We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton to your Saves list
Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Garnett Avenue | Te Rapa, Hamilton 3241, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
karratha
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We weren't going to stay at this hotel, due to the many negative comments we read online about the hotel, however we decided to give it a go and stay, due to its great location, and we are so glad we did. We absolutely enjoyed our stay 100 %. The staff were wonderful. From the man on the front desk (Jian) to the lovely lady working in the restaurant who wished each diner a merry christmas. The room we stayed in was huge ,clean, great air con and just loved that spacious bathroom. The breakfast was included in our price, which consisted of a full breakfast with a great selection , delicious... and a nice big dining room to sit in. Free parking was a definite bonus, having being charged $20 per day at a previous hotel we had stayed in the week before, in Hamilton. For the price we paid to stay at the Kingsgate it was definitely worth it!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHamilton, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. It is always positive for the Hotel staff to receive such comments as generally people are more likely to comment negatively rather than praise.

Your comments have been passed onto all the Hotel staff and very much appreciated.

We look forward to being able to accommodate you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Murray Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    52
    46
    27
    11
See reviews for
43
41
6
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

having travelled round and stayed in quite a few hotels/motels since we came to New Zealand, this hotel for it's price lived up to it's expectation and more...nice big room, all clean, nice white fluffy towels....lots of TV channels for the kids, great air con which was well needed. Friendly staff wherever we went, we used the free pool and Spa which our little one loved. We paid extra on the 2 mornings and enjoyed a continental breakfast which was really nice and quite a variety too. I will definitely be staying again on my next trip, they say you get what you pay for, we felt we got more here

Room Tip: we had a family room, max 2 adults and 2 kids, we had 2 big beds and a single, was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

stayed here on an overnight stop in Hamilton. I had a double room which had a double and a single bed in it, good facilities in terms of plenty of tea/coffee etc. and milk sachets were real milk not UHT. Iron and board in room. Hairdryer available however attached to the wall inside a drawer so you have to do your hair in front of the mirror in the bedroom whether you want to or not!

The room was clean however the bath seemed to have had a cursory pass over with cleaning products.

My room was on the ground floor which meant I had cars parked right outside my window, not too bad as I had an early start but if I had of wanted a Sunday lay in this wouldnt have been possible with the car outside my window being revved into action around 6am !!!!

Breakfast was included in the price of the hotel, went down for breakfast around 8.30, starts at 7am. Personally had to ask twice when items were going to be refreshed, staff not onto it. Seriously if you have the option to pay for just a room do that, there are plenty of great cafes to eat in nearby with better value for money, fresh, hot food cooked to order.

This hotel is huge, plenty of parking.

The hotel bar was shut when we returned to the hotel at 11pm on Saturday night, very disappointing.

Oh, and they charge 4% extra if you pay for your room by credit card (!)

they have a pool which is a slim pool with jets so you can paddle against a tide, so to speak. a couple of hot tubs too and the gym looked to be equipped well with bikes, runners etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Large room which worked well sharing with a colleague. Uncomfortable bed. Good cooked breakfast included in room tarriff but lunch provised with the conference was mediocre, sparse ran out of food and not worth $25. Certainly is retro but not enough orange or purple to be really "cool'

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had a convention at this hotel and found the facilities excellent. Our room was clean and comfortable and the room servicing was top-class. However the old TV could certainly do with updating - you expect the modern style TVs these days. The Conference food (morning and afternoon tea and buffet dinner was superb). Breakfast was included in our room rate and we couldn't fault that either. We would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHamilton, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
I am pleased you enjoyed your conference with us.

If you had had it a month later the new flast screen TV's would have been installed. An order has just been placed for 142 new TV's is response to comments like yours and in an effort to increase guest satisfaction.

Thank you agin for your comments.

Kind Regards

Murray Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I travel a lot so have a reasonable idea of what to expect for the price and standard rating of accommodation - this hotel was way below the minimum standard. I'll like to be objective so these are the facts so you can make up your own mind. The ironing board was broken, the cover was stained and dirty, apart from one pair of small hand weights in the gym their range of weights were all over 25kgs (not sure if most guests could in general manage 25kgs or more), the equipment was outdated.

The rooms were outdated - nothing particularly wrong with that except, the tables stained and chipped, wallpaper in the corridors ripped and marked, corridors smelt of smoke (although the room didn't), the bed was very firm and the pillow cases crumpled and pillows flat. The hotel is quite a long way from the city centre, no restaurants around the hotel.

There is no public free wifi or at least if there was it was not widely advertised.

You know some very small inexpensive changes would improve the hotel, like a new set of weighs for the gym. Right now it sends a message to guest that 'we really don't care' and I am sure this is not their intention.

The bathroom was clean

You can get better value for money elsewhere in town, just note many of the motels line very busy streets so careful for potential road noise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHamilton, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding the Hotel.

I have received no comments regarding the ironing board so will have housekeeping check every room for the board. As is often the problem when something may fail and we are never informed of it.

Regarding the smoke smell in the corridor,we have 2 smoking rooms out of the 147 rooms and no smoking signs everywhere but cannot control all the perople all the time. The one pair of weights have only recently been taken and we are looking at replacing the one pair rather than the entire set, which is expensive. I believe the gym/fitness room is a great addition to the hotel along with the sauna's, spa's and swimming pool I do not believe that other hotels and motels in the area have the same level of facilities on the property as you have mentioned.

There is 20 minutes of free wi-fi is available within the reception lounge and this should show up automatically on your laptop, after the time has elapsed you would be required to purchase one of the packages available.

I appreciate your comments and thank you for the lack of attention to detail that you have pointed out and the issues will be addressed.

Kind Regards

Murray Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
invercargill
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

What a quaint place the Kingsgate in Hamilton is.Stayed 5 nights on business,so payed for by work. It was built in the70s I believe,so if you want to know what the 70s were like,this is the place for you.The rooms ,big and comfortable,bed ginormous and firm.
The whole place is biiiig-as in biiiiig.Gym ok,and spa pools handy.
The cleaning was fine,but the carpet throughout seems to have been chosen by the retirement home up the street and plonked in here.
As commented on by other reviewers,the tvs are like a microwave box gone wrong.The manager always comments they're being replaced as they break down-lame-hello,theres a thing called being pro-active?.21 century now buddy,heard of flatscreens?your opposition has.
The meals were fine,amazingly the best desert-the berry trifle-is only on the room service menu,which we got by mistake one mealtime-recommend anyone to ask for it,its beautifull,can't understand why its a secret.
All in all an ok place to stay-back off main drag so no road noise,obliging friendly staff,comfortable surroundings,a bit like going to nanas to stay
Did I mention the CARPET ?-ooouuugh,just dont look down haha

Room Tip: Ask for the berry trifle from room service menu if you'd like a dlicious pudding
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHamilton, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Your comments have been greatly appreciated.

I am happy to advise that we have placed an order for 142 flat screen TV's for installation in the near future. I would hope that you would be able to appreciate that this is a considerable expense for the hotel for that many rooms. Yout comment and others regarding the TV's have been identified as a requirement in our continuing upgrade/renewal policy to seek guest satisfaction.

Again, thanks for your comments.

Kind Regards

Murray Cook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton

Address: 100 Garnett Avenue | Te Rapa, Hamilton 3241, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.