We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad...but not great either.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Verandah

The Verandah
Hamilton Lake Domain | off Ruakiwi Road, Hamilton, New Zealand
+64 7-838 0692
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #147 of 204 Restaurants in Hamilton
Price range: $0 - $23
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Ice Cream, Café, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: The Verandah Cafe has something to suit everyone with our large cabinet selection made fresh daily on premise or we operate an all-day menu from breakfast to the late afternoon. Be spoilt with our special High Tea service or relax on the verandah with a light lunch and a nice glass of wine. We can make all of our menu items to suit specific dietary requirements, just let us know. The Verandah is a child friendly cafe with a 'Younger Treats' menu offering healthy meal options and our popular Kiddies Plate with new flavours every day. High chairs and baby changing facilities are also available and let's not forget the amazing playground right on our doorstep.
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not bad...but not great either.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Hamilton Lake's focal point is still an average facility, even after a total make-over. Standard cafe food fare applies and expect long delays during lunchtime, but at least it is somewhere to shelter from the searing summer sun or winter rain. Coffee is OK but nothing to get excited about. Naturally being located next to a massive family playground, expect lots of children and noise to go with it! A large lawn area out front is for picnics but is a 'Dog Free' area. The only problem are the revolting pidgeons and their disgusting droppings, although the council has delt to them, rather brutally over the summer period. Does have a conference facility and parking is good.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    6
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lunch with a view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Been regularly for lunch and food is very good quality. Food is delivered quite quickly to tables once ordered at counter. Busy and a bit of a wait to order on a nice fine day. Need another person on counter when that happens.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, NZ
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic place for a function”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had a 21st party here: service was unbelievable! Nothing was a hassle.

What was promised happened. We had good food, price was reasonable and the staff are fantastic to deal with.

I have been to other functions here and the functions have also been good. Again nice food and good service.

The location is beautiful and at night-time has a relaxed quiet ambiance.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Perfect for the lakeside setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

True to its name, the restaurant features a large deck facing the lake underneath a most impressive sail. We've been several times and have always been pleased with the quality, taste and presentation of the food. The coffee's great, if in the upper range of what I consider standard pricing; then again, you'd struggle to find a more pleasant setting in Hamilton for a cuppa. Let the kids loose on the playground nearby (close enough to keep an eye on kiddies, but just far enough away that the noise doesn't bother patrons).

The Verandah is a modern building built on an historic site. Hamiltonians have a long tradition of relaxing on the shores of Hamilton Lake - take a look at some of the photos in the Verandah foyer. I love that the architects kept a kiosk on the playground side. It takes about 40 minutes to walk around the lake (I prefer clockwise), after which an ice cream or a cool drink is the perfect finish.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Verandah also viewed

Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 

Been to The Verandah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Verandah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.