We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portside Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Portside Hotel to your Saves list
Portside Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Reads Quay | PO Box 177, Gisborne, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Auckland
1 review
“Very Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Whenever we are in Gisborne we stay at the Portside Hotel.
The rooms are very spacious, well equiped with lovely inner harbour views.
Clean and tidy and well run.
Great central position with easy walk to city, cafes etc.
Very good quality at a very reasonable price.
Graham and Christine Auckland

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    53
    14
    10
    0
See reviews for
20
70
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We really enjoyed our 3 night stay at the hotel. It was good to have the view over the wharf. The room was very well equipped and exceptionally clean and the staff extremely helpful and pleasant. The location was very handy to town and good restaurants.

Room Tip: We really njoyed having the wharf view and didn't find it at all noisy although we did stay over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I travel NZ frequently on business and one of our most favorite destinations is the Portside Hotel. To us it always feels like a home away from home. From the warm and helpful staff to the spacious fully equipped apartments we enjoy the relaxed atmosphere, the superb view and the first class amenities available at the hotel.

Unlike the aloofness and detachment of big city hotels the Portside manages to make your stay relaxed and friendly. There are several excellent restaurants within a very short and pleasant walking distance if one does not wish to make use of the excellent kitchen facilities.

We look forward with eager anticipation to our next visit to the Portside Hotel.

We highly recommend this hotel as a holiday or business destination.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed two nights and while clean and with friendly staff, this is a very noisy hotel. The doors to the rooms slam if left to close and can be heard on the full floor along with any hall way conversation, no matter how personal. The adjacent wharf stars early, with logging trucks and loaders, and there is no double glazing to mitigate any outside noise.

Room Tip: Stay on the forecourt side for a quieter sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

A full modern apartment right down to the oven and clothes washer; close to everthing (but about a 15 minute walk without car). Fantastic view over the working harbour from the balcony. Could not fault this place for ammenity, location and value...Laze away in Gizzie for a few days here watching the harbour activity from your balcony or poolside lounge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in early January in a 2 bedroom harbourside apartment. It was excellent. The apartment was modern, clean, very spacious and the kitchen was well equipped. The view of the harbour was great, we really enjoyed the activity on the port. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful. When I mentioned there wasn't really enough hanging space for swimming costumes and towels for a family of four, the manager gave us her own portable clothes rack and pegs and agreed that she should look into this for future guests. We will definitely return; it was one of the best places we stayed in on our tour around the north island.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We have just spent 2 nights at the Portside on level 3 overlooking the harbour. We thought that it was just fantastic, and the views or the port were amazing.
The rooms are spacious, very modern and very comfortable. The staff were fantastic and when I left my cell phone charger behind, it was couriered back to me within 1 day. Thanks again for a fantastic stay. We will be back!
Roger

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Portside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portside Hotel

Address: 2 Reads Quay | PO Box 177, Gisborne, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gisborne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Gisborne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gisborne
#6 Business Hotel in Gisborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Portside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portside Hotel Gisborne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.