We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Villaggio

Cafe Villaggio
57 Ballance Street, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand
06-863 3895
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 53 Restaurants in Gisborne
Cuisines: Pacific Rim
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The grounds are beautiful, the food presentation is also. Five of us had brunch. The big breakfast was fantastic, home made hashbrowns we regretted not getting more of.. fantastic oven roasted on the vine tomatoes and mushrooms...eggs perfect ...vegetarian variation well accommodated. The hotcakes not as good, seemed more like a deepfried variation which with mascopone cream was really too rich. All very generous with its servings. Nice coffees. A leisurely way to do brunch, unhurried, lovely attentive staff. Wouldnt want to be here if in a hurry but a great way to spend unrushed time.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    16
    13
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice food but unprepared”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Late December through to early January have always been Gisborne's peak season for travellers because of Rhythm and Vines and almost everyone knows this.

We booked a table at the cafe around 10am on the 30th of December. The place was busy but not chaotic, there were even seats free outside.

We were seated and forgotten for a good 30 mins until we were finally served. The menu had quite a selection of expensively priced food - almost similar to what you'd pay at a high end restaurant in Wellington.

After 30 mins our drinks arrived with no mention of where our food might be. An hour or so went by and again still no sign of food. After waiting for over an hour and half our food finally arrived, with not even the slightest hint of apology. Despite oversight in hospitality, the food was quite nice (not $24 for a tiny bit of salmon nice) and cooked very well. So I was happy that at least the cooking was of a standard.

When paying, there was a crowd of disgruntled customers complaining about the wait and the food that hadn't arrived. The waitress at the counter, unapologetically responded by saying 'I can't do anything about it, it's Rhythm and Vines season and it gets busy so I won't be refunding or discounting your order.'. Terrible excuse! Why? Because each year people flock on mass to Gisborne. If you're going to have X amount of tables available, then at least be staffed for the volume you're expecting to receive. Also, learn how to apologise to your customer even if they are from out of town, it goes a long way!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food - SLOW service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We booked a table for an early sitting (11am) thinking this would cover off any issues around peak season. WRONG! It took so long for the waitress to get to us that we had written our order down for her. Then the food took about 50 minutes to arrive - drinks were finished and kids were beside themselves. When the food arrived it was beautifully presented and tasted wonderful - but I am not sure it justified the fairly hefty price tags. Atmosphere was great outside and this could be a fantastic cafe - service and speed to table needs work - don't blame Christmas/NY rush - size up for it!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wow wow wow !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

It is difficult to write this review in such glowing terms without anyone thinking I know the management of this cafe......which I certainly dont....but I wish I did.

Vafe breakfasts are my favourite so therefore feel that I am more than qualified to rate this cafe 11 out of 10 !

The food is certainly exeptional. I had the "big V" and was pleasantly suprised with the quality of taste, variety and size.

All the other meals looked of a high standard and the coffee was just great.

A fantastic ambience, located in an old house, beautiful large courtyard surrounded by weeping trees providing good shelter.

NZ owners with Euro staff.....a great combination.

One of my favs ....

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Puke, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best cafe lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had the best lunch here on Sunday. Four of us and everyone loved their food! Little bit on the pricey side but sooo yummy! Best salmon eggs benny I've ever had.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Villaggio also viewed

 
Gisborne, Gisborne Region
Gisborne, Gisborne Region
 

Been to Cafe Villaggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Villaggio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.