a little table where you could sit and eat your dinner. Free Wi-fi is a bonus and is becoming the expected norm for a business traveller such as myself. It had a Spa bath and my room had disabled facilities in the Bathroom. There is also a great sauna here and plenty of parking. The bed I feel let the place down a bit. And the walls are very thin. I recommend earplugs, as I was woken up at 6am by a baby crying next door and then again 15 mins later and at 8am by people next door banging doors :( Also, due to the courtyard design of the place you can hear people talking if they are having drinks in their rooms late at night and it echoes around the facility. I had the window closed the whole time to limit noise pollution and so I had no fresh air.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs and get a room that faces the rugby ground on the road side... it'll be quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    23
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
40
35
6
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The first plus: how easy it was to find the place - nothing worse than driving around in a city you don't know looking for your destination.
The second plus: the room was lovely. We stayed with our kids and we all loved the spa! The beds were super comfortable, the noise minimal and the service friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed one night recently. Very happy with location, reception staff were very helpful with all enquiries. Perfectly clean and comfortable. Kitchen well appointed too. Pool area very clean and inviting too with pool nicely heated. Free WiFi was much appreciated too. Will be back!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitianga
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stayed there for 3 nights. Was meant to be just a relaxing time away from home. (So we were hoping to be able to sleep in). Well, there are no "Do Not Disturb" signs - and no "Please Clean My Room" signs to hang on the outside door handle. So we were woken at 9 am every day by the cleaners, and then again at 10 am. And on our first morning, they came again .... and then disappeared. The Motel information book says the cleaners are there from 9 am to 1pm. So that first morning, on our way out, we went into the reception to ask for the room to be cleaned... and were told that the cleaners were already gone. When questioned, the guy said he couldn't pay their wages to just sit around. The conversation continued for a while, but it was all about the cleaners wages, and no word mentioned about customer service. He didn't offer new towels, didn't offer anything.
Oh yes, about the towels, you get three - one small hand towel, and two medium sized bath towels. No spares.
The room was reasonably clean, but it was not vacuumed at all while we were there.
There are all the standard HD Freeview channels, plus Sky Movies, CNN, and 3 Sky Sports. But for all the Sky channels, you have to put the volume full on, and even then it is not loud enough.
We will not be returning to this motel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkViewMotorLodge, Manager at Park View Motor Lodge, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear DavidR. It is unfortunate that your stay at Park View Motor Lodge was ruined by avoidable circumstances. Firstly, there was clearly a breakdown of communication between yourselves and our housekeeping staff. Secondly, it is sad to see that you have turned an innocent discussion about the service of your unit around in such a negative way. At no time during the conversation or during the three days did you ask for additional towels, which we are happy to provide....along with "do not disturb" signs if requested. Our reviews on this site generally testifies of great customer service. On your other points, it is pretty hard for the cleaners to vacuum your unit if they are denied access to the unit in the first place and as for the TV volume settings, I am not too sure how load you were expecting the TV to be??? The volume settings are of such that it does not disturb people in adjacent rooms, but is still rather load on full volume. Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Hubby & I booked here for one night as we were going to a concert at Founders Theatre. It couldn't have been handier being a 10 minute walk away.
This is a very comfortable motel with well equipped modern rooms.
We fully recommend the $20 per head cooked breakfast delivered to the room exactly on time ordered. Well cooked & generous portions set us both up for our journey home.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkViewMotorLodge, Manager at Park View Motor Lodge, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Cadgiebin. Thank you for your review posted on your recent stay at Park View Motor Lodge. Our location is indeed ideal for any event at Founders....saving you the hassle to find parking. We are also just a five minute walk to the closest restaurant. Hope to see you back soon! Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My family and I stayed at the motel overnight and we were very impressed with the room and facilities. The room was clean, lovely and surpasses our expectations. We went swimming twice and both times, the pool was well heated. The spa was a real treat too. Good communication when we made reservation and everything went smoothly at check-in even though we were 2 hours later than what was originally stated. Service was warm and friendly. Kitchen was clean, tidy and well fitted which is a real bonus because we could prepare simple meals for the kids. It had a stove, microwave and even a coffee plunger. Coffee, tea and milk are provided. Highly recommend this motel and we will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkViewMotorLodge, Manager at Park View Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Toon001
Thank you for the fantastic review on your recent stay at Park View Motor Lodge. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and that the service and facilities surpassed your expectations. The pool is indeed heated and especially popular with families with children. Thank you so much for the great recommendation.
Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore City, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed here one night recently and thought the Motel was very nice and modern - just a short walk to Waikato Stadium, so it is ideal if you are going to see a game there, but if you don't like Rugby it may be a bit noisy if you are staying there during a game..
We found the room to be spacious, well laid out with everything you would need.
The bed, although comfortable was quite low, so I am not sure how elderly people would get on getting in and out of the bed
There were plenty of channels on the TV and free wifi was a bonus.
The pool area was good, clean and the spa was nice
We stayed upstairs and didn't hear anything from the room underneath - some motels you can hear people in the room above or below you
Only downside was the toilet was not 100% clean, when we got there, but upon checkout the owners said they had been having trouble with their cleaners recently, so hopefully those problems have now been been fixed.

We would happily stay there again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkViewMotorLodge, Manager at Park View Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Muffinz
Thank you for the review on your stay at Park View Motor Lodge recently. Our close proximity to the Waikato Stadium does make it ideal for attending the games. The heated pool on site is certainly a winner in everyone's books and having spa baths in every room is a huge bonus. Our housekeeping staff work tirelessly in maintaining high quality standards and I think that you may have misunderstood our reply to your complaint of your toilet. We do not have any trouble with our cleaning staff, but pledged to make the housekeeping staff aware of the problem that you experienced to make sure that something similar does not happen again.
Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park View Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park View Motor Lodge

Address: 450 Tristram Street, Hamilton, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Hamilton
#5 Family Hotel in Hamilton
#9 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Park View Motor Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park View Motor Lodge is located in a quiet area close to the Hamilton city centre. Facilities include a heated indoor swimming pool, sauna, free WiFi, in-home spa baths, Sky TV, and luxury king beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Park View Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park View Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park View Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.