We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Service!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motel Oasis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Motel Oasis to your Saves list
Motel Oasis
5 Sponge Bay Road | Tamarau, Gisborne, New Zealand (Formerly Sponge Bay Motor Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

There's a lovely family atmosphere at Motel Oasis and it was wonderful to be so well looked after by Scott while we were there. From the welcome drinks to the free bicycles to use of the on site BBQ, the whole experience made us feel like we were staying with friends...! It's a great place to stay and we'll definitely be back..!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elgreko69, Owner at Motel Oasis, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear friend, thank you so much for your kind comments and we are glad that you and your wife felt at home in our beautiful motel. We would love to have you back in your next trip to NZ! All the best from Scott and Dimi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    24
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
36
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We can recommend this motel to all that are visiting Gisborne, You are welcomed after a long drive with the offer of refreshments by very obliging hosts. Our first impression as you drove in was that it was very clean, tidy and up market
This proved to be the case when we entered our air conditioned room.
Nicely set out and everything you need, got to say the Free WiFi is very fast and a real bonus for traveler and business person who need to be in touch while relaxing beside the pool
Well set out grounds with loads of space so kids (and adults) can ride around on the free bikes and scooters. Very handy to the city restaurants and bars (4 mins drive) many with charge back to the motel
Thanks for a great stay and we will be back

Room Tip: There are rooms for all budgets and every room we viewed were fitted out with quality fittings Wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elgreko69, Owner at Motel Oasis, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Stuart, thank you for your visit and your perfect score. We are very happy that you enjoyed most of our freebies and we would love to see you again soon! Please don't forget to mention that you are a returning customer in order for us to give you our best possible deal and upgrades! all the best from the Motel Oasis team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Motel Oasis deserves credit for being:
-probably out of the tsunami hazard zone (Gisborne CBD and some suburbs are exposed to a 12m tsunami threat) - competitively priced - clean (but see below) - comfortable - in close proximity to Wainui and Sponge Bay ~ that is by bike or car - friendly at front of house: thanks Scott - earplugs are free!
Brickbats: Memo to cleaning staff: remember to clean the crusted soap off the shower rack - it only takes two mins + please don't leave other people's rubbish in the lounge bin - in the last refurbishment double glazing should have been retrofitted ~ the sound reflecting wall on the state highway boundary is ineffective - kitchenette needs a sink ~ getting water from, and taking plates, etc to the bathroom for rinsing is tedious and arguably unhygenic.
Generally though Oasis is a tidy, competitively priced motel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elgreko69, Owner at Motel Oasis, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear friend, thank you for your visit and your review. Welcome to Tripadvisor by the way and we are sorry that your first review was a three star one. We are glad that you felt looked after by our friendly manager Scott and we do apoogise about the soap on the shower rack. Will instruct the cleaners to be more vigilant on the little details. Regarding the lack of kitchen sink and double glazing, I understand your preference but it is too expensive to fit these items and it would make our pricing less competitive. As you have pointed out we do offer free earplugs for all our guests and most of our bedrooms are located away from the motorway and the sound wall. Finally regarding the kitchen sink, we do service the rooms daily and change the plates and cutlery daily as well. Also we do have family units that have sinks and we will happily upgrade you if you give us the pleasure of choosing Motel Oasis again. So hopefully your next review of us will be a five star one! Many thanks from Motel Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed here on our way to Napier. For the nightly rate we paid this was great value and therefore we would recommend this if you can get yourself a good deal. Like the other reviewers pointed out, there are no kitchen sink which is a bit of a hassle but if you are prepared for this it should not matter too much.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elgreko69, Owner at Motel Oasis, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear friend, thank you for your custom and your review. We are glad that you enjoyed our Motel and we would like to welcome you again, hopefully offering you a free upgrade to our family units with a fully equiped kitchen and a kitchen sink! Also may we point out that your rooms are serviced daily (incuding your cutlery, plates and glasses) and you are more than welcome to use our dishwasher for any larger items that you need. We hope to see you soon! All the best from the Motel Oasis team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We were in gisborne for 2 nights and we're happy to have stayed here. They have a nice pool but not heated so can get chilli. They have a lot of boardgames at the reception so v picked up scrabble and sat playing by the pool was fun. The rooms were very cosy and well lit. Small pantry was helpful to make our breakfast and tea. The room was clean and so was the bathroom but the tub seemed to clog. We also got a late check out as we hadn't realised 10am was check out thanks to the owner they were kind enough to let us leave late. Over all good comfortable stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elgreko69, Owner at Motel Oasis, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear friend, thank you for your five star review and we are very glad that you enjoyed our Motel and its little extras. We hope to see you again soon! Please don't forget to mention that you are a returning customer if you do come back! Kind regards, Motel Oasis Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I agree with the previous reviewer who found the motel to be average.
The motel advertises "affordable luxury", the affordable part was right $115 per night, but our room was far from luxury.
We had a room with 2 beds. It was spacious enough.
The walls were painted white, which made the old carpet look out of place, & it had a few stains.
The fridge had flecks of mould.
We found the mattresses too soft.
The bathroom was spacious but had the '80s look with the seratone walls, the old tiled floor pieced together in 3 parts.

The kitchenette was too small, & there was no sink, so water needed to be obtained from the bathroom.
The bikes for hire were a good idea. Make sure you go to Sponge Bay, a lovely spot.

There were no eating places within walking distance of the motel, as it was outside the main centre.
We drove to Villagio cafe for breakfast, a lovely setting with good food & coffee.

The room could be made luxurious with better furnishings, new carpet, tiled bathroom with walk in shower, better kitchenette, etc.

In conclusion, although the motel did not meet our high expectations based on the tripadvisor reviews & website photos, it did meet our basic needs.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elgreko69, Owner at Motel Oasis, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear friend, thank you for your visit and for your review. We are glad that you appreciated the good value that the Motel offers and that you enjoyed our free bicycles and the local beach! I am sorry that the lack of kitchen sink was an issue and I apologise for the mould in the fridge and the stains in the carpet. We have had a very busy high season and with our rooms always booked we have had no gap to shampoo our carpets. I wish that you had mentioned these issues to our manager in order to try to upgrade you to another unit. Also regarding the bed, we have got boards in storage for people with sensitive backs or who find the mattress too soft. Our manager would happily have changed you to a room with a harder bed or install the board on yours. All the best from the Motel a Oasis Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

The Oasis is clean, comfortable and there is a warm welcome. Free WiFi, is always an added bonus. Even ear plugs are free!
I would like to have given a score of five but there are a couple of small points I feel need to be addressed.

I didn't like the fact that there was no basin in the kitchen area and water had to be drawn from the bathroom tap. In the bathroom the toilet paper is in a locked container. Should you suffer a nose bleed you don't really want to be fishing around for the end of the roll!

Whilst there, heat pumps were being installed is it is being upgraded, hopefully in time for the NZ winter.

On the whole, a pleasant stay and very good value. Yes we would recommend the Motel Oasis.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elgreko69, Owner at Motel Oasis, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Maggie, thank you for your visit and for your review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and a bit sad that we missed the fifth star! We hope that the air cons/heat pumps will make up for the having to use the bathroom sink. Regarding the 'locked' toilet paper, we had to install it because we used to have some guests that took the extra toilet rolls that we were leaving in the rooms. Thanks to all the money that we save, we can offer a lot of the other freebies (such as the earplugs that you mention and the other welcome treats!) Looking forward to seeing you again! all the best from the Motel Oasis Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Oasis

Address: 5 Sponge Bay Road | Tamarau, Gisborne, New Zealand (Formerly Sponge Bay Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel Oasis was recently refurbished into an elegant Sanctuary on the outskirts of Gisborne, only minutes away from Sponge Bay Beach and Wainui Beach. The ideal getaway spot! Beautiful landscaped gardens & solar-heated swimming pool surrounded by 15 stylish ground-floor air conditioned units with FREE Unlimited Wireless Internet, 10 channel SKY, DVD player/Playstation (FREE library of 300+ movies/games), Microwave, Fridge, Kettle, Iron & Board, Hair-dryer, Heat Pumps/Electric Blankets. Secure FREE PARKING, FREE Bicycles, Scooters, MiniGolf(1st come, 1st serve), FREE Laundry Facilities. We accommodate small pets (by previous arrangement). We have wheelchair-friendly rooms, as well as family suites and studios. Conference/games room with TV, Playstation, Nespresso coffee machine. Our staff are here to ensure you get the best time in Gisborne no matter what your interests, from shopping and local walks to wine tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Motel Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.