We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot but service disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wharf Cafe, Bar & Restaurant

Wharf Cafe, Bar & Restaurant
60 Esplanade, Gisborne 3801, New Zealand
06 868 4876
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 57 Restaurants in Gisborne
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice spot but service disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This restaurant is located overlooking the marina area so a very pleasant spot. The menu looked promising but execution of the dishes was disappointing - too much sauce on seafood etc. The entrees and mains came out at break-neck speed. The kids desserts arrived (incorrect dishes) and then we had such a long wait for the adults' desserts (we suspect order was lost) that we cancelled dessert and left. Needs to pick up its game over busy summer period.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    22
    24
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“No worries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We were stopping over a night in Gisborne and chose the Wharf as it was close to our hotel. Wasn't very busy when we went but the staff were friendly and seated us quickly. The menu was extensive enough, sometimes they can to big. Our food was delivered in about the right amount of time and was delicious. The staff were not smooth and slick as you find in city restaurants, but we find that can be off-putting. The more relaxed, laid back (ie Kiwi) approach is more comfortable to eat in we find. The overall bill was a little above the average, but the food was good, so we felt it away value. From our experience, I would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Unimpressed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I was looking forward to our dinning experience at the "Wharf", I had checked their website & menu and thought it was going to be something special, a fine dinning experience at the marina. On arrival the place was rather casual, eventually greeted, seated and then waited. Six staff were on the floor and everytime one of them approached a table (about 20ish people in the resturant) the first words out of their mouth was "I sorry I will be with you shortly", really don't know what they were doing and clearly no one was in charge. On waiting at our table for our menu and maybe asked if we wanted a drink, which never happened, my partner said "look at the glasses", they were clean but still had lip marks and water spots all over both the glasses. Anyway to cut a long story short we waited 20mins before we walked out, there was no one even at the counter so we could say why we were leaving. Very disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Quick and good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Went here during R&V so they were flat out busy. We were seated quickly, order taken quickly, food delivered quickly. We were impressed so returned a couple of days later with a larger group. Similar experience. Food was pretty good too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Careless”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Went here and were turned away. Told that they were fully booked. This is at 8pm and only six tables occupied. No reservation signs. Came back 1 hour later and they were shut. Easy to see we were lied to.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wharf Cafe, Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Gisborne, Gisborne Region
Gisborne, Gisborne Region
 
Gisborne, Gisborne Region
Gisborne, Gisborne Region
 

Been to Wharf Cafe, Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wharf Cafe, Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.