We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High-Standards at the Argent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Argent Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Argent Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Argent Motor Lodge
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   27 Lorne Street | Melville, Hamilton 3206, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Whangamata, New Zealand
1 review
“High-Standards at the Argent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

A well maintained, well run hotel of high-standards.

For the price I would say that the Argent is great value.

I will stay there again.

The rooms are well maintained, very clean and they have all of the things that you require for your stay.

Room Tip: I would say that you can not go wrong at this place. They have standards and keep them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    35
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
114
148
40
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Feilding, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Have stayed here numerous times now since September 2013. The hospitality is outstanding, so professional and inviting, I dont not think it is possible to get a nicer couple to own a motor lodge!! The rooms are inviting, the bed is probably one of the most comfortable beds i have stayed in to date, with a sleek, clean and modern feel to the overall room. For someone who spends most of the week travelling around the North Island, I cannot praise this place and the owners enough.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Read reviews for this motel on trip advisor & decided to try them out. The reviews didn't lie this place is wonderful. Can be a wee bit noisy from the road even with all the windows closed.

Hosts were very friendly & welcoming. Would certainly stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Family of 3 stayed in a one bedroom apartment. Very spacious, spotless & a superb bathroom (bath perfect for soaking in after bike racing). 5 min drive to centre of town, short walk to the river walkway & 2min drive to supermarkets. Hosts were fantastic, friendly & very helpful. We will definitely stay here again if in Hamilton.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

My wife an I spent a night here in early May 2014. We were totally impressed from the professional and warm welcome while speaking on the phone to make the reservation right through to the incredibly comfortable bed and sound-tight windows which made sleeping truly DREAMLIKE.

The hotel is CLEAN, MODERN, EFFICIENT, SPACIOUS, and WARM!!! The bedside lamps, activated by touch were incredibly romantic. Though we didn't use them, both the bedroom and the living room had very nice, large flat-screen televisions with SKY channels. In both the studio and one-bedroom units there is a stove, a fridge, and a sink. The kitchenettes are supplied with high-end cutlery and cooking utensils.

The fittings and features are incredibly luxurious, including a large tub and separate walk-in shower in the spa-sized bathroom. The water pressure was amazing, and the temperature was easily adjustable. There was a complimentary curling iron. Thick, eqyptian cotton towels and wash cloths. There were two kinds of soap bars, organic wonderful smelling lotion, shampoo, and shower gel. Complimentary bath salts were an unexpected luxury.

In the bedroom there was ample space for hanging clothes, an ironing board, and an iron. The king-size bed was AWESOME. A very efficient modern heat pump made it easy to adjust the temperature of the rooms rapidly with both heat and A/C functions.

The hostess was extremely helpful in pointing us to wonderful nearby restaurants for dinner and breakfast. There is a small grocery within walking distance and you are literally meters from the hospital. Despite the proximity to all this hustle and bustle, the double-glazed windows and insulated walls keep the sounds outside and the quiet room was peaceful and felt very private.

We were visiting the Temple for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints on our trip to Hamilton and this was just a 10 minute drive from the hotel.

Room Tip: The one bedroom was extremely spacious. My wife said "This is way nicer than my college apartm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

A warm and welcoming environment, service that is above and beyond, sparkling clean and comfortable rooms, everything you could want while on the road. Highly recommend a delivery meal from Scoff while there.

Room Tip: if you can't be bothered heading out for food, get a delivery meal from Scoff. You will not be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We were welcomed here on the 2nd leg of our honeymoon and the host was extremely friendly and gave us a little gift to congratulate us.... The room is immaculate ... We can honestly say we haven't been to a cleaner, more well presented motel. It also has exceptional fittings and luxuries that you would not expect for the price! It's also close the town centre and walking distance to parks... Hamilton Gardens is well worth a visit!! Would be hard to top a place like this!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Argent Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argent Motor Lodge

Address: 27 Lorne Street | Melville, Hamilton 3206, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argent Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA Traveller Supreme Host of the Year award WINNERS 2014. Designed with you, the guest in mind! Argent Motor Lodge is one of Hamilton's newest motels. We border the Waikato Hospital campus and are only a short 350m walk to Braemar Hospital. On the Southside of the City Centre we make it easy for you to head North, South, East or West. Beautifully appointed rooms, fully equipped kitchens, 32" and 40" wall mounted televisions, full hush glass for super quiet rooms and plush beds for your complete comfort. Some of our apartments have their own court yard and all of our one and two Bedroom apartments have a full size, double ended bath. With guest services such as in-room breakfasts, guest laundry, restaurant charge backs, guest computer you will be pleased you decided to stay at Argent Motor Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Argent Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Argent Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.