We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found new home in Hamilton - and the reception was open at midnight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Asure Barclay Motel

Asure Barclay Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Asure Barclay Motel to your Saves list
Asure Barclay Motel
280 Ulster Street, Hamilton 3200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Found new home in Hamilton - and the reception was open at midnight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful 2 bdrm apt with full kitchen and garden patio makes me wish we would be around long enough to enjoy them. But it was gracious welcome at midnight when all else was closed or full that really made us so grateful.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret B, Manager at Asure Barclay Motel, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Thanks for these comments. We have a policy that if we are awake then the office stays open. Pleased we could help you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    14
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
8
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
436 reviews 436 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We had no intention of staying in Hamilton but an unexpected event found us in need of accomodation. Someone recommended the Barclay and at 9pm we knocked on the door at reception... we're glad we did.

This is a good quality property with large, modern, tidy rooms. The furnishings are contemporary and the place is very clean. A large glassed area which contains a sliding glass door is curtained off at night for privacy and open during the day allowing light to stream in.

The bathroom and other facilities are adequate and tariff is reasonable... we paid $130 for the night.

The Barclay is one of many motels along Hamilton's Motel Alley but from our experience it's well run and good value.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret B, Owner at Asure Barclay Motel, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Than you for these comments & thanks for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Our Family of 4 spent 3x nights at Barclay, I was very impressed, Clean & tidy, Lovely Host.It exceeded out expectations and had everything we wanted plus more, kids loved the play area with spa & pool which kept them entertained for hours. Due to having family in Hamilton we normally stay at a campsite cabin, but for $15 more a night we got all this. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: We picked the "1x Bedroom Family Spa Unit".This unit has its own large private courtyard a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret B, Owner at Asure Barclay Motel, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Thank you for these comments. Our aim is to please so it is pleasing to see our staff get these comments while we are away. Will pass on your comments. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Three of us stayed here for three nights during the Rugby World Cup. Motel room was clean and the staff were very welcoming. It's very convenient for the stadium, which less than a five minute walk across the road. There are also a number of bars and shops within easy, flat walking distance.

Unfortunately, the weather was not very kind to us during our stay and apart from a reasonably good shopping mall there is not an awful lot to do in Hamilton on a rainy day!! However, it is a good base for visiting places such as Hobbiton, Roturua and Cambridge.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret B, Owner at Asure Barclay Motel, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Thanks for these comments. It was a wonderful experience having all different nationalities here for the 6 week period of the RWC. Thanks for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

The motel room I booked was adequate and very clean, nothing flashy but everything needed was there. The hosts are really lovely people who know how to make you feel welcome and the service was fantastic. This is really what makes them stand out and my reason for a very good rating. Located close to the city centre, 5 minute walk to take-aways and another 5 minutes walk to some good restaurants. Old fashioned heating system, which did heat the room, but could definitely do with an upgrade to something quieter. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret B, Owner at Asure Barclay Motel, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Thanks for these comments. Heat pumps/Air conditioning units installed in all rooms Dec 2011.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

This is a hotel that we chose on a whim. It was getting late and we had not really researched hotels in Hamilton so we just picked one on our way through town.

I can't say that I was very impressed. This hotel is old and tired and in need of some upgrades. The rooms have a musty smell and the beds are not very comfortable.

This place is ok if you are just looking to stay somewhere average, but we found it expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret B, Owner at Asure Barclay Motel, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Thanks for these comments. Note taken & final part of the upgrade completed end of 2011.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Recently I spent 15 nights with Neil and Margaret while my husband was in Waikato Hospital awaiting and during heart surgery. Each night the lights and heater were switched on so it was nice and warm when I arrived back alone to the motel. I couldn't speak highly enough of the staff and owner. Thank you so much. Will be back later when next surgery happens

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret B, Owner at Asure Barclay Motel, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Thanks for these comments. It was a pleasure having you. Hope all is well with you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Asure Barclay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asure Barclay Motel

Address: 280 Ulster Street, Hamilton 3200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asure Barclay Motel is located just minutes away from the Hamilton central business district and close to the Waikato Stadium. Family friendly and safe, Asure Barclay Motel provides an environment for total relaxation for adults and hours of fun for the kids. We offer a full-size solar heated swimming pool for our guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Asure Barclay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asure Barclay Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.