We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and helpful owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel

Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel to your Saves list
Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel
22 Salisbury Road | Waikanae Beach, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Christchurch
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and helpful owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Owners very accommodating and helpful. Comfortable stay with a nice bed. Quiet, and a great distance from town, not too far, but far enough. Have stayed before and is motel of choice in Gisborne

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
14
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gisborne, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Whispering Sands Motel at the beginning of the year and was impressed with the whole place. The room (1 queen) was immaculate and comfortable with the view of the bay superb. I believe it is the the only motel in Gisborne on the beach front. The motel owners were very knowledgeable about the local area and were happy advice me to on what to do in our short stay in Gisborne. What sets this motel out from other motels i have stayed in New Zealand is the view, the value and the friendly service that we recevied from the motel owners Peter & Judith. I look forward to my next stay when i visit New Zealand again.

Room Tip: Definately book a upstairs room, sit on the private balcony and enjoy the lovely sunsets over the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012 via mobile

Excellent views from the room although when we were there it rained a lot but would think that if sunny the views would be amazing across the bay. Friendly and helpful owner and we thought the room layout was fine. Very well equipped with all you would need to self cater but within walking distance of the harbour area and town centre if you wanted to eat out. Also easy walk to the Crook Cook statue at the top of the hill nearby which was worth the effort to get stunning views across the bay and over Gisborne(although it is not the prettiest of towns in all honesty!)

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Good points: very pleasant host, brilliant balcony with the most comfortable outdoor seating on our entire trip. Nice big lounge with 2 good settees and a good-sized dining table. Very clean. Lovely sunsets from Balcony. and fun watching the kite surfers in the gale force winds.
Slight niggles: the decor was rather basic - breeze block walls and unpainted and unplastered ceilings. Very strange configuration of rooms - entered through bedroom (which had good storage space though a small room) then you had the choice of going through either the little kitchen or through the bathroom which comprised a toilet cubicle, a shower cubicle and separate wash basin to get to the lounge.
Only serious complaint: our room was in the corner next to a family unit and our bed was right up against the full-length single glazed window, so our sleep was disturbed by people coming in and out of the larger unit early in the morning.

Room Tip: A room away from the stairs and corner would probably be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012 via mobile

What sells this motel is its location. Right on the beach with the most amazing views of the Bay and Young Nick's Head in the distance.
The bedroom is good, although in need of a bedside table on both sides of the bed rather than one, and the lounge is magnificent.
The kitchen, though well equipped is tiny and difficult to work in and the shower room area is also very cramped.
Those reservations apart this is a motel whose location and views does all the work

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

we are from australia intended to stay 3 nights as we were doing some touring of the north island but it so nice the rooms were spotless great views and the hosts peter and judith are just the best i have met since arriving in new zealand and ended up extending our stay to 10 nights highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We have been their 5 people (me my wife and 3 kids) for one night. The hotel have a great location, adjacent to a very pleasant beach at the centre of Gisborn. The manager was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are well equipped with bit higher level than other motels we experienced in New Zealand. They even didn’t ask for deposition upon room reservation. The only negative point we face is the relatively high price of internet access. Otherwise this motel is highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel

Address: 22 Salisbury Road | Waikanae Beach, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront accommodation, self contain apartment style ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.