We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, perfect location, quality rooms.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Senator Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Senator Motor Inn to your Saves list
Senator Motor Inn
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   2 Childers Road, Gisborne 4010 , New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hastings, New Zealand
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, perfect location, quality rooms.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment here for four nights in August 2012. The location suited us perfectly for the Gisborne Rally!! It is also extremely well located for other reasons. It is close to the main shopping area, restaurants, the harbor, and a supermarket is within a few minutes drive. The room we had looked out over the river / harbor. We were able to walk to dinner every night at the range of restaurants nearby, including a bar / bistro right next door! Also handy were the Fishing Club, Lonestar, and The Wharf restaurants.
The rooms were large, clean, and easily kept warm by the heat pump installed. A large bathroom also was a plus, with good water pressure and clean towels supplied every day. There is a microwave, jug, toaster in the kitchen - perfect for breakfast.
However, the most outstanding thing about this hotel was Olive. What a helpful, friendly, lovely lady she is!! Nothing was a problem, she was able to give local advice and always had a smile. She took an interest in our team and what we were in Gisborne for, asking us about our progress and being genuinely interested.
I can recommend this place to others without hesitation.

Room Tip: Beautiful view from the upstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smgltd, Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. Always a pleasure to host such positive and friendly folk and the staff enjoy it too.

Olive Lewis
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    29
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
54
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

A geat location fantastic clean large room.
The only important thing missing in my opinion was miniture shampoo and conditioner some bath oil/salts would of been lovely after a long drive.The bathroom nice.
The coffee/plunger great.
Beds Fantastic.

Room Tip: Top level a must for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smgltd, Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your feed back. Our staff work very hard to keep up a high standard of housekeeping. In keeping with our commitment to being environmentally conscious, we have pleasant smelling liquid body and hair wash in one easy to use pump bottle for the shower/bath, and pump bottle and liquid hand soap for the hands. Both pump bottles are not refilled but replaced with new bottles and are bio degradeable.
Olive Lewis
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

When I entered my room I was amazed by the size of the room and the beautiful view! The room was huge, but even if it had been tiny, the view would have made up for it! The motel is on the river front and offers great views of the marina and the logging port. A short walk to the main street with lots of shops and eating places.
Nice kitchen area with a microwave. Plunger coffee was a nice touch!
Con: No compedium explaining the motel's services. Great guide to restaurants in the area, but no sightseeing information. Lots of this information in the lobby, but this should be in the room where one wants to sit and read the brochures.

Room Tip: Upstairs have a great view if you don't mind lugging you suitcases up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smgltd, Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Your comments are appreciated, thank you, and yes, a great view. Regarding the small concerns, we do have compendiums in the units but one may have been out for maintenance. However, that should have been noted in the unit and another option offered, so apologies for that. As for having no lift, guests are offered help to carry luggage upstairs at check in. It was a shame that it seems this was not offered on the day and will try to be more vigilant. Regarding no sightseeing iformation, there is some good information in reception for guests to choose for themselves and then take to their rooms to browse through. As we are not an information centre we do not keep a comprehensive range of information. However we have an excellent information centre a short distance from the motel, that has everything on Gisborne. Staff there are most helpful and it is worth a visit.

Regards
Olive Lewis
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VALLETTA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

We arrived without a resevation needing a 3 night stay. The owners were most welcoming and offered us a lovely ground floor room with a large terrace overlooking the river and inner harbour. All amenities were to be found in the room and were of very high standard. It was a lovely walk along the river bank to the beach and only five minutes walk away from the main shopping area. As we wanted to drive along the Pacific Coast highway the owner gave us all the information we needed such as where to stop and how far we could reasonably get and back in a day which was agreat help. We would have liked to spend more time in Gisborne had it been possible but we do intend to return to NZ and will certainly aim to stay at the Senator when we do so.

Room Tip: They all appeared to have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smgltd, Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
All feedback is welcomed, so apologies for the lateness of this response. Thank you for your positive comments and yes, all rooms do have great views of the inner harbour marina. Also, it is always pleasing to know that a guest's road trip has been enhanced by some small help from myself or staff.

Regards
Olive Lewis
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Senator has always been our favourite Gisborne place to stay. This trip we are showing a couple from Michigan, Detroit through the country so we are staying here as part of that tour. As usual the venue is spotlessly clean and the staff are so helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Jst ask Reception as all the rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Having stayed at many motels around N.Z would like to comment on the very spacious & clean studio unit we stayed in at the Senator Motor Inn in Gisborne. Nicely laid out with everything in its rightful place. A pleasureable time was had and would certainly revisit in the future. Well priced, well located & well serviced. Loved the over sized bathroom.

Room Tip: second floor for a great view of the inner harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smgltd, Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your positive remarks, much appreciated. The view from the units is great, which makes the stay that much more pleasant.

Olive Lewis
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Hi all, After checking hotels for this area here on TA,I booked a one night stay for 4 adults via email 3 weeks in advance,this process was very quick & easy. On arrival I found the Location very handy to the town centre, the recptionist was friendly and welcoming,check in process took only 2 minutes and when I asked for directions to a local landmark I was given great info and directions,
From the visitor photos of the room I had high expectations and I was not dissapointed at all, At the time of booking I was advised the only room available would have to have a roll away bed in the lounge area, my one and only minor complaint was the room was only set up for 3 people, a short visit back to reception had this minor problem sorted out within minutes,Our stay was great,very clean, modern well appointed room, comfortable beds,immaculately spotless bathroom,and great view through the double ranchslider, AT $185 for 4 people I was very satisfied with our stay and I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smgltd, Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments and pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our motel while visiting our lovely city. We will ensure you have a 3rd bed made up before you arrive next time.
Olive Lewis
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Senator Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Motor Inn

Address: 2 Childers Road, Gisborne 4010 , New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Senator Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and comfortable motel accommodation in the heart of Gisborne - Senator Motor Inn offers this and more.Our modern harbour side motel is a two minute walk to Central Gisborne’s shops, bars, cafes and restaurants.Each of our spacious self contained suites has its own balcony with views over the bustling inner harbour marina. From here you can take a relaxing riverside stroll along the riverside walkway to the spectacular Waikanae and Midway beaches in one direction or along the riverside walkway alongside the rivers in the other direction.Senator Motor Inn offers top quality motel accommodation for the discerning business traveller or holiday maker during the week or for those special get away from it all weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Senator Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Senator Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.