We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my favourite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gothenburg

Gothenburg
21 Grantham Street, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand
+64 7-834 3562
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 205 Restaurants in Hamilton
Price range: $4 - $16
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Gothenburg serves a great selection of tapas. We focus on having a relaxed atmosphere combined with excellent service. We have the largest range of Belgian beers in the Waikato and the cheapest Belgian beer in New Zealand along with some of the best wines from New Zealand and Europe.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“my favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Just got back from an amazing dinner at Gothenburg. It's wasn't my first time but every time I have been the food is delicious (and not ridiculously priced) and the service is impeccable. The staff are lovely and the waitress we had tonight, along with other wait staff we've had on previous visits, are all really friendly and helpful. The menu changes often so you never end up having to order the same thing you've had before. The affogato was AMAZING!! Definitely my favourite place to go for lunch or dinner or even just a drink and tapas. Thanks again gothenburg!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloxy14, Owner at Gothenburg, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are so happy you enjoy yourself at Gothenburg your review is exactly how we wanted people to feel when we opened the place. Hope to see you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    39
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ripped off. Very disappointing service. Worst in Hamilton.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

A group of us went to Gothenburg for dinner and drinks one night. It wasn't too busy but took a long time for the food to come out to us. The food was quite good though. By the end of the night we had about $850 on the bill. We gave the waiter $200 cash and then said to put the rest on the credit card. Instead of only $650 being charged to the credit card, all $850 was and they had kept the cash. We only realised this a few days later and so rang Gothenburg telling them what had happened. They were very rude and said "all our staff are honest and wouldn't do that". We told them to check the security cameras as that would show us handing over the cash but they were reluctant to help. We were very disappointed as we had spent a lot of money that night. We will definitely not be returning after such bad service.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloxy14, Owner at Gothenburg, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
How dare you sully our good name with your outrageous slander! As they say in Sweden: "Här ligger en hund begraven"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawera
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great food and Wonderful Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We originally tried this restaurant becasue we had been given a voucher last year, we have since been back several times when we are childless as I wouldn't take my young children there. Delicious food, love the Tapas menu. Service is always great, the staff know the meal menu and beer list very well and are very helpful.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloxy14, Owner at Gothenburg, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thanks for the great review it really helps us to keep up the good work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in Hamilton.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Can't say enough how fantastic this place is.

We would definately recommend this place, great value for money, the portions are just right, the food itself is so good!

The service was outstanding, the staff are friendly and helpful and gave advice about each dish.

A cool feature of their menu is they have a recommended drink to compliment the dish is listed.

Overall it was an outstanding restaurant. Well done!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloxy14, Owner at Gothenburg, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
This review made the whole team at Gothenburg smile. Thanks :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
“great tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We tried eight tapas and all were fantastic. Staff was very helpful and personable. Great beer selection. This is my first review and only because I was so impressed by this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloxy14, Owner at Gothenburg, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
So very happy to be the reason for your only review! Thanks for taking the time :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gothenburg also viewed

 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 

Been to Gothenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gothenburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.