We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Te Puia Springs Hotel

Te Puia Springs Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gisborne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Te Puia Springs Hotel
State Highway 35 | Te Puia Springs, Gisborne, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Gisborne B&B and Inns
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very friendly people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had a great stay ,met very friendly local people in the bar .Had an amazing relaxing swim in the mineral pool before retiring to our comfortable and tastefully decorated room.Would certainly return for that stay at a local country hotel with lots of friendly people.The owner is very nice and they are doing a great job of renovations to the hotel .Thanks very much again. I to agree with everything Jo W said.Andrea

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Like Jo W before us, we were travelling to Gisborne from East Cape. The hotel is very much an early-to-mid 20th century country NZ hotel, but it is well along in its renovation. It is on the main road, but the row of trees between the hotel and the road keeps road noise to an absolute minimum. It is a Heritage registered building, and the owners are working through the process of bringing it up to standards. They have completed the "upstairs", and the rooms are better than one would initially imagine. They have retained some of the "shared twin - bathroom down the hall" rooms, but with excellent new beds. We took the "double with ensuite" and the room was large and airy, with an exit onto the front balcony as well as onto the inside hall. The bed was excellent, and the lovely warm blankets were appreciated on a very cold night (Te Puia Springs is about 230 metres above sea level). There are lots of electrical outlets (for the gadget minded) and there is excellent broadband coverage with Vodafone if you have your own tethered connection. I didn't ask whether they provide wireless as an amenity. The most obvious difference between most renovated hotels and this one is the absolute cleanliness of everything: there wasn't so much as a single spider web anywhere. The towels were soft, thick, and fluffy. But one should not expect the level of amenities of a Sheraton: this is a country hotel. Downstairs the work is progressing, but is not anywhere near complete. The "sports bar" is glorious NZ country hotel, again absolutely clean, but it's a country pub (with lots of local heritage pictures and stories displayed). The dining room is currently being stripped for rework, but the meal we were served was excellent country fare, and plenty of it. The shared lounge (where the big screen TV lives) has not yet really been started. There is a private hot spring at the hotel, but we did not use it. My conclusion: it's a lovely old place that is coming back, with excellent sleeping facilities, and wonderful people running it. Good value. Would I stay again? I'll go out of my way to stay again if I travel to the east again.

Room Tip: A room on the front gets morning sun, so choose appropriately winter and summer. Definitely take on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

After a long trip and a walk up to the East Cape lighthouse (700 steps) we were in need of a rest. The owners of the Hotel were very nice, and made us most welcome. we did not want to eat in there restaurant as we were to tired, but we were given full use of a very large well equiped kitchen, were we cooked ourshlves some thing simple for tea. We had a lovely soak in the private hot mineral pool, watched some TV in the lounge which had some great art work on the walls, and lots of books and magazines to read, then relaxed with a wine on the balcony surrounded by large palms. Our room was pure luxury, and the price was very reasonable. if we were in the area again, we would definitly go back there.

Room Tip: Ask for room with own shower toilet which is what we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We travelled up from Napier and after a long journey, we stopped at TE PUIA SPRINGS HOTEL.
It seemed shut at first, but after driving around the back found the owner,we were the only couple staying, it was all very casual. The room we were given was very pleasant, comfortable bed,very clean , a balcony and table & chairs. It is an old hotel, partly done up, but very welcoming hosts. The owner cooked us dinner, and we helped ourselves to tea and toast for breakfast.

Room Tip: The larger rooms at each end of the hotel are the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Te Puia Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Puia Springs Hotel

Address: State Highway 35 | Te Puia Springs, Gisborne, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Gisborne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Te Puia Springs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Te Puia Springs Hotel to your Saves list