We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you need, check the reception hours though” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Park View Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Park View Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Park View Motor Lodge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   450 Tristram Street, Hamilton, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“All you need, check the reception hours though”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Really all you need for a roadtrip stop, clean spacious rooms and good location. One downside that we experienced, which we thought to not be acceptable for an 'overnight only' type of hotel catering to people on a road trip, is that reception closes early (I remember 9pm) with no chance to check in later. This could stress you a bit when you are on the road and e.g. Want to make a dinner stop or run into a traffic jam...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkViewMotorLodge, Manager at Park View Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Georg H
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. Even though we close reception at 9pm, arriving outside office hours has never been an issue, we only need a phone call or an email from a guest to make the necessary arrangements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    23
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
40
35
6
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wanaka, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed in a family unit for one night over Easter. We were impressed with the well appointed rooms, modern decor and service. The motel is located just on the outskirts of the inner city area, and restaurants and entertainment just a short distance away. Apart from the wifi signal, which was a bit patchy at times, all the mod cons were great. It's certainly a good reliable choice for Hamilton accommodation, and I would wholeheartedly recommend.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkViewMotorLodge, Manager at Park View Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Hi Condwana80
Thank you for your fabulous review. We truly appreciate your kind words and recommendation.
Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We recently stayed for the Waikato Balloon Festival and found the room to be clean and well appointed and the beds very comfortable. Unfortunately we left our pillows behind when we left but the owner very kindly offered to bring them up with him when he came through Auckland last week. Even though it was a detour it was never a problem and I am very grateful to him for the extra effort he made to get our pillows back to us. As we had such a great time in Hamilton, including visiting the Gardens and Zoo I am sure we will be back and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkViewMotorLodge, Manager at Park View Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Suzanne G
Thank you for staying with us during a special time of the Balloon Festival. Going through to Auckland to drop off your pillows was no problem at all as we were on our way north on our holiday anyway. We were very happy to save you the hassle of trying to get them back.
Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We were recently in Hamilton as my wife was in hospital. We arrived late and the owner was very accommodating and left the room open for us so when we arrived we went straight in. The room was fantastic, very well presented, clean and very comfortable. I would highly recommend this motel and I will definitely take my wife there now she is on the mend :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkViewMotorLodge, Manager at Park View Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Hi Charles B.
Thank you for your great review. The issue of late arrival times have been mentioned by other reviewers and your review is testimony of the fact that with prior arrangement this is no problem at all. We are very happy that you had a comfortable stay during a testing time with your wife in hospital. We are certainly looking forward to welcoming you back to our motel.
Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Location was great for Hamilton and the surrounding area, quiet road - except if there is an event on at the Waikato stadium opposite. Not a problem as the owners were very helpful and we went to the rugby match that night! Rooms very good, comfortable and clean, heated pool as well and a spa bath in all the rooms. Will stay there again next time we are back in Hamilton.

Room Tip: Rooms 13,14 and 15 look out over the stadium but get booked quickly for big matches at the stadium...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkViewMotorLodge, Manager at Park View Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Norton H.
Thank you for your review on your stay at our motel. Our units are all fitted out with spa baths and the lovely heated pool is certainly a very popular attraction. Fortunately, on those game nights most people staying at the motel actually attend the game. What you have done was really remarkable. Instead of allowing the game day situation to affect you, you went along to watch the Chiefs play. Welcome to the Chiefs Supporters Club!!!!!
Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I arrived at the hotel late in the evening and was told that there were fully booked, so they had put me in a two bedroom suite, which I did not need. They were really pleasant and the room was very nice. I am not sure if every room has a hot tub, but the one I was in did. The room was well equipped and the internet coverage was fine. The location is right opposite the Chiefs stadium, so it might not be the best place to stay when there is a game on, as it could get noisy, but I do not know that for a fact. There is a nice restaurant / pub in walking distance, and a grocery and liquor store that is also walkable. The hotel is not near the center of Hamilton so be aware of that.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkViewMotorLodge, Manager at Park View Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Nomolos.
Thank you for your review on Park View Motor Lodge. All our units are indeed fitted with spa baths and the internet provided is free of charge. We were also very happy to accommodate you in a larger unit as we did not have any studio units left for the night.
Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

A typical motel appearance hides the fact that the Park View Motor a Lodge provides a level of comfort and facilities that would put many more aspiration all hotels to shame.

The carton of milk handed over with a welcoming word and a smile set the tone. Our room was very well equipped and the king size bed really comfortable. There was a small kitchen area with full-size sink and fridge. The spacious bath/shower room had a bath with spa-style jets.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkViewMotorLodge, Manager at Park View Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Savik. Thank you very much for your great review. We do believe that our facilities and the level of comfort provided by the units would satisfy most guest's expectations.....and our commitment to customer care would not be matched by anyone. We are blessed with fantastic people that stay at our property and that makes our day even more enjoyable! Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park View Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park View Motor Lodge

Address: 450 Tristram Street, Hamilton, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Hamilton
#5 Family Hotel in Hamilton
#9 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Park View Motor Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park View Motor Lodge is located in a quiet area close to the Hamilton city centre. Facilities include a heated indoor swimming pool, sauna, free WiFi, in-home spa baths, Sky TV, and luxury king beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Park View Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park View Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park View Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.