We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art and history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waikato Museum

Waikato Museum
1 Grantham Street, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand
+64 7-838 6606
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 29 things to do in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Haere mai and welcome to Waikato Museum Te Whare Taonga o Waikato. Situated on the banks of the mighty Waikato River, this world-class museum is the artistic and cultural heart of the Waikato.Visit us to experience the stories of our art, history, culture and science through an inspirational programme which seeks to challenge and inspire.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Art and history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I particularly liked the serene positioning of the historic waka poised within the museum above the mighty Waikato River. The interactive history of Hamilton was great to learn more about the area. Similarly the Art Gallery within was profiling significant female artists of the region. Well worth the visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    39
    11
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good way to spend a few hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

There's lots to see and read here, and it's free too!

The exhibits cost money which I didn't do, but the rest gives an interesting history of Waikato.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great place to kill a couple of hours with kid(s)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Well you can't argue with the price ( donation), nor the quality of presentation, and exhibits.

Allow an hour if from out of town, or and hour and a half to two if you are local.

It was hands on enough for a four year old, and informative enough for a couple of mid thirties.

First time here in a couple of years, still impressed.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Top Contributor
344 reviews 344 reviews
239 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“World of wearable arts exhibition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

I went to see the World of Wearable arts exhibition. I thoroughly enjoyed it. It was my first time in the museum since I moved back to Hamilton. Well done!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
1 review
“Entertaining and educational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The Centre had lots of variety including (at our visit) creative endeavours for children assisted by museum staff . My two young grandsons loved the different activities. They also interacted with other visitors at the exhibits.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waikato Museum also viewed

Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 

Been to Waikato Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikato Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.