We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service what customer service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial City Motel

Colonial City Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Colonial City Motel to your Saves list
Colonial City Motel
23 Thackeray St., Hamilton, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Customer service what customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely terrible service had Friend's get into town late in afternoon, motel was no where near full and they couldn't be bothered lady was so rude. Felt horrible for mates ,not to mention that they bought breakfast in cold wrapped in glad wrap as soon as we got there wouldn't even have fed it to my dog

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen N, Owner at Colonial City Motel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
The reason your mates were turned away is that it was 3.00 am Sunday morning when they requested a room. the arrangement with you was that they would share your unit as you requested.
It is made clear that the office is closed at 9.00 pm. we turn everybody away after that
We at Colonial City Motel are unsure what the problem was with the breakfast. it is advertised as a continental breakfast and is served the evening before so that you, the guest can eat at a time suitable for you.
It is an ample breakfast of cereal, fruit to have with the cereal, 2 slices of bread for toast, butter and spread for each slice, fruit juice and milk for the cereal, yes, it is all wrapped in glad wrap as required by the food service industry
it it your decision as to what you select from quite a wide range. we do have a cooked breakfast option available but you decided against paying for it. Again your decision
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    2
    1
    7
See reviews for
7
18
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Excellent value, Fabulous location (near the hospital and city centre). You even get free Continental Breakfast when booking with Booking.com . Very accommodating staff (friendly). Good comprehensive kitchen.
Great get-away from Auckland. Upgrading of tired rooms in place which will be good for property.

Room Tip: We stayed at room no 6 which was on the Ground Floor. Parking is at your door step and room is quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We needed a motel at the last minute. We travel with our dog so we usually book well ahead.
The Colonial welcomed us warmly, including dog. We had a spacious 1 bedroom unit with kitchenette. Decor was a little dated, however, everything was spotless. Free continental breakfast provided for those who eat breakfast.
This will be where we stay in Hamilton in future.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Absolutely dreadful experience!

Bedding and towels were worn thin and grey NOT white! (My floor cleaning cloths are better than their towels! Room dowdy, shabby worn furniture and very small considering it was suppose to be a double room..... The room had a table the size of child's school desk and chair so we had to sit on the bed to eat our meal........ At 8am the following morning we received a call from the owners husband to say they were turning off the water supply within 30mins. The Fire regulation sign in the room had never been completed it would be questionable if the Fire Service would have passed the electrics over the kitchen sink......... Why didn't we complain directly...... We had driven 8hrs that night and simple wanted to get to bed.. The online photographs of the hotel/rooms DID NOT reflect our experience. The following morning we rang the bell at reception but simply left the key on the desk as nobody turned up. Like other customer reviews on this hotel we had also been greeted by the owners negative comments on Booking.com as a company... Think the problem lies with them the hotel owners not Booking.com!

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel like the plague!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Me and my girlfriend were sent out from the room by a man (I suppose the husband of the lady at the desk, maybe the owners) because we were 10 minutes later than the check-out time that was at 10 am. That man shouted against my girlfriend in an aggressive way and so my girlfriend was very scared of that and started to cry in the car. I travel a lots and it is the first time that happens to me something like that. Very disappointed of that terrible behaviour! Not recommended at all!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

A somewhat unconventional motel (structurally) with some fairly tired facilities - but priced accordingly, so if you know what you are going to, you should get good value.

Owners are helpful and friendly, wifi works well, plenty of TV channels and great free breakfasts.

Offsetting that the décor is a bit worn, and in our room (area) the electric circuits overloaded when put under cooking load (soon fixed, but happened several times). And the water has to run a while to get the hot water through.

Nevertheless the above is all priced in, and overall got a perfectly good, large, fully contained room, in central Hamilton for half the price of alternatives.

Room Tip: The rooms are all different, so select according to your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Was a little wary on viewing the "old" building but our overnight stay in unit 8 was very comfortable. The unit was very clean with comfortable chairs and bed and a modern bathroom with a good pressure shower-the free continental breakfast was very nicely presented and brought to our room in the evening so we could chose what time to eat.
Will definitely stay here again. Good location - pleasant surrounds.
We ordered dinner from Scoffers "takeaways for grown ups" - the brochure in the motel needs updating as the prices were incorrect but the meal was well worth the hassle free ordering and delivery.

Room Tip: Our unit (8) was on the ground floor and got afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colonial City Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial City Motel

Address: 23 Thackeray St., Hamilton, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great bit of old world charm in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Colonial City Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial City Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.