We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Hamilton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atrium on Ulster

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Atrium on Ulster to your Saves list
Atrium on Ulster
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   281-285 Ulster Street, Hamilton 3420, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Auckland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The place to stay in Hamilton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed here for a family 21st in Hamilton and were delighted with our choice. The 1 bedroom apartment we had booked was excellently appointed and spotlessly clean. The friendly, courteous host's were helpfull and made sure we were looked after. Two other family groups also booked in there and were also delighted with their accomodation. When a 3rd family couple's plans changed on the night, after a late night phone call they were also able to be accommodated. Absolutely excellent service. We have no hesitation in recommending the Atrium as an excellent place to stay

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a cedar hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    34
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
42
5
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed here for the first time in Hamilton on business. I found the rooms modern, well fitted and absolutely spotless. Little things such as the plunger coffee and real milk! was also nice. The fitness room was also well fitted with various equipment. The free internet is also a great bonus compared with other hotel/motels which charge.

The highlight however was the service of the hosts Steve and Alison. They were friendly, helpful and always w illing to go the extra mile.

I look forward to returning to the hotel next time I am in Hamilton. I would highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Our plane was delayed in Melbourne for a number of hours meaning that we would arrive in NZ at night Not being prepared todriven the dark we emailed and cancelled our booking The owners coud not have been more understanding.On arrival we felt fresh enough to drive to Hamilton so rang and asked for our room again. We were welcomed and shown to our apartment Everything was as described ,clean and modern.Steve was incredibly helpful ...great place to stay

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This motel is great value and the rooms are well furnished and comfortable. There is good selection of room types to choose from. In fact this one of the most comfortable places I have stayed in when travelling for work.

Steve and Ali great hosts and always make you feel welcome.

Room Tip: Book ealry if want a good choice of rooms as this is a favoured place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I stay here on business on a montly basis and have done for some time, Steve and Ali are fantastics hosts and the rooms are warm, modern and most importantly clean. Always spotless and well maintained, fantastic value for money and safe and secure if staying on your own. Feels like a home away from home.

Room Tip: Not much noise unless closer to the road so all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

From the moment we walked into the office and met Steve we felt welcome. He showed us to our room which was a king studio upstairs which was so clean & tidy. The kitchen sink and kettle were so shiny. The bathroom/shower was in excellent condition.The heat pump in the unit was a great bonus. The king size bed was warm and comfortable. The unit was extremely quiet. As we went out at night it was good to come back to a well lit carpark and safe very well lit covered stairs up to our unit. The next morning we met Alison who was more than happy to show us a one bedroom unit for our next visit. Steve & Alison are wonderful hosts, interested in their guests needs.

Room Tip: Units down the carpark away from the road are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I have stayed here a few times and hadnt been back in a while owever happily still found it very good value and still very well managed. The rooms are very clean, well appointed and modern. The studio rooms on the ground floor are smaller than the upstairs studio rooms I had stayed in before, which was a bit disappointing, it may be that I missed something when I booked, but would be helpful if it could be made clearer on the online booking system.
Although it was pretty full that night everybody was quiet I had a really good night's sleep.
Its situated on Ulster Street which is full of hotels but this is one of the best in the area, and like the others, is close to the city and several restaurants and take-aways.
The hosts were friendly and helpful as usual.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atrium on Ulster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrium on Ulster

Address: 281-285 Ulster Street, Hamilton 3420, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Atrium on Ulster 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Atrium On Ulster, One of Hamilton's newest motel accommodation and conference complexes. We are Qualmark rated 4 star plus and provide guests with clean, modern rooms with comfortable beds and great showers. Free WiFi (conditions apply). We are centrally located on Ulster Street, close to Supermarkets, restaurants and Waikato Stadium. Come and stay and experience the excellent service that we pride ourselves on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Atrium on Ulster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atrium on Ulster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.