We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay ... remembered my name” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Asure Barclay Motel

Asure Barclay Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Asure Barclay Motel to your Saves list
Asure Barclay Motel
280 Ulster Street, Hamilton 3200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay ... remembered my name”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed here for one night, while visiting family. We had a king suite with spa bath, the unit was clean, large and had great views (was upstairs). Although in need of a couple of minor things, like the corner bench coming away and the wall-paper lifting, there was nothing wrong to write home about. I would stay here again. I was impressed that the Manager remembered and addressed me by name in the morning...Nice!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Owner at Asure Barclay Motel, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thanks for your great comments. Notes also taken from your comments. Thanks again for your review. Neil & Margaret.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    14
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
8
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We chose the barclay from a whole row of motels because it looked inviting. It was a good choice. The hosts were helpful and pleasant. We had a large studio - very clean and neat with a good bed and shower-what more could you wish for. There was a lovely garden and a pool. We will stay here again

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Owner at Asure Barclay Motel, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thanks for these coments. We do try hard to please so it is always nice to get these reviews and also pleasing to pass these comments on to the housekeeping staff as well. Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We ended up looking for a place to stay late at night 1030pm and this was one of the few places still open. It was a real gem with a great layout, clean. comfortable, and a bathroom that I would die for in my own house. It was the best place that we stayed in during our travels in New Zealand. The owner was great with suggestions reference areas to see in the North Island and helping us find a place to stay for our next stop.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Owner at Asure Barclay Motel, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thanks for your comments Donna and thanks for your comments about the bathrooms. We put considerable thought into how we would upgrade the rooms especially the bathrooms so we do appreciate your comments. Thanks again, Neil and Margaret.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I often travel to the Waikato for business, and always stay at the Barclay when in Hamilton.
The welcome is always warm and sincere. The rooms are always spotlessly clean, comfortable, and the towels fluffy. There is air-conditioning, wifi if you need it, and comfortable chairs.
Everything works well and I have never had any maintenance related issues.
The price is very reasonable for what you get.
I always stay at the Barclay because it ticks all my boxes every time - I am made to feel welcome, it is clean, it is quiet, the bed is comfortable, the parking is good, and everything works. No hassle.
Do yourself a favour and stay at the Barclay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Owner at Asure Barclay Motel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to make these comments Ross.
Regards Neil &Margaret.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed at Barclay two times, our very first days in New Zealand. First my husband, Alex, was there in August for a week. He came from Thailand and after several months in a warm country had to go to all the struggle of the transition into cold, including getting used to his new closed shoes after all-time slippers))) Neil, the owner, sorted him wonderfully out, letting his own soft shoes as an amergency and giving plenty of useful information. At that time, Alex picked up the best unit, 22, for our future stay in November.

In November 2013 we came as a family with 2 young children and stayed at Barclay for more than one months while looking for our own house to rent. The unit 22 was just as comfortable and Neil and Margaret and all the staff as nice and welcoming, as we would be hosted by our best friends. The kitchen is handy and nicely equipped, plenty of space, big outside area, playground. The staff took really good care of us, brought some toys and books for kids, helped with advises about house searching etc. Neil took our 4 y.o. boy to help him with putting down the flags. And I just adored Margaret's roses !!

The location is very comfortable, we miss it sometimes ) We didn't have any noise from the Ulster street at our unit. The riverside walk is just 10 minutes walking away, a supermarket and the free shuttle bus to the city center a bit further, but everything was very manageable with 2 young kids. Really, we couldn't find a better place for our first weeks in Hamilton.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Owner at Asure Barclay Motel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thanks for your coments.
We say this is your home away from home & as yours was so far away it is nice to be able to help when the occasion arose. Thanks again for your lovely comments. Neil & Margaret.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have stayed at the Barclay Motel several times and have always been impressed by the comfort, cleanliness and friendly service. The whole place is well maintained and the units are very well appointed with good quality fittings and air conditioning. The owners give the place a really homely feel with beautiful plants and rosebeds. Good value for money and convenient for the city centre, this is one of the best motels we have stayed at in New Zealand.

Room Tip: It depends on what you want, all the rooms we have stayed in have been excellent. Some of the apartm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Owner at Asure Barclay Motel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thanks for your comments. We put a lot of effort into making our guests stay with us memorable so your comments are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We travel a lot and stay in many motels and this would have to be the cleaness place we have ever stayed in. Staff accommodating with out been over the top will recommend. You can tell the place is well cared for by the garden beds and grounds. Especially the rose beds.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Owner at Asure Barclay Motel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thanks for these comments. We try hard to maintan an excellent stardard & it is warming when this is acknowleged. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Asure Barclay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asure Barclay Motel

Address: 280 Ulster Street, Hamilton 3200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asure Barclay Motel is located just minutes away from the Hamilton central business district and close to the Waikato Stadium. Family friendly and safe, Asure Barclay Motel provides an environment for total relaxation for adults and hours of fun for the kids. We offer a full-size solar heated swimming pool for our guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Asure Barclay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asure Barclay Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.