We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quest on Ward

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quest on Ward to your Saves list
Quest on Ward
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42-47 Ward Street, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A real find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We were visiting our son for five weeks and used this as our base, travelling away for a few days then returning. It has an excellent location in the centre of Hamilton very close to the shops and excellent restaurants. The apartment was spotless, very well equipped, including air conditioning, and everything worked. However, what really made our stay outstanding was the warmth and helpfulness of Robert, our host. Nothing was too much trouble for him and he really added to our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, Manager at Quest on Ward, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Ann. We are so glad you enjoyed making Quest on Ward your home base for your adventures over the New Zealand summer. You both managed to see so much of this beautiful country. We were always happy to be greeted with your cheerful smiles and tales of your experiences. With family now in this area, we look forward to seeing you and Les again on your next visit. warm regards from the heart of Hamilton. Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    35
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
22
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We made a last minute booking at Quest on Ward while on a road trip through NZ - having stayed in Quest Apartments in Australia we were looking for a comfortable place to stay the night with the facilities you would expect at Quest apartment. The Quest on Ward did not disappoint! From the moment I sent a booking via email, the host, Robert was accommodating and made us feel really welcome.

The Quest on Ward would be in one of the best locations in Hamilton - its right in the Hub of the city centre, with easy parking and walking distance to shops and dozens of restaurants and cafes. For Coffee addicts there is also a Starbucks next door downstairs on street level - Perfect!

After a very hectic road trip through NZ we were looking for some home comforts which the quest provided. The room (we had a one bedroom balcony room) was very spacious, immaculately clean, the bathroom was large which was a nice change from the usual hotel room sized bathrooms! The kitchen was equipped with a decent sized frig/freezer, a dishwasher and stove-top. We were even able to wash and dry our clothes overnight in the washer/dryer which was a bonus!

I would recommend the Quest on Ward as your first choice for accommodation in Hamilton - whether you are travelling for business, holidays or just a quick stopover the Quest on Ward ticks all the boxes! Thank you Robert for going the extra mile to ensure we enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: The Car parking is located in Ward Lane - easy to find - just turn into the lane when you see the St...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, Manager at Quest on Ward, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Juliafg

thank you for your time to review the Quest on Ward, Hamilton all about your recent stay. We were glad to meet you and be of service and delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. One night is never enough in the Hamilton areathough. A few more days and you could have visited Hobbiton or the Waitomo Caves just a short drive from here or the rugged surf beaches of Raglan. Hamilton has great cafes and boutiques and a wonderful river walk to enjoy. Do come again soon, we are waiting! Regards Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Chose to stay at Quest over 2 nights in January as a stopover hotel and it was worth every penny. The rooms were meticulate and housekeeping service superb. The location was spot on as there were many restaurants to choose from within walking distance. We booked two rooms - interconnecting (217 & 218) and facilities in both rooms were great.
The GM, Robert Hunter is still working on to find the best internet provider as when we were there, we had problems with the internet connection.
Overall experience was excellent and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, Manager at Quest on Ward, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear rtsrtk

We enjoyed having you stay with us in one of our 2 bedroom apartments last month. As you experienced, our 2 BR apartments are huge with 2 bathrooms and 2 complete living areas as well as the 2 bedrooms of course. I am very happy to hear you had a great stay with us. Good news on the internet, our existing high speed broadband ( cable ) is still doing a speedy great job, but the WiFi you hoped for should be in place within a matter of days. Add this to our impossible to beat location in the heart of the city and you have the perfect base for business or leisure. I'm looking forward to welcome you again some time soon. Regards Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent two weeks at the well equipped apartments at Quest on Ward and it was an extremely pleasant experience from start to finish. The one bedroomed apartment was very comfortable and well equipped and Robert and Chern made us feel completely at home, even to the point of sharing with us some homemade cookies! In our opinion, it was one of the elements that made our time in NZ such a great experience overall. The location is very central and there are plenty of bars and restaurants within easy walking distance. It was blissfully quiet too - even on New Year's Eve, when the restaurants and bars stay open well into the evening. We couldn't really fault it and that is largely down to the exceptional service and attention offered by Robert and Chern. Thank you both for making our first trip to New Zealand such a great experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, Manager at Quest on Ward, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hello Mary

We so enjoyed your cheerful smile each morning as you set off on a new adventure in the countryside surrounding Hamilton. You both certainly kept busy visiting Hobbiton, the Waitomo Caves, Rotorua, Raglan beaches, Lake Taupo, and twice over to the wonderful beaches around Tauranga. With everything a comfortable day trip from us we were happy to be your base during your visit. Being in the heart of the city we are a short stroll to cafes and boutiques and the mall next door is very convenient. Yet you noted how "quiet" it is here at night which is so important for busy holiday makers or business people alike. Thank you both for staying with us. We hope to have a opportunity to be of service to you again sometime. warm regards Robert and Chern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed recently at this hotel and from the minute I stepped through the door I was made to feel at home. The hosts Robert and Chern run a good ship, right from checking in to checking out everything I could have wanted was made available.

The room was well presented, clean, tidy and well appointed.

Robert and Chern's knowledge of the area, restaurants and shops made the stay all the more pleasant.

I'll certainly be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, Manager at Quest on Ward, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Graeme

We are glad you found Quest on Ward for your recent business trip to Hamilton and enjoyed your visit with us. Being in the heart of the city we are in an envied position for shopping, cafes, entertainment and fashion all to compliment your busy lifestyle and work responsibilities. We enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in 2013.

warm regards

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Management were hugely helpful at the Quest on Ward both prior to my stay and while I was there. I stayed in a studio, which is well set up for a short-term stay (e.g. three nights), although for anything much longer you'd probably want the next room up. The kitchen facilities are good, and the bathroom is fantastic, and includes a washer/drier should you need one.
My only real niggle is that the TV is set up high on the wall, which makes it difficult to watch if you're not actually in the bed, and there was a bit of a lack of comfortable seating. However, I can see that this is because the space has instead been used for business-traveller facilities like a desk, and this was only really an issue because I didn't go out at all in the evenings.
If you're looking for central self-contained accommodation, definitely consider the Quest on Ward.

Room Tip: Definitely consider the next room up from the studio if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, Manager at Quest on Ward, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Westie_Traveller

We were very happy to welcome you to the best kept secret in the heart of Hamilton - Quest on Ward. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and note your high level of satisfaction with facilities and service here. Our studio apartments have full kitchen and laundry facilities along with a balcony which offer more space than costlier hotels in the area. As you have said, for 2 people or a longer stay of course a 1 bedroom apartment gives even more space to relax (or work), and feels like home. Our central location means the wonderful cafes, bars and restaurants of Victoria Street down to Hood Street are a gentle stroll away, and with the mall next door there is plenty to keep visitors occupied without even needing a car.
Did you get a change to visit Hobbiton? Many people are making us a base for their adventures to see the movie set, or venture on to the Waitomo caves, all within an easy drive from here.
Business or pleasure we are happy to welcome you again sometime to the Quest on Ward.

warm regards

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

On arrival I found the managers to be very friendly and professional. The room was huge and it was great to have my own washing machine and dryer as I had been on the road for a while and finally caught up with getting laundry done, but in my own time. The heat pump was a blessing. I walked to the bars and shared a cab back and it was great that there were no noisy bars down that end of town. The lobby/lounge area on our floor outside the lifts gave it a unique flair. I loved having a tv in the lounge and one in the bedroom. However just to bring it to your attention, whilst watching tv in bed, my remote would also turn the tv on in my lounge too. I also appreciated the secured parking spaces. I would definitely recommend to professionals who do quite a lot of travel and just need to enjoy stretching out in a spacious apartment instead of a poky studio hotel room,and at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, Manager at Quest on Ward, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Bjandco

It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay here at Quest on Ward Hamilton and I really appreciate your detailed review. We are certainly in the heart of the city with everything at your finger tips, yet I am sure you loved having a nice peaceful apartment to come home to. For professionals or leisure travelers it makes a big difference to have the added space and facilities of our apartments and the balcony is also a great extra here. We are glad you made use of our inroom washing machine and dryer and I hope you got to cook up a storm in our fully equipped kitchen.
I look forward to welcoming you again sometime soon here in Hamilton.

regards

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quest on Ward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Ward

Address: 42-47 Ward Street, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest on Ward 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the happening heart of Hamilton city the Quest on Ward serviced apartments offer studios, one and two bedroom apartments all with full kitchens including an oven, dishwasher and microwave. Wifi (chargeable) for business or leisure and a washing machine/clothes dryer in every apartment. Almost all apartments have a balcony to view the city sights, shopping malls, cafes and the casino only a few steps away. Inside, everything is provided as your home away from home and a peaceful retreat in the downtown area. Hobbiton, the Waitomo Caves, Raglan Beaches and mineral spas all within an hour of Hamilton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Quest on Ward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest on Ward, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.