We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price and awesome accommodation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hamilton City Oaks

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hamilton City Oaks to your Saves list
Hamilton City Oaks
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   237 Victoria Street | Corner Victoria & Collingwood Sts.,, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand (Formerly Le Grand Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great price and awesome accommodation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a twin room, 212. Queen bed and single bed. The room is massive, lots of floor space to sprawl on if you fancy. :) the bathroom is also huge. Be careful of the hot water. Very, very hot. Lovely reception staff, free parking in the back alley. Very close to everything. Unlimited free WiFi and very cheap price makes me want to stay here again.
We were here 2 nights. Housekeeping made our room up and provided lots more milk, coffee, tea and shower supplies.
Maybe the lower floor is louder? We had no need for the ear plugs provided with our room. Definitely worth the money and then some.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamiltonCityOaks, Manager at Hamilton City Oaks, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience! We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient staff, so it is wonderful to hear that they assisted in making your stay even more enjoyable.

Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Warm regards,

Steve Penrose Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    24
    26
    19
    19
See reviews for
5
44
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Holy Moly never got a wink of sleep, the noise was unbearable, we had a humming noise that nearly drove us crazy, we were next to the lift and heard every noise, footsteps, loud conversations passing our door. This hotel has 4.5 star rating normal rate of $300.00 per night... you've gotta be kidding. The continental breakfast that's included in the rate was an absolute joke. We will never ever be returning to this hotel again. The joke is on us for paying the rate we did...... :(

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamiltonCityOaks, Manager at Hamilton City Oaks, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent experience at Hamilton City Oaks. I am disappointed to hear we did not meet your expectations. Each of your points raised have been passed onto the department heads to address. When you are next planning a trip to Hamilton please contact me directly on steve@vrgroup.co.nz and we will ensure you have a more comfortable experience in Hamilton.

Warm Regards
Steve Penrose, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

I read all the reviews, much prefer old hotels with great character rather than the new square blocks. This hotel was great the room was huge, the staff were friendly and the layout of the hotel was good, nice veranda out the front the place is pretty cool. The ceilings are high the room was clean, we enjoyed our stay. To enter the car park you go left past the hotel then left again, the left up a lane. I do agree that the hotel is not new, the carpets are not new but that is all part of the charm.
Close to restaurants lots up and down the street, great river walk close by, I would stay there again

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamiltonCityOaks, Manager at Hamilton City Oaks, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. Our property is certainly unique, that is what we are most proud of.

We take immense pleasure in being able to serve our guests every day and enjoy what we do.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Steve Penrose Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The staff are friendly but the rooms are very worn. The worst aspect was the lack of air-conditioning on a hot night. The staff produced a large fan which I had going strong all night and help get the heat down a bit. The bed and pillow were hard.
The shower temperature fluctuated.
To top it off the taxi driver the hotel booked for me, who was with Hamilton Taxis, scammed me at the airport by $20.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamiltonCityOaks, Manager at Hamilton City Oaks, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. There are a number of issues raised in your feedback that will help us improve as a property. I have passed on your recommendations and feedback to the relevant department heads to address.

Kind Regards,
Steve Penrose Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Positives: Friendly staff, very large room and wonderful spa for two.

Negatives: Holes in net curtains, net curtains looked like they hadn't been washed since being hung up in Executive Room, after emptying out spa bath it wouldn't switch off and you could hear it going from outside the room in the hallway, the receptionist had to come up and disconnect the fuse to actually switch off the spa, movie channel on sky had a parental block and receptionist had no idea how to take it off but, she rung someone else who also had no idea and between the both of them, she handed us a code and hoped it would work.

We paid $230 for one night at this hotel and were very disappointed. With regards to the fuse that was disconnected, the next morning we had to ring the receptionist to come and put the fuse back in as it was also the fuse to boil our jug. Included in our $230.00 was a continental breakfast for two people which was lucky because there's just no way I would pay $12 pp for the continental breakfast here. Our overall review, we will not be returning to this hotel which is a pity because of it's location, staff and okay the hotel itself is rundown and really needs to be done up which the receptionist that was there when we arrived mentioned to us after the trouble with the spa was that the hotel was going to be upgraded. My suggestion to her was, they get rid of the spa bath in room 113/Executive Room. No one wants to hear from the receptionist that sometimes the spa bath tends to play up, for $230 per night, you do want luxury and unfortunately there was no luxury here.

I have emailed the hotel twice regarding my feedback on their hotel and my emails are returned as their "feedback" email address is blocked as is their hotel email address as well. Can't understand why they ask or welcome people's feedback if they've blocked anything going to the email address??

Room Tip: If booking the Executive room 113, my advice ask about the spa bath, it sometimes doesn't switch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamiltonCityOaks, Manager at Hamilton City Oaks, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Many thanks for your feedback regarding you recent experience at Hamilton City Oaks. Please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was not the best. Any feedback we do receive helps to make us better.

I will be looking into all points that are raised to see where we can improve at this time before the hotel has an upgrade. I would like to have you stay again with us so please contact me directly when returning to Hamilton on steve@vrgroup.co.nz or 08005347263 and I will ensure your stay is a much more comfortable experience.

Warm Regards,
Steve Penrose Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I read some of the bad reviews but thought I would take the chance, I am not super fussy but wished we had of gone down the road to the Novotel now. It is pretty old and it feels like you have stepped back to the 30's, very high ceilings and rooms are nice and big. Unfortunately it feels as if they have not changed a thing since then. The shower had very bad pressure, the tv had poor reception and not many channels. Free parking but in some hard to find alley and you had to pass the kitchens of the adjoining restaurants to get to reception. No room service from the hotel but the restaurants do provide food to the rooms if you don't want to go out. The service was ok but not as friendly as we had encountered in the rest of NZ. Location was good, on the Main Street so plenty of restaurant options nearby, if you fancy a pint head left out of the hotel and go to the quadrant bar and kitchen. If you get a good deal at this hotel then it's fine but otherwise I would suggest looking around for something a little quieter with more value for money.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamiltonCityOaks, Manager at Hamilton City Oaks, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I thank you for taking the time to share the experience during your last stay.

We pride ourselves in offering a high level of service. I am very disappointed that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay.

There are a number of issues raised in your feedback that will help us improve as a property. I have passed on your recommendations and feedback to the relevant department heads to address.

Take care and I hope next time upon staying with us it is an easier experience.

Warm Regards,

Steve Penrose Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Just stayed for one night here. Absolutely awful got no sleep what so ever. In the welcome pack they mention you may get some street noise and they supply ear plugs. They fail to mention there are 2 night clubs near by and boy racers go round the hotel screeching to a halt at the traffic lights outside. We also had a very noisy ventilation fan in our room even when we switched the aircon off. Also the fridge popped on and off regularly too until I switched that off. The reception staff were polite and friendly which is the only good thing to say. The hotel is tired and shabby in places. E.g. the carpet on the stairs is worn through. The net curtains in our room were dirty and torn. I cannot for the life of me work out how it got 4.5 stars?? Continental breakfast was a joke. Cheap cerials and toast stuck in a corner of a room. Very disappointed and will not be visiting again or recomending to anyone.

Room Tip: Tell them you want a room at the back away from the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hamilton City Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton City Oaks

Address: 237 Victoria Street | Corner Victoria & Collingwood Sts.,, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand (Formerly Le Grand Hotel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamilton City Oaks 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamilton City Oaks is located within a stunning heritage listed building in the heart of the Hamilton city. With its beautiful surroundings, Hamilton City Oaks continues to impress and satisfy its guests through providing the warmth and genuine hospitality that has become the hallmark of the Hotel. A versatile set of function rooms, comfortable and high quality accommodation, combined with our attentive and friendly team makes Hamilton City Oaks a great venue for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hamilton City Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Hamilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamilton City Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.