We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr Jim Baird review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Hamilton Tainui

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Hamilton Tainui to your Saves list
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Alma Street | PO Box 1, Hamilton 2001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Mr Jim Baird review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My stay this time was excellent compared with my last stay. Staff are very effecient and friendly. The only concern was the price of the breakfsats I found it more cost effectiveto eat somewhere else . This is a pity .
Could you let me know what type of mattress and pillows are used ( supplier) , I slept very well and would like to see if I could get something similiar for home .
Thnak you

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Mr. Baird. Thank you very much for your comments in regards to your stay with us. Really appreciate it and glad to read that you have enjoyed it. I am very sorry about the breakfast comments. The mattress that we have in the hotel are specially designed by Dunlop and are not on the market as such. I have tried in the past to purchase one for a guest, but was not able to do so. My apologies. With kind regards, Dick Breukink, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    355
    98
    26
    12
See reviews for
167
295
54
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed here overnight and were greeted with lovely reception staff! Very professional and friendly. The rooms were small but very clean and tidy. The hotel is well situated by eateries etc but to find a good quality restaurant is a longer walk. No problem though. Though that's where it ends! The restaurant/bar staff are by far the worst in hospitality! you will get better service at a mcdonalds. We went downstairs to have dessert at the restaurant after having dinner and drinks elsewhere. We walked in to find the place empty and the staff behind the counter gossiping and watching us. I had to take it upon myself to ask where we can be seated and then waited five min to be greeted before I had to take it upon my self to get up and ask for a menu! It doesn't end there! We then had to call for a waitress to take our order! Then come breakfast next morning, I let the waitress know that I had prepaid for buffet breakfast. She said she couldn't find my name and so i made sure to pull out my confirmation email to show her of my payment. But she was not interested in seeing it and told me to put it away she didnt need to see it and instead told us to go eat. Come to check out in the morning and she had tried to charge me for the breakfast again! Luckily the reception staff, again, were lovely and more accommodating of seeing my proof of purchase! Moreover, the duvet in the room? Not a duvet! Just an inner wrapped in a big sheet! I was disgusted especially considering the inner probably isn't cleaned and I was forced to sleep with it! I am glad we only stayed one night and wouldn't recommend this place for the amount it's gonna cost you! For that price I was expecting much more and was disappointed! My fault I suppose for going for a large company who don't care for their customers. Go somewhere else is my advice

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest. Thanks you so much for informing us about your stay with us and the service you received in our restaurant and rooms. Your comments in regards to the service standards of the restaurant have been used in a staff training and we will do our utmost to try to prevent this from happening again. I will also have a look at the duvets in our rooms. When we conducted our renovation in 2010 and 2011, we replaced all the duvets, which I will recheck whether all rooms are up to standard. I really appreciate your comments and am very sorry that we were not able to deliver on our services. With kind regards, Dick Breukink, General Manager, Novotel Tainui Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel is in a great location - in the heart of Hamilton. Friendly and helpful staff. Only disappointment was when I enquired about the free breakfast that I thought I got when I booked they said they couldn't see it on the booking. I didn't have a copy with me so instead had breakfast elsewhere. I since discovered after returning home that it did include breakfast - missed out on that one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Annie. Really appreciate your comments in regards to your stay with us. I am sorry that we did not provide you with the breakfast that you had booked. That should have been picked up by my staff. Please let me know when you return and we will provide you a free one. Best regards, Dick Breukink, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Central location, excellent service and facilities. Lobby internet available for short periods for free but in a four star hotel in a country that embraces technology I feel internet should be free in the rooms as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Sally. Thank you very much for your comments in regards to your stay with us. Glad to read that you have enjoyed it. Best regards, Dick Breukink, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel with my family. We had an ok stay except a couple of things. On checking out i filled in the hotels survey request form so i could give them my feed back but never received anything. A couple of days later i called the hotel to ask again for them to send me through the survey. The receptionist assured me they would email it to me. I still have not received it. So i am going to leave my feedback here..
The hotel was a great location for us with nice rooms and a reasonable restaurant. But on arrival i had no help with my bags, i had to drag them through to reception while the doorman watched me. He finally offered to help with the last bag! Not good service after a long drive.
The other thing i was not impressed with is that we were missing a top sheet on our king size bed. We were left to sleep under the Doona which had no cover on it. I would have called reception but it was late at night by the time we got back to our room and we did not want to wake our baby up with someone coming in to change it. I thought surely it was a one off mistake but sure enough the same thing happened the next night. It made me cringe and i ended up sleeping without a cover on these nights. The other issue with our bed was the pillows were like pancakes. Even 2 pillows on top of each other would end up like sleeping on nothing. We did not get a good nights sleep here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay. Your comments in regards to the topsheets have been discussed with the staff and surely we make up our beds with three sheets. I am very sorry that this has not done in your room. Your other comments have been brought up with our front desk staff and reiterated that guest service is vital. Once again, my apologies. Best regards, Dick Breukink, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Hamilton Tainui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Hamilton Tainui

Address: 7 Alma Street | PO Box 1, Hamilton 2001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hamilton
#7 Family Hotel in Hamilton
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Hamilton Tainui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Tainui is in the heart of the city, on the banks of the Waikato River, adjacent to the Skycity Casino and entertainment complex. The hotel features 177 rooms, an award winning restaurant, lobby bar and a health club, with gym, sauna, spa and beauty therapies available. Conference facilities are available for up to 350 delegates. Guests have easy access to nearby shopping, dining and entertainment, or relaxing river walks that can be found close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Novotel Hamilton Tainui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Hamilton Tainui Hotel Hamilton
Accor Hamilton Tainui
Hamilton Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Hamilton Tainui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.