We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day with Archer Tours” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Archer Tours

Archer Tours
10 Santiago Place | Magellan Heights, Hamilton 3210, New Zealand
64 7 854 6444
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Tucson
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great day with Archer Tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I began communicating with Jim almost one year prior to our cruise. His responses were always timely and helpful. I am often nervous about arranging private excursions, but after our day with Jim, I would have no hesitation recommending him. He was waiting for us early at the dock and once our entire group was ready, we began our day. Jim's knowledge and sense of humor made the day informative and fun. We started out at a small beach for a quick photo stop, headed to Kiwi 360, then to the Maori Cultural Center. We had a nice lunch there, stalling to see the geyser at its best. The day was relaxed, but also filled with activities. Jim got us back to our ship in plenty of time. I would highly recommend Jim and Archer Tours.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    4
    0
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Super guide, great day in Auckland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Jim picked us up as we were finishing our cruise in Auckland with his van and trailer for our luggage. He toured us around Auckland all day with an "Auckland highlights" tour prior to delivering us to the airport for flights home or to Sydney. We saw beaches, gardens, overviews, lots of sights from all around Auckland and stopped for coffee and lunch at a neat local Italian restaurant. Wonderful day with a great guide! Much better than just a cab ride to the airport after a cruise.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepparton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rotorua Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I booked a party of six for this tour and we were picked up at the port from our cruise ship.
We had a great day and Jim was very helpful and able to answer our questions. We had a great time at Rotorua and I would highly recommend Archer Tours to anyone who would like a great trip especially from the cruise ships as his price is far more reasonable. It was good to have the entry fee all included in the tour price.
Thanks Jim
Kathy

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
1 review
“Wonderful tour of Tauranga and Rotorua”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This tour was the best tour that we did on the North Island. Jim met us at the dock and took us on a tour of Tauranga before heading to a kiwifruit farm and then on to Rotorua. He is very knowledgeable about the region and is great fun to boot. He organised it so that we were at the cultural centre in time to see the geysers go off and we had the best seats in the house for the cultural ceremony. A thoroughly enjoyable day and we would not hesitate to recommend his tour to anybody. Thanks again, Jim, for a great day! We won't hesitate to contact you again when we are next on the North Island

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Three different tours, all fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We were in Tauranga for two days and Auckland on a another while on a cruise. Jim met us each day and gave us a very different tour each day. He matched the tour to our interests and as a result we saw more of the North Island than we would have otherwise. For the one tour he scouted out areas and found a lovely spot at a local winery for us to have lunch. First tour was south of the Tauranga port where we went to several different towns, Hobbit town, antique town, gold mining town, mural town, plus a walk along suspension bridges to see an old mine. Jim is very knowledgeable about the fauna so was able to identify several of the trees and plants for us. The next tour we took was to Rotorua, which is a must for anyone who has not been to New Zealand. He arranged for one of our tour members to be the chief for the Maori presentation, timed the geysers so that we could view them at their peak, took us to Government House, filled us in with Maori culture, went to a Kiwi farm, and took us on two different roads so that we could see different areas to travel to and from the port. In Auckland he took us to several parks and view points so that we could see all the sites of the city. He also found us a grocery store so we could stock up on wines to drink while aboard our ship. I would highly recommend Jim as he definitely times his tours to suit the needs and desires of his clients. Would love to do another tour with him if we ever return to New Zealand.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Archer Tours also viewed

Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 

Been to Archer Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Archer Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.