We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Argent Motor Lodge

Save Saved
You added Argent Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Argent Motor Lodge
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   27 Lorne Street | Melville, Hamilton 3206, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 62 hotels in Hamilton
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

What a great place to stay, nice new rooms, very spacious, very clean, very modern and lovely hosts to top it off. Not far from the city area. Easy to find the place and get around. Will have not problem in recommending Argent Motor Lodge at all. Thanks heaps.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    308
    26
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
80
107
32
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Argent Motor Lodge is clean, spacious, and run by two of the most accommodating patrons I have ever encountered. Nothing was too big a hassle and both Clare and Richard went out of their way to ensure we had a wonderful stay. Thank you for all of your help, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would highly recommend you to anyone looking for a great place to stay in Hamilton. We'll certainly be back if we're ever in the area...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare G, Owner at Argent Motor Lodge, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Hello! So great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us - thank you for being such great guests!! We are starting to get more and more travellers staying with us and we know just how much a great holiday experience can make to everything so we do try pretty hard to do all that we can. Really hope that all is well back home and we do hope to see you again oneday.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were travelling with a 5 year old and a 2 year old. The room is spacious! Lots of room for kids and a portacot!! Great for family. Location is close to city centre and hospital. And surprisingly QUIET. Room is very new and modern with all the basic facility that you need. Very clean and nicely maintained. The staff at Argent were very helpful. We highly recommend it and will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare G, Owner at Argent Motor Lodge, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Hello ! Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback. It was our pleasure to have you all with us. The portacots are just that 'little bit extra' as we know all too well how full the car can get travelling with kids - space can be limited! Our rooms are so quiet - even we were surprise when we moved here from out in the country - state of the art construction with full hush glass, commercial gib and full concrete block constructions keeps the rooms all super quiet which = GREAT SLEEP! Thanks again - we hope to see you another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methven, null, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

absolutely one of the most friendly places i've stayed with great hospitality i couldnt fault. The family and i will be staying here again when ever we up in Hamilton.I do recommend to stay with Richard and Clare at the great complex. Once again thank you for all your guys help at such a rough time for me and the family thanks again Rob

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare G, Owner at Argent Motor Lodge, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Hi Rob - so great to hear from you. It was our pleasure to have you with us and to help out where we could. Thanks so much for taking the time to drop us a review. We really look forward to seeing you again some time - always great to see familiar faces and to catch up on things. Take care. Clare and Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otaki, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed with a touring group. Every room was just lovely. The Owners are friendly and very helpful, even to the extent of guiding our group to the Restauarnt in Hamilton.. The service was above and beyond what one would expect.
Definitely would return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare G, Owner at Argent Motor Lodge, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Hello Margaret - Wow - that you for taking the time to place such great feedback. We really enjoyed having your group with us. We were a little nervous as you were our first tour group that has booked with the Argent and we really wanted to get things right for you. It is great for us to know that the bus and luggage trailer fitted well and that we could more then cope with the number of guests all arriving at the same time! So pleased that you also enjoyed your dinner at Keystone - I know that the enjoyed you being with them also. Thanks again Margaret - hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The staff at Argent were helpful, willing to accommodate any requests. So close to hospital, took the stress out of driving and to have nice new rooms to come back to was awesome. I am a clean freak and was impressed how nice it was maintained. - Thanks, Veronica

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare G, Owner at Argent Motor Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Hi Veronica - thanks for taking the time write a review. We really enjoyed having you to stay with us. You are right, our location for the Hospital (both Waikato and Braemar) do make it easy and we like to try in any way that we can - right down to helping you to avoid the car park building - if necessary! Hope to see you again perhaps. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Argent Hamilton.
This New build, or at its worst nearly new build unit is exceptional. We rented a 1 room King Studio located on the edge of Hamilton. First impressions were good. Staff or I think owners greeted us and were very pleasant and helpful.
The main room is bright and modern open plan, the bed was large and very comfortable. There is an open wardrobe for hanging your clothes and a two-seater settee. A small passageway leads to the shower room. This shower room is also very spacious with a wet room tiled shower again open plan, very modern and clean.
A small kitchen area is in the passage next to the shower room with sink hob fridge and a microwave. There is a heat pump on the wall so you can be hot or cold, your choice.
There is sky TV with loads of channels to choose from if TV is your thing. A nice touch is the alarm clock with the facility to charge your i-phone. Free Wi-Fi is available but restricted to 200mb enough for the email downloads and a little surfing.
I have a couple of things I would have preferred, that would be a small table to eat at, If you use the desk there is only one chair, so you have to eat on your knee.
A set of place mats will stop the work surfaces getting marked. Some guests may not take as much care as we did.
We also used the washing and drying facilities and it was charged at $6 a very reasonable charge.
We would recommend this Motel to any one on their travels around NZ. 5Star

Room Tip: All new had a ground floor and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare G, Owner at Argent Motor Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Hi Gerry - great to know that you have made it home safe and sound. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review. We have tried really hard to make sure that everthing a quest could want is provided for - but you are right, a small table would be a great thing to have in our Studio Apartments. When we opened we had some glass top tables (side tables) in each of the rooms that worked really well for what you write about - but, we discovered that the glass was faulty and we were concerned for the safety risk to our guest. BUT, we have since ordered, and are awaiting delievery, of our new side tables - slightly bigger than our last ones and 100% timber - so safe and sound! We hope that this will make the rooms even better equipped than they already are. Thanks again Gerry - we hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Argent Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argent Motor Lodge

Address: 27 Lorne Street | Melville, Hamilton 3206, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 62 hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argent Motor Lodge 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed with you, the guest in mind! Argent Motor Lodge is one of Hamilton’s newest motels. We border the Waikato Hospital campus and are only a short 200m walk to Braemar Hospital. On the Southside of the City Centre we make it easy for you to head North, South, East or West. Beautifully appointed rooms, fully equipped kitchens, 32" and 40" wall mounted televisions, full hush glass for super quiet rooms and plush beds for your complete comfort. Some of our apartments have their own court yard and all of our one and two Bedroom apartments have a full size, double ended bath. With guest services such as in-room breakfasts, guest laundry, restaurant charge backs, guest computer you will be pleased you decided to stay at Argent Motor Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, T4B, Booking.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Argent Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Argent Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.