We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Quality Hotel Ambassador

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Quality Hotel Ambassador to your Saves list
The Quality Hotel Ambassador
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   86 Ulster Street, Hamilton 2001, New Zealand (Formerly The Ambassador Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Lovely Motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed 1 night and were very impressed with the efficient friendly service, and the cleanliness and standard of furnishings in our room. The breakfast at The Cube was great as well - highly recommend this motel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassador_Team, Front Office Manager at The Quality Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Catie,
Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to review and recommend The Ambassador. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and made the most of our onsite café/lounge! Again, thank you for staying and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards,
The Ambassador Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    37
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
28
4
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed here during a business trip to hamilton. Room was as advertised. The decor is very very dated. Bathroom --> very basic and small. Only the bed is made up for you on a daily basis. The rest of the stuff is not even touched. I had a cup of coffee sitting in the room for 2 days.

Basic hotel. Good for short stays only.

The staff however are the game changer.... very friendly, very courteous cafe staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassador_Team, Front Office Manager at The Quality Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Varun,
Thank you for staying at The Ambassador and providing us with a review of your stay. We understand your comments regarding your Standard Studio and would welcome you to stay in one of our refurbished Business or Executive Studios next time you are in Hamilton to experience the updated décor. We will be reviewing our daily housekeeping servicing and have passed on your compliments to our Cube Lounge staff. Again, thank you for your review.
Kind regards,
The Ambassador Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orewa, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Staying at the Ambassador Motel was a bit like traveling back to 1970 without a time machine. The only giveaway that we weren't reliving our past was the flat screen TV and the microwave oven, which had yet to be invented way back then. It was typical of the concrete block constructed blocks of flats that litter Hamilton - I lived in one working in Hamilton back at that time and it was identical to our one bedroom flat at The Ambassador. To their credit, the staff were very helpful, the room and bedding was very clean, and the beds were oh so comfortable. Unfortunately we had to walk quite a distance along an exposed concrete balcony with no roof, in a howling gale and rain to reach our room. It is probably something guests have had to endure for a few decades. Overall it was fine, but they really should invest some money in major makeovers of the dated bathrooms, and maybe the kitchens ( which are really useful if you are traveling with family).Showers over baths are old hat - if they were fully tiled with a walk in shower and some modern plumbing it would make a huge difference.

Room Tip: In winter or bad weather, avoid rooms upstairs in the two storied block behind the office - you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassador_Team, Front Office Manager at The Quality Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Wilson,
Thank you for recently choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to detail your experience. There is certainly no complete disguise of The Ambassador’s retro origins despite our continual upgrades to the property! We understand your comments regarding the access to your family unit and its bathroom and kitchen facilities. These are identified as areas for future renovation once we have completed our brand new self-contained units this summer which we would welcome you back to stay in. We appreciate your suggestions and have passed your compliments on to our housekeeping and front office staff.
Kind regards,
The Ambassador Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Friendly warm greeting and gave us a later checkout the next day which was nice.

Room was dated but ok however the bathroom was in need of a good clean. I believe they are working through a refurbishment though.

Beds comfortable and great linen.

They have a fantastic swimming pool etc.

Have to say the staff make the place, they were fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassador_Team, Front Office Manager at The Quality Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Scotty,
Thank you for staying with us recently and providing such a great review of your Ambassador experience. We are continually refurbishing and renovating our property and thank you for your understanding of what this process entails. We’re thrilled to hear that our customer service stood out for you and look forward to your next stay with us.
Kind regards,
The Ambassador Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opotiki, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had a 2 night stay after we bought an online voucher this included breakfast both days. The staff at reception made a fantastic first impression and this theme continued with the rest of the staff for the duration of our stay.
Guys in the café could not have been more helpful.
Room was great. The stay was just what the doctor order for us both. Will definitely be back and will highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassador_Team, Front Office Manager at The Quality Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Tom,
Thank you for purchasing one of our GrabOne vouchers and staying with us. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your Ambassador experience and were well rested after your stay! We have passed your compliments on to the Cube Lounge staff and hope to see you again when you’re next in Hamilton.
Kind regards,
The Ambassador Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We used this as a stop off whilst travelling from the northland to the central area for visits to Rotorua and the  hobbit on set at matata. 
It was relatively easy to find - not far (10 minutes drive off highway 1 which passes by the city). 
Check in was friendly and straight forward and the deluxe double accommodation itself looked recently refurbished, as did all the interior. It was clean and straightforward with a good size bathroom (over bath shower), nice quality complimentary tea and coffee, and a good size tv with a good range of sky channels. The bed was comfortable too with a proper duvet! Wifi is free but only for 100mb so checking email and a bit of researching our next stay and it was all gone. Also the shower was a little disappointing pressure wise. These are the only reasons really why I wouldn't give this 5 stars. 
There are a couple of fast food restaurants and pub food within a 5 minutes walk and if you're feeling more adventurous, Thai, Indian and Japanese restaurants 10 minutes walk down the road.
The on site cafe made breakfast easy and our food was of a good quality. 
All in all a good value and pleasant, reliable place to spend a night.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassador_Team, Front Office Manager at The Quality Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Ian,
Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to write such a great review of our hotel and surrounding area. It’s great to hear that you made the most of your time with us and in the Waikato! We have passed on your much appreciated compliments to the rest of the Ambassador and Cube Lounge team. Your feedback regarding water pressure and wifi access has been noted and we hope to address these issues shortly.
Again, thank you for staying and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in New Zealand as much as you did here!
Kind regards,
The Ambassador Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed 2 nights 20_21 Sept - so friendly and helpful, room decor excellent, great shower, super clean. Had breakfasts at the Cube cafe - lovely staff, and breakfasts to match. Was very quiet and handy to town. Obviously in the process of renovating a upgrading, and making a great effort, would certainly stay again, handy to supermarket and up market food shop and of course ---shopping. Well done, thank you
Angie and Corletta

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassador_Team, Front Office Manager at The Quality Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Angie and Corletta,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Ambassador and also for writing us such a fantastic review. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and made the most of what our complex and location has to offer. We are continually renovating the existing hotel and expect our new units to be completed during the summer. Again, thank you for staying and we look forward to seeing you both again next time you're in Hamilton.
Kind regards,

The Ambassador Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Quality Hotel Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quality Hotel Ambassador

Address: 86 Ulster Street, Hamilton 2001, New Zealand (Formerly The Ambassador Motel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Quality Hotel Ambassador 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central to Hamilton Events and Entertainment.Located in the heart of the city amidst shopping, entertainment and the CBD, The Quality Hotel Ambassador is within short walking distance to Waikato stadium, Claudelands Event Centre, Seddon Park cricket grounds and only 20 minutes from Hamilton International Airport.Relax in one of 51 guestrooms and suites, cool off in the pool, enjoy a wine in the house bar or wander next door for quality supplies from Nosh Food Market. The Quality Hotel Ambassador is the ultimate location for the corporate traveler to large sporting or tour groups looking for that iconic touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Quality Hotel Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Hamilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Quality Hotel Ambassador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.