We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dinner for VIP ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Hamilton Tainui

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Hamilton Tainui to your Saves list
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Alma Street | PO Box 1, Hamilton 2001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ohaupo Town District, null, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“dinner for VIP ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

hi there are lots of places you can go for dinner in hamilton most are noisy if your looking for professional VIP treatment this is where you go nice place nice staf food is good setting is nice thanks staff well done

hi there are lots of places you can go for dinner in hamilton most are noisy if your looking for professional VIP treatment this is where you go nice place nice staf food is good setting is nice thanks staff well done

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Frans. Really appreciate your comments in regards to our restaurant. Nice to read that you have enjoyed it so much. We do try to convince our guests and outsiders to book our restaurant as their dinning venue and we do see that we get more guests using Restaurant on Alma. With kind regards, Dick Breukink, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    355
    98
    26
    12
See reviews for
167
295
54
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We escaped Auckland for Hamilton peace and quiet for 3 nights over the Christmas holidays. The 2nd year we have done this, first year at the The Novotel. It offered the perfect venue for a relaxed escape and catered Christmas lunch. The food was fantastic during the Christmas lunch and during the rest of the stay. Breakfasts were exceptional and enough to keep you going all day. The staff were very helpful and friendly. It was disappointing that we had to pay for parking. The location was perfect and great for walks along the river. We now call Hamilton Christmas Town and we will be back every year to the Novotel for Christmas.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river side view, it will be quieter from any party noise that may happen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Guest. Although Christmas is quite a while ago, it is still good to hear how you enjoyed your holiday break with us. We are looking forward having you back with us at the end of this year. With kind regards, Dick Breukink, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Great hotel to stay in, right next door to the Casino. Only disapointing factor you have to pay for parking.
Food is excellent. Staff are friendly and very obliging.
Right in the heart of Hamilton overlooking the river

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Candy. Really appreciate your comments in regards to your recent stay with us. Hope to be able to welcome you back. With kind regards, Dick Breukink, General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

A nice hotel in a handy location. Friendly staff, a decent breakfast, a bar with a terrace…. The side was let down, however, by inconsistent maid service (a used soap in my room on arrival, non-respect of my attempts to save the planet and re-use towels...). A dinner tray outside a bedroom at 10pm still there at 10am the next morning. A good cup of breakfast tea needs boiling water but the only hot water available at breakfast was from a coffee machine, which is never boiling. The Mac computers in the lobby had been programmed to show the local weather, but erroneously it was the weather in Hamilton Canada that was showing.
Just details. A good hotel that could be even better with a little TLC.

Room Tip: There is no double glazing so avoid rooms on the back side where it can be noisy on weekend nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Guest. Thank you so much for providing us with some feedback in regards to your stay with us. I will share your comments with my managers and see what we can do about it. It really helps us to get comments like yours as this gives us an opportunity to improve our hotel. With kind regards, Dick Breukink, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I have been in twice in three weeks after an absence of 2-3 years and very impressed. Great staff very friendly and efficient. Modern spacious rooms with very comfortable beds. Good lobby, dinning, and bar area downstairs for catching up with others. Only draw back is street side room later in the week when the noisy party goers are going home ....

Room Tip: Avoid the main street side later in the week you will be kept awake
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Jim. Thanks for your comments in regards to the recent stay with us. Really appreciate your feedback in regards to the hotel, particular after you have not been here for some time. We are sorry about the street noise; that is something we are unable to control. With kind regards, Dick Breukink, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Hamilton Tainui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Hamilton Tainui

Address: 7 Alma Street | PO Box 1, Hamilton 2001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hamilton
#7 Family Hotel in Hamilton
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Hamilton Tainui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Tainui is in the heart of the city, on the banks of the Waikato River, adjacent to the Skycity Casino and entertainment complex. The hotel features 177 rooms, an award winning restaurant, lobby bar and a health club, with gym, sauna, spa and beauty therapies available. Conference facilities are available for up to 350 delegates. Guests have easy access to nearby shopping, dining and entertainment, or relaxing river walks that can be found close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Novotel Hamilton Tainui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Hamilton Tainui Hotel Hamilton
Accor Hamilton Tainui
Hamilton Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Hamilton Tainui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.