We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent handling of dietary requirements” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Cook Motor Lodge

Captain Cook Motor Lodge
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Captain Cook Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Captain Cook Motor Lodge
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   31 Awapuni Rd | Waikanae Beach, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent handling of dietary requirements”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed here recently with a tour group. Rooms were comfortable and spotlessly clean, and I didn't notice the road noise that others have mentioned.

What really impressed me was how they handled my fairly extensive dietary restrictions (no dairy, wheat, onion, garlic or a list of other things) in the restaurant. We had meals included in our tour package and they provided a buffet meal for our group, but having received notification of my restrictions in advance, had prepared a small portion of every meal choice especially for me so that I did not miss out. The food they provided was hearty and tasty.

To have one night on the trip where the restaurant staff had read the dietary restrictions we had sent ahead and had prepared something for me was a very pleasant surprise.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    20
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
18
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The location has its pluses and minuses. It's directly across from a beautiful beach but it is on a road busy with logging trucks. However, there was no issue with noise as the spacious, comfortable rooms were very quiet. We were very appreciative of our hosts friendly and accommodating manner, they were informative and helpful in every way. We were especially happy with the on-site laundry facilities and the little back deck behind our room. Free WiFi was another plus!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Over the past year I have stayed here about four times for one or two nights each time thru work and have found it a great place to stay at, nice quiet clean rooms with sky tv and free wifi, free laundry as well, good restaurant and very friendly helpful management and staff, highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I have stayed at the captain cook motor lodge in gisborne twice in the last month in two different rooms and both times the staff have been wonderful. Rooms are spacious and clean, comfortable beds and good selection of tv channels. Bathroom linen is nice and soft and the water pressure in showers is perfect. Also a nice selection of body wash and shampoo for when you've run out or simply forgotten. Location is excellent with the beach, park and tennis courts across the street to compliment the lodges own amenities. Definitely ask about their included continental breakfast, which is a must for work trips and holiday stays alike

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We spent one night in this motel. The hostess was absolutely terrific: so friendly and helpful with everything! We walked to the restaurants and enjoyed the view.
The room was spacious and clean. The only bad thing is the traffic from the heavy trucks during all night, but this is the thing they just can't control.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

One night stay on business in Gisborne.
The room itself was clean and comfortable with good basic amenities.
The continental breakfast was basic and quite sufficient for my needs. The fact that it was included along with free wifi was a good bonus.
What they can not control is the heavy trucks travelling along the road outside. I had thought that the road was more of a back street but it seems that it is the bypass for heavy vehicles. As a result my night's sleep was not that great.
The staff were friendly and helpful and if traffic does not bother you this is definitely a good place to stay. For me though it is a deal breaker.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I spent one night in the motel on an overnight trip to Gisborne for a funeral. In terms of value for money, it would be hard to beat. The continental breakfast (included) was of a very good standard. The room was basic, but included a number of thoughtful touches. Plenty of plugs for charging electronics (phone, camera and laptop) at the same time. Also real milk for coffee / tea, rather than the long life containers, which are so unsatisfactory. Its location allowed me to take an early morning walk along the beach, and it is within walking distance of the city centre. Staff were very pleasant and easy to deal with.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain Cook Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Cook Motor Lodge

Address: 31 Awapuni Rd | Waikanae Beach, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain Cook Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Captain Cook Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Cook Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.