We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for drinking Gisborne wine in the sun, wine tour was excellent too” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gisborne Wine Centre

Gisborne Wine Centre
Shed 3, 50 The Esplanade, Gisborne, New Zealand
+64 6 867 4085
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 25 things to do in Gisborne
Attraction details
Laragne-Monteglin, France
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great location for drinking Gisborne wine in the sun, wine tour was excellent too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We were recommended to book a wine tour through the Gisborne Wine Centre by our motel (Bella Vista). We went on the tour on a Saturday and there were just two of us. The tour guide Ray was fantastic and very attentive. We visited Bushmere (Shona was fabulous as was the huge collection of wines to taste). Matawhero was great, we had lunch there which was very tasty, although only four wine tastings at this venue. Finally we visited Stone Bridge, again we were well looked after. The tour cost $110 per person and lasted about 5 hours. It was fairly good value for money, with Bushmere standing out as the best venue on the tour.
During our weekend we popped into the Wine Centre several times to sample more wines (they have two flights of Gisborne wines for a very reasonable $12 each). Marcus and Fiona looked after us very well and we even ended up having a few drinks with some of the locals after the wine tour!
Would definitely recommend, both for the tour and just relaxing in a nice environment drinking fine wine!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    14
    4
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A bit expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

The location is among the waterfront business activity without the view really. We found it a bit pretentious and expensive.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Novel and fun.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Great location to chill out for a bit and taste some local wines with a tasty snack.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Rhythm and Vines Gisborne - New Zealand's Glastonbury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

As per wikopedia "Rhythm and Vines was founded in 2003 by University of Otago friends Hamish Pinkham, Tom Gibson, and Andrew Witters. They wanted to hold an event for their university friends to celebrate the New Year in a safe and secure location where they would be entertained by New Zealand musicians. The festival has been held each year at Waiohika Estate, Witters' family home.

The first festival had one performance stage, featured dub/reggae/funk band The Black Seeds and was attended by 1800 guests. In 2004 a second stage was added and 5,500 people attended with dub/drum and bass/reggae/roots band Salmonella Dub the headline act. The 2005 event featured roots/dub/reggae/jazz/soul band Fat Freddy's Drop. The 2006 festival had four stages, featured overseas artists such as Mylo and attracted a crowd of 15,000 people.

In 2008, Rhythm and Vines expanded to a three day event which allowed the organisers to contract bands that were not previously available. This was large factor in making the 2008–2009 festival line-up the strongest yet by far, with many renowned international acts on the bill. Accommodation for the festival is mostly provided by BW Campgrounds, a seven day camping festival that features bands such as Kora, State of Mind, and the Stafford Brothers.[citation needed]

2010 saw Rhythm and Vines sell-out, hosting international acts such as N.E.R.D, Netsky, Chase & Status, Chromeo, Justice, Flying Lotus & Tinie Tempah along with New Zealand acts Shihad, The Naked and Famous and Dragon with a record breaking, capacity crowd of 25,000."

New Year's Eve 2012 found 30,000 at the event which continues to grow. It has become a rite of passage for young NZers.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raglan New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great harbour atmosphere, nice tapas, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

To us, it was the most enjoyable place to relax with a glass of wine. Tapas are nice, wine list local and good

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gisborne Wine Centre also viewed

Gisborne, Gisborne Region
Gisborne, Gisborne Region
 
Gisborne, Gisborne Region
Gisborne, Gisborne Region
 

Been to Gisborne Wine Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gisborne Wine Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.