We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cochroaches in the bed!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton to your Saves list
Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   290 Ulster St, Hamilton 3200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Tauranga
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cochroaches in the bed!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I wish I had read the reviews before booking this place. Room was very old, run down, tv reception fuzzy, windows had broken catches so unsafe as on ground floor. Paper thin wall heard all the abolitions of the upstairs people morning and night!!! BUT to get woken up at 1.30 from a 1980's inbuilt radio turning on and took 10 mins to figure out how to turn off as wording worn off was not as bad as coming FACE to FACE with cockroaches in my bed by my head. Was offered an apology but no refunds. Manager said "Why did you stay in that room it has not been fumigated yet, we have done the kitchen though" !!! How would I have known for goodness sake. Rang Wotif who I booked through and they arranged a refund. Thank you Wotif.. NEVER NEVER stay there.....

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    3
    5
    21
See reviews for
6
11
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Masterton, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012 via mobile

Arrived late Sunday evening. Proprietor happy to accommodate us. Were offered a budget room so no illusions as to what to expect. Was pleasantly surprised with what we got. Room very dated, but didnt matter as clean and tidy. Bed and pillow comfy so had a good sleep. Bit of traffic noise but didnt keep us awake

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

The rooms were very dated and extremely run down. Wallpaper coming off walls, vinyl lifting in bathroom, mouldy curtains and blinds. Looked in need of a good clean but sheets and towels were spotless. Booked for 2 nights but only stayed 1.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011 via mobile

Awful .... Dark dank corridor to a soulless, tired room with saggy single bed and double with miserable flat pillows. I Lifted the quilt cover which had cigarette burns on the underside and there was a pube under the pillow! I sniffed the sheets and decided I couldn't bare to stay here. The room had been booked by my work colleagues and it was hard to tell how bad it was from the web. A pimped up car outside also made me wonder about who stays here and why! Do not stay here .... You have been warned.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Needing somewhere decent to stay for a week long business trip my colleague booked myself and my partner in at the Country Comfort Alcamo. She had heard good things about the place. Well what a load of bollocks those people were talking. From the moment we got there it appeared tired and rundown. The lady behind the reception was the best part of the stay as she always remained bright and bubbly. We were given the keys to the room and on the way up the staircase there were dead cockroaches!!!! The family room which we had booked was very large boasting 3 bedrooms but yes as many other reviewers have stated, there was stains on the bedding. YUCK!!! My partner went to the restaurant for breakfast one morning and what a disgrace- overpriced slop!!! After 3 nights, my colleaugue who had originally booked the place came down to drop my son off and you could see the embarresment on her face when she arrived. It was that bad that she refused to stay the night after just driving down from auckland so she drove all the way back up again. So the next morning we booked ourselves accross the road and cut our stay with Alcamo short. We ended up in a luxury room that cost us $20.00 less per night and it had a beautiful pool and spa. WARNING TO EVERYONE DONT STAY HERE

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Paid 140 a night for a double room with a spa. thought I had stepped back in time to the 70's. Yuck. outdated tv, linen, radio , even the walls were lime green. Would much rather have stayed at the Novotel for a similiar price. We made a decision at the last minute to stay the night in Hamilton rather than drive back to Auckland. After a big night out the only thing I can commend this hotel on is getting out of bed and checking us in at 1.30 am. Other than that they need a serious make over or they need to drop their pricing to reflect the hotel. Won't be going back.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coromandel
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

Lovely room and situation with on-site restaurant serving the best steak ever !! .... The little generous touches from the friendly staff made the stay more special.

Room Tip: The 2 level family room -keeps snorers seperate
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton

Address: 290 Ulster St, Hamilton 3200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ai piedi del Monte Bonifato, immersi nella natura a 3km dalla città, unico B&B con possibilità di pagare le ore effettive di pernottamento, servizi disponibili come il trasfert aeroportuale da e per PA/TP, escursioni Isole Egadi, Terme Segestane e tanto altro, possibilità di pensione completa. Tutte le camere con bagno interno, parcheggio custodito privato. Area meeting e conferenze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcamo Hotel Hamilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.