We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient stop over” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Quality Hotel Ambassador

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Quality Hotel Ambassador to your Saves list
The Quality Hotel Ambassador
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   86 Ulster Street, Hamilton 2001, New Zealand (Formerly The Ambassador Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Convenient stop over”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We used this as a stop off whilst travelling from the northland to the central area for visits to Rotorua and the  hobbit on set at matata. 
It was relatively easy to find - not far (10 minutes drive off highway 1 which passes by the city). 
Check in was friendly and straight forward and the deluxe double accommodation itself looked recently refurbished, as did all the interior. It was clean and straightforward with a good size bathroom (over bath shower), nice quality complimentary tea and coffee, and a good size tv with a good range of sky channels. The bed was comfortable too with a proper duvet! Wifi is free but only for 100mb so checking email and a bit of researching our next stay and it was all gone. Also the shower was a little disappointing pressure wise. These are the only reasons really why I wouldn't give this 5 stars. 
There are a couple of fast food restaurants and pub food within a 5 minutes walk and if you're feeling more adventurous, Thai, Indian and Japanese restaurants 10 minutes walk down the road.
The on site cafe made breakfast easy and our food was of a good quality. 
All in all a good value and pleasant, reliable place to spend a night.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassador_Team, Front Office Manager at The Quality Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Ian,
Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to write such a great review of our hotel and surrounding area. It’s great to hear that you made the most of your time with us and in the Waikato! We have passed on your much appreciated compliments to the rest of the Ambassador and Cube Lounge team. Your feedback regarding water pressure and wifi access has been noted and we hope to address these issues shortly.
Again, thank you for staying and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in New Zealand as much as you did here!
Kind regards,
The Ambassador Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    50
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
24
36
6
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed 2 nights 20_21 Sept - so friendly and helpful, room decor excellent, great shower, super clean. Had breakfasts at the Cube cafe - lovely staff, and breakfasts to match. Was very quiet and handy to town. Obviously in the process of renovating a upgrading, and making a great effort, would certainly stay again, handy to supermarket and up market food shop and of course ---shopping. Well done, thank you
Angie and Corletta

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassador_Team, Front Office Manager at The Quality Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Angie and Corletta,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Ambassador and also for writing us such a fantastic review. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and made the most of what our complex and location has to offer. We are continually renovating the existing hotel and expect our new units to be completed during the summer. Again, thank you for staying and we look forward to seeing you both again next time you're in Hamilton.
Kind regards,

The Ambassador Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed two nights at this Motel. We loved this Motel lovely and clean, beds very comfortable. We had brought a deal online so we got breakfast for the two days we stayed. The breakfast were very yummy the service in their Cube Lounge was lovely and friendly. The Motel is next to Nosh and also across the road from Pak'N'Save and Subway very handy location. We would definitely stay here again thoroughly recommend this Motel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the tower block where the room have been recently done up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassador_Team, Front Office Manager at The Quality Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Liz,
Thank you for staying with us recently and for providing such great feedback and advice to other travelers. We’re happy to hear that you made the most of our complex and its central location in Hamilton. We have also passed your compliments on to the Cube Lounge staff. Again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Hamilton.
Kind regards,
The Ambassador Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Nice clean room with everything you need. tv, desk , wifi , fresh towels every day, ....
The staff is realy friendly and helpfull.
location is a 5 min walk from victoria street where al the bars and restaurants are.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassador_Team, Front Office Manager at The Quality Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Jonas,
Thank you for staying with us during your work in New Zealand and it was sad to have you leave us this morning. It’s great to hear you made the most of our proximity to the CBD and even got over to the Mount during your time in Hamilton! Keep up the surfing and we hope to see you again if your work brings you back to New Zealand.
Have a safe trip home.
Kind regards,
The Ambassador Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 1 night over the weekend while we were visiting family. Motel was a lovely place to stay. Receptionist was fantastic and the room was great. Lovely and tidy and everything was perfect when we arrived. Very close to city centre and restaurants. We will stay here again on our next visit to Hamilton.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassador_Team, Front Office Manager at The Quality Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Kirsten,
Thank you for staying with us recently and then taking the time to post a review of your experience, we really do appreciate it. It’s great to hear that you made the most of our central location while visiting family.
We look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to Hamilton.
Kind regards,
The Ambassador Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have recently booked the Conference Room, Bar and Restaurant for two large Customer Events .I found the staff extremely helpful, nothing was a problem.
The restaurant staff went out of their way to make sure the food arrived on time - Lesley even kept coming in and checking every 15 or so minutes to ensure everything was under control.
The Bar staff were professional and helpful.
Parking was plentiful and the the location excellent.
Overall the High Standards has made The Ambassador our venue of choice for future functions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassador_Team, Front Office Manager at The Quality Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Vic,
Thank you for choosing The Ambassador as your host location for your customer events recently. It’s been a pleasure to be involved in their success. We pride ourselves on going the extra mile for our customers and making their Ambassador experiences memorable, thank you for highlighting this in your review!
Your compliments have been passed on to our staff and we all look forward to hosting your future functions.
Kind regards,
The Ambassador Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Spent two nights at the Ambassador Motel on a Grab One voucher which included breakfasts. Staff were professional, friendly and helpful. Unit clean, comfortable and quiet. Breakfasts were an absolute treat. Staff in the cafe were awesome - as was the food. Would definately stay again and reccommend it to friends

Room Tip: Bring swimming gear - a great hot tub onsite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassador_Team, Front Office Manager at The Quality Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Karen,
Thank you for staying with us and good on you for taking advantage of the fantastic deal we offered on GrabOne recently! We have passed on your compliments to all our staff involved in making your weekend so memorable and thank you for recommending The Ambassador to your friends.
We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Kind regards,
The Ambassador Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Quality Hotel Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quality Hotel Ambassador

Address: 86 Ulster Street, Hamilton 2001, New Zealand (Formerly The Ambassador Motel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hamilton
#6 Business Hotel in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Quality Hotel Ambassador 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central to Hamilton Events and Entertainment.Located in the heart of the city amidst shopping, entertainment and the CBD, The Quality Hotel Ambassador is within short walking distance to Waikato stadium, Claudelands Event Centre, Seddon Park cricket grounds and only 20 minutes from Hamilton International Airport.Relax in one of 51 guestrooms and suites, cool off in the pool, enjoy a wine in the house bar or wander next door for quality supplies from Nosh Food Market. The Quality Hotel Ambassador is the ultimate location for the corporate traveler to large sporting or tour groups looking for that iconic touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your The Quality Hotel Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Hamilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Quality Hotel Ambassador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.