We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service and Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camelot On Ulster

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Camelot On Ulster to your Saves list
Camelot On Ulster
231 Ulster Street, Hamilton 3200, New Zealand (Formerly Camelot Motor Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
1 review
“Fantastic service and Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We recently stayed at Camelot Motel, Hamilton with a Hockey Team attending a tournament in Hamilton. There were 24 people staying with the team plus several parents who had booked the same Motel. There was also another team staying there attending the same tournament. As with any sports team washing is always a challenge as you need it washed and dried for the following day. Even though there were two teams staying there, there was no problem with the washing - Alix took the washing each day and put it through the commercial washing machine and dryer. She did this without asking for additional payment. We also had the boys doing "hot & colds" after each game - where they had to use the outdoor swimming pool followed by soaking in a warm bath. Alix provided extra towels for them to use.
The rooms are tastefully decorated and each unit had its own full oven. The boys' rooms were large units with generous lounge areas and each unit had 3 bedrooms with two "proper" beds in each rooms which meant no one had to sleep in lounge or on rollaway beds. I can highly recommend this Motel. The staff and management were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them.
Fiona W - Wellington

Room Tip: I was in Room 20 and it had a heat pump.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    16
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
18
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I recently checked out after staying here for 5 weeks.
They have us the room cheap, and went out of their way to help us!
They even said make a list of all the cooking equipment etc you'll need as you're here for a whole and within 24 hours they had provided everything.
As things do sometimes something broke, eg the lightbulb went or the hot water went, but they were all fixed IMMEDIATELY, and we were given the use of the next rooms shower until the hot water was fixed (which it was within a few hours). Fantastic friendly service from the cleaners too.
It's about a 2 minute walk to the nearest pak n save, and within 10 minutes you're in the centre.
The washing is free too.
Really friendly approachable owners, only downside is that the room wasn't vacuumed for a long while when it needed to be, and sometimes the wifi kicks you off if you're on an iPhone, but these are little niggles and overall I will gladly recommend Camelot!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Hi team Camelot,

Just like to say thank you for the service and hospitality yous showed us whilst we stayed there. Such nice,clean accommodation very hospitable,polite people (Liz) thanks for your kindness. The rooms were amazing and warm, everything was much more than we expected. I have told family and friends about the famous Camelot :) will stay there in the future no doubt. Keep up the good work 10/10 :)

Jodz and Andy

Room Tip: Any room is good :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camelot Motor I... L, Manager at Camelot On Ulster, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hi Jodz and Andy

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We really do appreciate it. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and loved our rooms. Glad to hear you will be back again in the future. Thanks for recommending us too to your friends and family. See you again.

Mark and Alix (not Liz =))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here as a sports group with over 20 people, mainly 14 year olds. The motel rooms were spotless and very tastefully decorated, the beds very comfortable. The owners and their staff were friendly and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed, even washing and drying our huge amount of towels ( we are a waterpolo team.) I would totally recommend this motel. We will definitely be back.
Paula B

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camelot Motor I... L, Manager at Camelot On Ulster, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Hi Paula.
Thanks so much for your wonderful review! We really appreciate it. We enjoyed having your teams stay and it was great that your teams achieved successful results in Hamilton. You were great guests to have and we look forward to accommodating you again in the future. Thanks for the review once again. Mark and I are so thankful and as the new managers are trying to put our best foot forward in starting a new generation of the Camelot Motel.
Thanks again,
Mark & Alix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed at the Camelot Motor Inn for 2 nights with our Waterpolo Team hiring out 6 rooms for the children. We were thoroughly impressed with the service we received during this time, the management and cleaners were friendly and went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. Our rooms were to a high standard with great cooking facilities. We will definetly be returning and have recommended this to friends and other sports teams. Thanks Mark and Alix for going that extra mile for our teams.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camelot Motor I... L, Manager at Camelot On Ulster, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Hi Megan
Thank you so much for your awesome review. As the new management of the Camelot Motor Inn, Mark and I really appreciate every word of it. We are glad we made your experience here is Hamilton a good one. And the fact that your girls team won the competition made it an even better experience! We look forward to having you stay will us again in the future. Good luck for the rest of the season.
Kind Regards,
Mark & Alix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was our 1st experience at staying in a Motor Inn. in N,Z.Must say it was a pleasant experience.We were able to stay in, to eat more, which saved quite a lot of money. We were staying 8 nights and were given a up-grade,which made it better. A large Studio room with kitchen and separate bathroom. There was not a lot of kitchen utensils,but we managed to eat in a few nights plus breakfast. We were down the side of a long oblong shaped court yard with cars parking in front of each unit.
Although its quite a busy road outside ,we never heard any noise.The staff at the front desk were very nice and helpful.Room cleaning was done everyday.
There are 2 big Supermarkets nearby ''Countdown and PAKnSAVE'' so shopping was no problem, Good bargains on Wine,for our journey around the North Island. It is possible to walk into town,though after being sightseeing all day.I drove into town,no parking fees after 6-00pm.
I would definitely stay here again.
We ate out a couple of time,Cafe Centrale,Italian food. (see separate review )
Hamilton is a good centre to visit many places and surrounding district.Including a nice river walk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Love this motel especially the spa. Room was great. Manager was so good ge helped us he gave us big room in cheap pice .Tried to book again but there was no vacancy, will stay again soon. Its close to pac n save.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camelot On Ulster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot On Ulster

Address: 231 Ulster Street, Hamilton 3200, New Zealand (Formerly Camelot Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camelot on Ulster is a family owned and operated motel. New manager Mark Boe fondly remembers growing up at Camelot in the days when his parents built and ran the motel. Now Mark is back with his partner Alix Stevens, and together they are proud and excited to welcome you to Camelot where they endeavour to give you a warm and comfortable stay with that special family feel. Camelot on Ulster is conveniently situated in central Hamilton. It is just a short distance from Centre Place Mall and other central city retail stores, Te Awa the Base, and walking distance to the Waikato Stadium. If you're looking for evening entertainment, Camelot on Ulster is close to the Skycity Casino, three movie theatres and several nightclubs and bars. And if it's dining out you want then there are many restaurants nearby or if dining in it's just a short walk to several supermarkets. Having recently upgraded our rooms and facilities, Camelot on Ulster provides modern, clean and spacious accommodation that is affordable. We offer friendly service for all travellers: from overnight guests, business travellers, families and those requiring long term accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Camelot On Ulster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camelot On Ulster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.