We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place we have been” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hicks Bay Motel Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gisborne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hicks Bay Motel Lodge
Save
You added Hicks Bay Motel Lodge to your Saves list
5198 Te Araroa Road, Gisborne, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Napier, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst place we have been”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was a horribele stay the rooms were dirty and verry oldfashen koud and loud.
We had dunner in the restaurant and the food was verry bad and olso verry expensif.
The environment was bad
The only thing was a Nice view

Room Tip: Redecorate the place
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Gee thanks for taking your time to write this review. We are what we are. Sorry you were so unhappy on your travels to Hicks Bay. Your comments helps us manage expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    88
    67
    36
    20
See reviews for
43
132
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

They have a captive clientele out there - not a lot of options in the area for accommodation - hence the inflated rates. We stayed in room 12 - two bedroom unit.
The setting was good with nice views & a really good walk down to Horseshoe Bay.
The room was clean & tidy - no issues there and the kitchen facilities ok.
The place is dated overall for sure but that is not a problem in itself. The bedding is not up to scratch for the price and the bathroom facilities very cramped. For about 60% of price it would be fine.
We didn't eat at the restaurant - the description on the menu didn't encourage us. We can highly reccommend the Kai Cart takeaway at Te Araroa though.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dave thanks for your review. The room rate could drop 60% but the operating costs would not, especially on the coast. We do not participate in deal hunters marketing. There are lots of other places to stay on the coast, just check into the i-sites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encinitas, CA
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

If you want luxury, stay in the city, but if you want a comfortable place to rest after a long scenic drive, this is the spot for you! The room was clean, and the knotty pine walls made it real cozy. It is an old fashion motel. Tea service in room, comfy beds, good TV. Bathroom is small. We had two issues. The fridge's fan was so loud we unplugged it and the hostess offered to change the room but we opted for a bag of ice instead. Secondly, we had trouble with the hungry mosquitoes in the room. The neighbors in the next room swatted theirs before retiring, unfortunately we killed ours the next morning! We were careful about leaving any sweets out since we were warned about ants. (Remember, this is the wild East Coast!)! The on site glow worm grotto is a bonus, and the view of Hicks Bay is nice when you can find a place to view it through the trees! Our room had a partial view of the water and a great view of the flora!
The food in the on site restaurant was delicious! The service was top rate, our food came quickly after we ordered. We didn't make it to breakfast, but it smelled wonderful!
Free secure Internet was available , but only in the lounge area.

Room Tip: We had room 16 , partial view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Champion three stars! Thanks. We appreciate your honest comments. We do not participate in any top rankings optimization services and this space if for all sorts of comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We only stayed for one night due to our disappointment. There were ants all over one of our sofas when we arrived and because the windows were all open bugs everywhere. Once inside we saw a sign on the wall telling us to wash our dishes or be charged $30 extra. I've stayed at MUCH nicer places for less. You're not allowed in the pool until 10am (checkout time) so we missed out on a swim in the morning

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. Being located in a sub-tropical climate does create some issues with ants. We would gladly have moved you to another room to ensure your comfort while staying with us. As advised in the compendium in the room we ask for guests to keep their food in sealed containers or in the fridge, not just for the benefit of themselves but also for future guests.
The pool hours are to ensure guest safety and the mornings are our pool maintenance time. We would gladly have accommodated your swimming needs if you had let us know that you would have liked a morning swim. Best wishes for your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The experience we had in the restaurant wasn't the best the food was not appealing.we had the tempura prawns there was so much sauce on the top I couldn't eat it same with the prawn cocktail .the steak over done and cold chips. The waitress was stomping around the restaurant felt like an earthquake when she walked past. Yes I should of said something but my guest didn't want to make a fuss. To see the chef smoking out the front on the deck leaves a bit to be desired the bar staff are brilliant and check in fab. Just check those meals and your on a winner.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We are delighted your enjoyed our stunning views and thank you for taking the time to make a review of your stay. Your feedback has been passed onto our kitchen staff, although we would have preferred the opportunity to provide you with a meal to your liking at the time. Thank you for your positive comments on our bar and check-in staff. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Fairly basic for a hotel room. Bathroom area needs refurbishing. Ventilation poor - only one small opening window. Not all rooms have a view - as indicated on website, although staff happily transferred us to a unit with a view. Only tea and coffee available so difficult to prepare and clean up breakfast if you don't want to go to the restaurant. Some walks closed and nearby walk not signposted but staff directed us to the start of it. Staff friendly and welcoming. Evening meal satisfactory- generous servings. As long as your expectations aren't too high its quite adequate for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for taking your valuable time to write your three star review. All the best to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, NZ
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We arrived after a long drive from Gisborne. We enjoyed the trip and seeing beautiful area. But our unit didn't have a hot plate or microwave which mean we could not heat of cook anything. As the local shops close early we had to eat at the motel. The staff were very friendly but we had to eat between 6-7 pm which is early when you have been travelling.all day. The menu was expensive for what we got. A greater selection at different prices would have helped. We had a similiar meal in Gisborne same prices much nicer. The Maori chef didn't seem to be there. We had been staying at different places and this wasn't value for money. We feel if they want to make a profit they will have to upmarket facilities e.g stoves, hot plates etc. and offer more because remember no other places in area.

Room Tip: Suggest take plenty of foods to eat not much around. If you want to eat food yourself be fully prep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Your comments are important to us. Most of the motels have hot plates and two of them do not. If we would have known this perhaps we could have shifted you to another unit to help you enjoy your stay. Stating that our chef is a maori must be updated in our literature. We employ local people who are indigenous to this specific area. All the best to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hicks Bay Motel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hicks Bay Motel Lodge

Address: 5198 Te Araroa Road, Gisborne, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Gisborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
...where the morning sun first meets the horizon...1960s Kiwiana - defining what it is to be Kiwi. Set on a 14 acre bluff, 250 meters above sea level, in historic and botanical protected -- unspoiled -- countryside. where peace and tranquility abound. Overlooking the beautiful Hicks Bay Waterways 40 rooms with 175 person total capacity. AMENITIES. Outdoor Swimming Pool. Bush walks. Restaurant -- 60 person seating capacity. Breakfast and Dinner prepared by Maori chef with freshly prepared sauces, vegetables - served homestyle. Shop and Bottle Store. Internet access, Payphone, and Guest laundry. Playground and Pool Table. Glowworm Grotto and Rock Fishing. East Cape Maritime Lighthouse accessible to the public, 35km.Located midway between Opotiki and Gisborne on the Pacific Coast Highway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hicks Bay Hotel Gisborne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.