We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Humming central spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Verve Cafe

Verve Cafe
121 Gladstone Road, Gisborne 3801, New Zealand
06 868 9095
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 53 Restaurants in Gisborne
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Tauranga, New Zealand
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Humming central spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Nice coffee and tasty food. Very popular spot. Delicious muesli. Reliable place for lunch or breakfast.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    20
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Nipped in for a coffee and it was fantastic. I'm a coffee snob so know a good cup when I have one. Great Barista.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Breaskfast at the Verve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Had breaskfast here with my grandson who ordered their beautiful bacon and pancake breakfast. It was gone in seconds then mine started looking interesting to him as well!
The Verve is situated in the heart of Gladstone Road and is quite a busy place even at this time of the day. The decor is quaint and comfortable and the staff are friendly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

waited for over half an hour for food. went with a group of 5 people. 3 people got their food at different times but not the last 2. asked if i could have a refund because everyone else had eaten. they said the food was on the plate so i could have it takeaway. 15 minutes later they brought it out. took a long time to get from the plate to a bag, clearly it wasn't on the plate. the staff were very very rude. threw the knives and forks on the table and seemed to be much nicer to the locals than our group who was clearly from out of town. terrible service felt very unwelcome. will never go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good food and good coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We had very good food and a phantastic coffee in this very atmospheric place ... thoroughly enjoyed it ... very unique and a welcoming change to the other chains all over the country ...

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Verve Cafe also viewed

Gisborne, Gisborne Region
Gisborne, Gisborne Region
 
Gisborne, Gisborne Region
Gisborne, Gisborne Region
 

Been to Verve Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verve Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.