We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like home than a motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Vista Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bella Vista Motel to your Saves list
Bella Vista Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   511-513 Gladstone Road, Gisborne, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“More like home than a motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

From the moment we walked in, Bella Vista was welcoming. Genuine, warm, friendly and helpful service. We were able to view several rooms before making our choice of a suite, which had a large living/dining area with a single bed, a separate bedroom with queen sized bed and a spa bath with shower over in the bathroom. Great little but functional galley kitchen. Easy walking distance to shops and town centre and river walk. A lovely couple of days, thank you.

Room Tip: The rooms are well set back so there is no traffic noise. We had an upstairs corner room so were lu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    25
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
45
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Very clean and functional, great, friendly service, quiet location, we had the cheapest room,which still had basic kitchen facilities so we could prepare breakfast and lunches, great value for money, located 3 min drive from city centre

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric B, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
We appreciate your positive feedback, great value for money is definitely what we want to offer.
We emphasize comfort and cleanliness as essential elements of a good stay.
We look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We discovered the Bella Vista chain in July 2013, and we love staying at them. They're good value for money, reliable, and best of all they're always owned by the most charming locals. This one is owned by a Kiwi/French family who were lovely and enthusiastic. The place is very nice, and not far to town if you have a car.
For a couple of days there's plenty to do in Gisborne no matter what you like, from adventure and wildlife to wining and dining.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric B, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Bella Vista chain all around New Zealand.
As you have seen, we all make sure that you get the same high quality wherever you stay.
See you again soon in Gisborne .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Run of the mill room, but it was comfortable, warm and clean. Two nights in Gisborne was plenty of time to explore Poverty Bay. The Inner Harbour was where we found a selection of restaurants and beautiful views. Try "The Works" you will enjoy the historic setting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My trips around NZ become more comfortable if I get a good nights rest when my Motel/Hotel is comfy. Thee huge advantage this Motel has is the way this Motel stores their extra pillows. In all my 10years of travel I have never experienced the comfort of clean stored extra pillows. I experience sleeping issues and generally need extra pillows. This is thee only Motel that stores extra pillows in a storage bag. As far as I know I have no idea if extra pillows are clean or placed back into the wardrobe.
Thank-you Eric and Helen for a enjoyable sleep :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric B, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We agree that it is very important to feel confident in the cleanliness of your accommodation if you are to enjoy your stay. Placing spare pillows in a storage bag is just one of the many things we do to make sure you will always feel comfortable.
It was good to see you back in Gisborne, until next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Pre-check in:: Before flying up to advise I would arrive late evening, owner Eric was very friendly on the phone and upon questioning whether they had a restaurant or not, Eric helpfully explained how I could order-in.

Check in: Met Eric (and later his wife), had a friendly chat about travel and hotels in general. Was pleasantly surprised to hear they offered a French breakfast in addition to the continental breakfast so chose the former - Eric helpfully explained what some of the food items were. It was a fun conversation.

Room entry: Good room with everything you need including a nifty little kitchen. No issues at all, very clean. The bed was a little firm for my liking so didn't have a perfect sleep, other than that it was very quiet - it's not too far from the main shopping area, about a 10-15 minute walk, a pleasant walk on a sunny day.

Breakfast/check out: Was wowed when the French breakfast was delivered, thinking can I finish all that? Well I did! It is probably some of the best French pasties I've ever had. Checked out with no issues and had a nice brief chat with Helen before swiftly walking to work.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric B, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
The French breakfast is our specialty and it is great to see that you enjoyed it so much. We always do our best so our guests enjoy their experience in Gisborne.
We have special toppers on the beds to make them suitable for the maximum number of people however individual needs do vary enormously.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Bella Vista Motel for three nights in July. From the moment we arrived, our French/Kiwi hosts Helen and Eric made us feel totally at home in their well-appointed, comfortable and convenient motel in Gisborne. We enjoyed our time at the Bella Vista, and we'd happily recommend it to you as well for the following reasons:
COMFORT and CONVENIENCE
This motel is part of the Bella Vista chain operating throughout New Zealand. That means that the rooms are of a very high standard, with comfortable beds, furnishings and appointments. The bathroom and shower set-up especially impressed us. Why don't all motels have the "shower capsule" concept we found at the Bella Vista in Gisborne? Finally, a water-tight shower, with no more wet floors and soggy towels.
As for convenience, the Bella Vista sits on Gladstone Road, with ample car-parking out front. Gisborne's not busy, so you'll find it quiet at night with everything you need just a short walk or drive away.
WONDERFUL WELCOME!
As I said at the start, Helen and Eric made us feel right at home at the Bella Vista from the moment we arrived. Their friendly, easy, open style makes you feel like you're at home rather than staying at a motel. Nothing was too much trouble for Helen and Eric, including the faxing of a difficult document. They both tried over and over to make sure the fax arrived in Australia. It did, by the way. Thanks again Helen and Eric for looking after us in Gisborne!
FRENCH BREAKFAST
OOH LA-LA! This is another, and very special, reason to stay at the Bella Vista in Gisborne. Eric, you see, is French and Helen has spent lots of time in France. It's no surprise, therefore, that they serve up the most delicious French breakfasts for not much more than a song. Go on and treat yourself to Croissant, Pain au Chocolat et Pain aux Raisin. Bon appetit!
If you're coming to Gisborne to enjoy the Rhythm and Vines, or you're travelling through town on business, make sure you treat yourself at the Bella Vista. If your experience was like ours, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: The motel has washing and drying facilities on site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric B, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your extensive review.
We really enjoy our job and it is very satisfying to see that you have appreciated your stay with us.
We hope to have the opportunity to see you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bella Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel

Address: 511-513 Gladstone Road, Gisborne, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bella Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Vista Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.