We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Hamilton Tainui

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Hamilton Tainui to your Saves list
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Alma Street | PO Box 1, Hamilton 2001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

Standard business-class hotel, on the river in city center. No problems, but not exceptional. Would have been nice if the room were larger, if there were a balcony, if there were a pool, or if the so-called "king-size bed" actually was.

Excellent food in the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    355
    98
    26
    12
See reviews for
167
295
54
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

Excellent location and trendy hotel. The greeting by the staff was professional and very helpful in finding out the local places to go to. Its next to the sky city casino and plenty of restaurants right across the street. The rooms were clean and large. Breakfast selection a bit on the small side, but satisfactory. I can recommend the Italian in front of the hotel for diner. Great price and good food.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

This hotel is central to hamilton's restaurant strip and is great for a stroll to many great restaurants. The staff are very friently and courteous. There is free internet on two imacs in the foyer, however they are in a strong sunlit position at times and this tends to overheat them and make the screen hard to see. The breakfast was included and was well worth it as they offered a full buffet. The room was nice enough and the bathroom very clean and tidy. Had to pay $10 for overnight parking at rear of the hotel along the riverside, valet was offered for $15. The bed was ok and they offered a choice of pillows.
They also offered free parking for hybrid cars - to this extent they were trying to push the green theme.
In general a good stay with great breakfast for a nice price.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

Had a great time, dinner was so GOOD !....loved it
Hotel was in the center of town...

Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

As an A-Club Platinum member I decided to fork out NZ$ 20 more to stay here this time instead of our usual at the sister Ibis Hotel next door. BIG mistake. No offer of an upgrade despite booking less than 24 hours prior to arrival and all room types on offer. Was later advised no suitable rooms for upgrade were available which I find highly questionable. Given a welcome letter saying the management 'valued' me as an Accor Advantage Plus member (a paid for card) which was not the case (A-Club Platinum is the highest level of the Accor loyalty program and can't be purchased) and wished us a pleasant stay. Where to begin ...

1/ Seriously frayed bath mat and on one of the three towels too
2/ What appeared to be a pubic hair on the bedside table
3/ Dried water splashes on the shower chrome work - obviously had not been wiped during cleaning
4/ AC fan so noisy had to turn it off to sleep
5/ Vulgar graffiti on the guest services guide (appeared to have been there a while!)
6/ Hairs on the bathroom wall
7/ No ice tray in the fridge (as offered in the guest services guide)
8/ What appeared to be a cigarette burn (round hole) in the bed sheet in a non-smoking hotel???

We went out to our function at 1845 and noticed 'Henry' the vacuum cleaner had been left by housekeeping in the hallway for anyone to trip over. Back again at 0030 and noticed Henry was still in the same place! Got curious on waking at 0830 the next morning and, you guessed it, Henry was STILL waiting patiently to trip up an unsuspecting guest.

I reckon the person in charge of housekeeping needs a boot up the backside. Obviously no supervision of staff and this is what you get. A special weekend away spoilt by far to many oversights and who feels like staying in a hotel room with a serious suggestion that the cleaning has been compromised? Never again!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemyock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

We booked this Hotel as a sort of mid-way stop between the far north and Lake Taupo area, having previously visited Rotoroa. The package included continental breakfast.

Oh, how we understated the place and Hamilton.

The Hotel is just off the main street and yards from the Waikato River. The Staff were very pleasant, rooms a nice size, laundry facilities and very nice public areas. It is about 10 yrs old but recently refurbised apparently. There are two free internet consoles in the foyer. Breakfast was really good.

There are plenty of walks alongside the river.

Also ample of eating places in the main street of Hamilton, we chose the Fox & Hounds sports type pub in the same road as the Hotel right on the corner of the main street. Reasonable menu, won't 'break the bank' and a good atmosphere inside. Also Irish beers, always welcome.

Hamilton seems a busy place and was well understated in our initial thoughts. Shame we couldn't have stayed more than one night.

I thought this place was one of the best value for money packages we had on our trip to New Zealand, at 208NZ$ including a good breakfast. We have stayed many times at Novotels and this has got to be the best of them all.

Valet parking was available at 21$ a night.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München, Deutschland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

After long stays in Hamilton every year in substandard accommodation, it was fantastic to come to the Novotel. Staff are able to recgonise my collegues and I every time and they always offer great service every stay. Wonderful location next to the river with walkways for my fitness and rooms are quite spacious. Conference department staff and their facilities were superb. I wait for my next stay in hamilton with great anticipation =))

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Hamilton Tainui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Hamilton Tainui

Address: 7 Alma Street | PO Box 1, Hamilton 2001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hamilton
#7 Family Hotel in Hamilton
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Hamilton Tainui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Tainui is in the heart of the city, on the banks of the Waikato River, adjacent to the Skycity Casino and entertainment complex. The hotel features 177 rooms, an award winning restaurant, lobby bar and a health club, with gym, sauna, spa and beauty therapies available. Conference facilities are available for up to 350 delegates. Guests have easy access to nearby shopping, dining and entertainment, or relaxing river walks that can be found close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Hamilton Tainui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Hamilton Tainui Hotel Hamilton
Accor Hamilton Tainui
Hamilton Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Hamilton Tainui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.