We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Kai and staff who know their stuff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gisborne Wine Centre

Gisborne Wine Centre
Shed 3, 50 The Esplanade, Gisborne, New Zealand
+64 6 867 4085
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 19 Activities in Gisborne
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Yummy Kai and staff who know their stuff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Excellent! I was meeting friends who had arrived before me and I was welcomed with a brilliant welcome smiling from staff. The eats were fresh, local and ever so yummy. The wine selections were varied and yummy. Lots of information about the wineries. We stayed longer than we had planned then decided on coffee which wasn't as good as the wine or the eats. All in all a lovely experience a great setting and friendly and knowledgable staff

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    3
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Martinborough, Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Worth a visit for the location alone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I went here alone before dinner and ordered option number 2 with a beer to cleanse the palate. The Arneis was the standout with the Malbec second. The Viognier was a nice. The Chardonnays could probably be blended to make a better chardonnay but they were a bit cold. Nice to have two chardonnays that were distinctly different. The beer was lovely. And the cost - only $12 for the rack! I thought they had made a mistake - and I got 10% off with my TOP 10 Holiday Park club membership.

If I didnt need dinner I would have continued on to the other tasting option. Next time.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taranaki
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We went to the Wine Centre because it was advertised as the one place to go to experience all the best of Gisborne wine. My husband is a real fan of buttery oaked Chardonnays. We went to the Wine Centre and they had tasting 'Flights' we asked which one would have the type of Chardy that my husband likes and were advised to have 'flight 1' it consisted of five wines, two Chardonnays neither of which was oaked or buttery. We then decided to find a wine bottle from the display area that had the characteristics that he likes. We found one that had a price label of $28 on the shelf so duly ordered that to drink and were astonished to be charged $42. The explanation was that the price on the wine shelf was for 'take out'. There was no sign saying this at all. We were very disappointed and left. The staff do not know their wine. My advice is to go to the cellar door. The Gisborne Wine Cellar is just a glorified wine bar.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Maine
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great spot to sample the best wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I have been visiting the wine center every year since it opened. the location is on the harbor in Gisborne so a bit off the main street, but I like the location. If you are looking to explore Gisborne wines it is a great place to stop as you can book your tour (did one last year) and also sample a variety of the local wines. You do have to pay for the tasting, but you also don't have to drive around to the different vineyards either. a flight of wine (6 glasses) is far less than I would pay for a single glass of wine at a restaurant. Get a flight, relax and enjoy! See what wines you like, talk to the staff and then book a tour or go visit your favorite vineyard and meet the owners! The staff is friendly and helpful. they also make great coffees!

The center is sponsored by the wine companies, btw, so you don't pay any more for bottles at the wine center and the owners do frequent the center as well... so you never know who you will meet - although they are usually there earlier in the day.

they have started doing a lot more social events in the evenings and it is a great place to meet for a drink or two with friends before going out. they also hire out the venu for private events now, which sometimes makes the evening unavailable.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Holland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great wine tasting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

The Gisborne wine center was hopping on a Saturday evening. Lots of folks and a great atmosphere. The food was tasty and the wine flight excellent for the price you pay

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gisborne Wine Centre also viewed

Gisborne, Gisborne Region
Gisborne, Gisborne Region
 
Gisborne, Gisborne Region
Gisborne, Gisborne Region
 

Been to Gisborne Wine Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gisborne Wine Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.