We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had High expectations not really met” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pumice Bistro Cafe & Deli - CLOSED

Pumice Bistro Cafe & Deli
62 Church Road | Pukete, Hamilton, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Great restaurant, good service, not crowded, views, and best of all a great meal.
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Had High expectations not really met”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Took my wife to Pumice for her birthday after doing a bit of research read good things about it. Was costly, portions were small and all seemed a bit rushed. There were few other diners when we were there so I guess that is why service was quick though to quick. Can't say I would rush back, if we do might try the Deli next door.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    11
    4
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent, would definitely recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We ended up here accidentally due to a double booking with another restaurant, now I'm glad we did!! Cool decor, modern, food was fantastic (I had venison and would recommend), and came quickly, which was impressive given the size of our group! Friendly staff. Not cheap, but well worth it for a great meal!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Birthday Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Went here for my birthday lunch with friends. Very enjoyable. Meals were lovely, service great. A very comfortable place to go, we didn't feel like leaving as it has such a nice ambience. Will be back for sure. Prices on the high side.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Vegies are extra!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Meal was nice but you do not get a lot for your $ these days
NZD 36.00 for the steak PLUS NZD 7.00 for a side order if Vegies....
Wait staff friendly but a little over powering...

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pumice Bistro Cafe & Deli also viewed

Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pumice Bistro Cafe & Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.