We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unfriendly welcome” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Park View Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Park View Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Park View Motor Lodge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   450 Tristram Street, Hamilton, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“unfriendly welcome”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Reception was cool, and unfriendly.
Expensive for what it offered.
Bed was hard. Air conditioner noisy. Dirty carpet. Toilet w/c area cramped to accomodate large bath.
Management should monitor and control noisy guests who congregate late at night in the noisy courtyard where their voices echo. Sleep quality poor because of this.
Annoying.

Room Tip: Choose room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkViewMotorLodge, Manager at Park View Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Bulwell13. We are very disappointed after receiving your feedback on your recent stay at our Motel. We commit ourselves every day in exceeding our customer's expectations and we apologize that we did not do so in your case. I do wish you had given more info on your reception during check-in, which would have assisted us in training of our front desk staff. Our price, however, compares favorably on most nights with properties with much lower star ratings than ourselves. We have addressed some of your housekeeping concerns with our housekeeping team, but we do feel that your problem with the noisy guests could have been sorted if you alerted us to the noise at the time. Our after hrs number is on the phone in the room and every guest has the right to alert us to anything that disturb their comfort during the night, in fact we insist on it!! Our commitment to our guests is for you to have a memorable stay, but you have to give us a fair chance on delivering that promise by communicating any issue you experience that negatively influence your stay at our Motel. Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    23
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
40
35
6
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

A great place to stay. Nice size rooms and very clean. Has everything you need from cutlery to a hair drier. Has a washing machine and drier on site and an indoor pool and spa which are both heated. Every room has a separate shower and spa bath in them. Only thing wrong was the duty manager (Harry) He was not very helpful and when we went to order breakfast for 5 people in 2 rooms, he said he can only cook 2 meals at a time. times were 8, 8.15 and 8.30. We have stayed at a lot of places and never been told this. Said he couldn't even do 3 for 1 room and 2 for the other room 15 minutes apart. At $20 pp for breakfast he turned down $100. So if you don';t plan on getting breakfast for more than 2 people at a time, great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 1 night with two rooms. Arrived a little early 40mins and were told to come back after 2pm. Not would you like to wait as your room is half an hour. Go away and come back!! The rooms were fantastic, roomy and clean, the pool and spa were great for a quick dip. Decided to order breakfast for the following morning however as there were 5 of us got told they could only do 2 breakfasts at one time!! This meant 2 being delivered at 8am, 2 at 8.15 and 1 at 8.30. Not great service from the manager. Shame as the hotel was perfect. However when the booking was made the staff member was very helpful.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkViewMotorLodge, Manager at Park View Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Steve N.
Thank you for your review on your stay at Park View Motor Lodge. Check-in times are explained when reservations are made and they are there for a reason. A early check-in can be arranged prior to arrival but can not always be guaranteed. It will all depend on how busy we were the night before. As for the breakfast delivery, with a number of other rooms that had already ordered breakfast for the same time, it was impossible for us to do an additional 5 at the same time that you requested......and the only way that we could accommodate your breakfast request did not meet your requirements. We do however appreciate your feedback, and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay regardless. Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

being a family of five (3 teens) finding rooms to accommodate us is challenging. We loved our stay and were very comfortable in these clean new rooms. was a perfect, quiet location just close enough to Hamilton attractions. we did have a car.

Room Tip: we were in room 12, i believe and this was roomy and perfect for five of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkViewMotorLodge, Manager at Park View Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Mcgben5.
Thank you for your fabulous review. We are so glad that we were able to provide you with the facilities that fit your requirements. Accommodation for families are hard to find, as most of the city motels cater for a large corporate market. We have a selection of units that will satisfy most criteria and having the heated pool on site, makes for great entertainment for the kids! Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Once we were inside our room it was ok, however the location is a bit dismal. I thought we were going to have a view of a park, but actually our room faced the rugby stadium. Even with no game on and minimalist stadium lights on, our room was very light with all drapes closed.
In reading other reviews, it appears that this was not suited to our needs and was glad we were there only for one night.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms facing stadium
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We recently stayed one night in Hamilton on our way to points further north and had an excellent experience. Our room was very nice - well appointed, very comfortable and spotless. All of our needs were anticipated and catered to, and we really couldn't ask for anything more. It is hard to imagine a nicer place or better value for money, and we would highly recommend the Park View.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Our family stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment recently and we were very impressed with the cleanliness and layout of our apartment. The swimming pool was excellent. This is a perfect location for anyone staying in Hamilton who is up there watching rugby as the grounds are just across the road. Would definetly stay there again.

Room Tip: Some rooms of views of the rugby grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park View Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park View Motor Lodge

Address: 450 Tristram Street, Hamilton, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Hamilton
#5 Family Hotel in Hamilton
#9 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Park View Motor Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park View Motor Lodge is located in a quiet area close to the Hamilton city centre. Facilities include a heated indoor swimming pool, sauna, free WiFi, in-home spa baths, Sky TV, and luxury king beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Park View Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park View Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park View Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.