We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tudor Park Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tudor Park Motel to your Saves list
Tudor Park Motel
386 Ormond Rd, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Opotiki, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Great value for money! My husband & I spent a weekend in Gisborne on Business. Very friendly service, right from the phone call to book. Got a big unit for just the two of us but was nice to have some space. Although the decor is aged, the unit was very comfortable. Not sure about the fake flowers all around the unit tho! Retro I guess but not us. We will be back tho. :)

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
4
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gisborne, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Beautiful accommodation, very large rooms with separate bedrooms. Great hosts, small tavern over the road, cooking facilities in each unit, Gisborne Hospital 50 metres walk on Ormond road.
I live in Gisborne and recommend this motel to my visitors.
Although there is no restaurant, Gisborne City Centre is only 7 minutes away with a BIG offering of basic to very fine dining.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed for one night in June for my dads birthday. Found this place through AA Travel recommendations and a friendly chat over the phone with the owners friend (who was looking after the motel over Queens birthday weekend) I decided to stay here. When I called a few days later to book I got offered a room upgrade which I accepted greatfully. When we arrived we found it was a little far from town but in a very quiet area right across the road from the hospital (which turned out to be a great thing as we ended up needing A&E in the middle of the night!!!) The room was clean and tidy but I dont think I was upgraded to the family suite as expected (maybe a forgotten detail from the owner when checking in) It would have been good to have that extra bedroom but oh well, life goes on. They have a games room with air hockey, pool table, ping pong and a couple of exercise machines (by the way I think the tredmil is broken, i couldnt turn it on) All the games were free and in working order. We had alot of fun pitting against eachother in air hockey. They also have a very expensive spa pool which you can make it light up on different covers. Atleast fitting about 5-6 people inside, we had one later on which was lovely but it could have done with a bit more ventilation in the room as our eyes starting stinging after a while from the chemicals. They also offer free movies at reception with a really wide range of options which was great. All and all I had a great stay at the Tudor Park Motel and will consider staying there again when I am in Gisborne next :)

Room Tip: We stayed in a unit with a King Bed and Single Bed, it was comfortable and clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artandkim, Manager at Tudor Park Motel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of the motel. It is always great to hear that the games room and spa pool are being enjoyed :) The treadmill has a safety key which we hold in the office so little ones can't hurt themselves playing with it. After your feedback we have added a sign to let people know where to find it. Our apologies for not making sure the complimentary upgrade went through. We do try and upgrade if we have room and are not sure where the communication went wrong. We hope your dad is in continuing good health. Best regards and see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We weren't expecting to spend the night in Gisborne but by the time we got there it was raining cats and dogs and we didn't feel like driving any more. We called up a few hotels from the AA guide and ended up going to the Tudor Park Motel as it fit our budget and amenity requirements. The place is run by an ex-US Air Force gentleman and his Kiwi wife. The room was quite large with a Queen bed, one twin bed, sofa, dining table with bench chairs, full service kitchen with utensils, TV and DVD player. The building, furnishings are a bit old but they are very clean and well maintained. Community Washer/Dryer is also available and I think there was a SPA. The only negative is that it's a drive from the heart of town (not that it matters in Gisborne) and also from the sunrise viewing spot (a lot of motels and hotels are close by, but charge more just for the location).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

Generally yes quite far from town but that did not matter as we had a car. Very old furnishings, unfortunately quite dirty rooms especially floor in the bathroom. At first you don’t see it but then have a closer look at the floor near the toilet (!) and you will be surprised, cobwebs and just dirt on the floor. No air conditioning and not possible to open the windows so during the night it is very hot and it was difficult to sleep. The rooms are quite spacious so this was a plus.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

this place is a gem would recommend to anyone on a limted budget swimming pool as well as a spa which i enjoyed as it was the middle of winter at 85 dollars nz a night u cant go wrong the basic room was better than some hotels that charge alot more the owner was very helpful downside to far from town center but okay if u have a car a warm comfortable place to stay at

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tudor Park Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Park Motel

Address: 386 Ormond Rd, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very spacious apartments sleep up to 7. Many free extras - private spa pool, swimming, wireless internet, gym membership, games room & exercise machine, parking for all vehicles, 6 sky channels including children's. Opposite Gisborne hospital, a friendly local pub, playground and shopping centre. Corporate and group rates. Fully equipped kitchens, en-suite, hair dryer, phone, fax, internet access. Full laundry, guest barbecue. We look forward to hosting your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tudor Park Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tudor Park Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.