We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly People and Spacious Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Newmarket Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Newmarket Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Newmarket Inn & Suites
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   112 Great South Road | Newmarket, Auckland 1051, New Zealand (Formerly BEST WESTERN Great South Road Motor Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
399 reviews 399 reviews
264 hotel reviews
Reviews in 273 cities Reviews in 273 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“Very Friendly People and Spacious Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed at this hotel using BW reward points and had a large suite with a single bed in the main living area and a double bed in the bedroom. The bathroom had a large spa size tub and lot of space. Space was tight between the table and the kitchen counter but this could be remedied with some redecorating. There was a little noise early in the evening as there were children playing in the pool that was directly behind our hotel. They did not bother me as I was horribly jet lagged from a flight and slept like a rock. The owners of the hotel were very friendly and helpful and we certainly had a lot of questions regarding how to get around Auckland. Breakfast was offered but was expensive (from our perspective) and we did not partake. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSRM, Manager at BEST WESTERN Newmarket Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Great to read that you enjoyed the room and the amenities! We trust that your holiday in NZ was an exciting one and you have taken plenty of wonderful memories back with you.

Cheers!

Laurence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    27
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
12
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Beside good location and friendly staff, there's nothing else to praise about this motel.
We stayed in the older part of the motel and the room is leaking! We have stay in many Best Western Hotel before but never been to one with this kind of standard. The bathroom is filthy and wost of all, the noise from the construction create an very unpleasant and unrelaxed environment for my family. Our rental car company had charged us extra for a punctured tire with a long nail in it, which I suspect was from the motel parking because there were loose building material all around the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights while our son had an operation at the Auckland Surgical Centre.The location is great...all you need is within a short walk or even shorter drive. We were in a one bedroom family unit. It was clean and well maintained. The room was well appointed and very comfortable. It was a treat to have 2 tvs in a motel unit! The full kitchen had everything one might need to prepare a full meal. We ate breakfast in the restaurant twice and were very pleased with the quality of the meals as well as the genuinely friendly service. On reservation, check in and check out the staff were pleasant and professional. There was noise from the motorway and trains, and we may have noticed it more than others, because we live rurally, however it did not really affect our sleep or comfort. Right outside the bedroom was a swing set and trampoline, great for us but may not be so good if you don't have children with you or you want a bit of piece and quiet. This is the 2nd time we have stayed here and we intend to return in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSRM, Manager at BEST WESTERN Newmarket Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for returning to stay with us and we're glad that you have found your stay to be enjoyable. We hope your son has recovered from his operation by now and we love to see you and your family again whenever you are visitng Auckland!

Take care!

Laurence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, NZ
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here as a group, and the accommodation was very good. Clean and quiet (even with builders on site). The cafe did fantastic breakfasts for a very good price, and they went beyond with their service for the young children we had with us. A very central location - easy to get to Sylvia Park, Newmarket and the city with lots of takeaways and restaurants nearby too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSRM, Manager at BEST WESTERN Newmarket Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback and I do apologize for this late reply. Our chef and his team have been getting many fabulous responses and we are glad that your group was happy and well looked after. We look forward to host your group again pretty soon!

Cheers,
Laurence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights in May 2012. The room was large and clean and probably better than expected for the price. It comprised a double bed (very comfortable) a reasonable-sized robe, large recliner chair, table with two chairs, a small desk and a kitchenette. The bathroom was clean and had plenty of towels and a hair dryer, plus soap, body wash and shampoo (but no conditioner). The (free) Wi-Fi was easy to use, fast and reliable.

Although there is a small fridge, there is no mini-bar to speak of (apart from some UHT milk) and while I didn't use any of the kitchen facilities it looked perfectly serviceable. There was a cooktop, microwave, kettle, cutlery and crockery for 2.

The staff were friendly and helpful and there is a cafe attached to the property that is quick and efficient, if a little odd. The coffee is not good.

There are a lot of motels/lodges in this part of Great South Rd. I would happily stay here again but being on a main road it is quite noisy.

Room Tip: There is no view to speak of but one of the higher number rooms (11-13 I think) might be your best b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSRM, Manager at BEST WESTERN Newmarket Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you for letting Trip Advisor readers know that we have free wi-fi and that the rooms are large and clean – we appreciate your comments.

Just to let you and future guests know that ‘motels’ in NZ can offer a mini bar, but this usually falls under the domain of a ‘hotel’ in NZ, while we concentrate on offering rooms that can be used for a stay of a few nights or more, where you have more of the ‘at home’ facilities like kitchens and an onsite laundry for your convenience.

Note taken for the coffee also – will get the barista back for more staff training again.

Many thanks,
George
Acting Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed at the Best Western Great South Road near Newmarket for 8 nights whilst daughter was in Mercy Hospital nearby. We had an upstairs unit which comprised of a living area with a queen bed and a couch, a small /kitchen/dining area with microwave, bar size fridge, cooktop, sink & pots & pans etc, a bathroom with shower only & a very small seperate bedroom with two single beds. It did the trick for what we needed and no more. The decor was modern and clean but offered little privacy as people walk past the windows of the unit to get to their room. It also got very hot in the afternoon which would be nice in the winter, but unbearable in the summer as there is no aircon. Free off street parking (a plus for Auckland) was outside our unit on the ground floor. We were also given a code for free wifi internet during our stay and utilized the reasonably priced self-serve laundry a couple of times. We did not eat at the attached restaurant so I can't comment on this.

Overall it was good place to stay if one needed to be in this area of Auckland and offered good value for money compared to some of the other properties nearby. The cheaper motels along this strip are cheaper for a reason (they were older and a lot less appealing), and I couldn't see what the more expensive motels offered which would be worth paying extra for. We had a car but also walked into the Newmarket shopping area and to the hospital (on Mountain Road) in about 20 minutes. There are buses running into the city from outside and the Newmarket train station is within walking distance.

On a negative note, I have to say that the motorway noise goes all day & night as it is literally over the fence. It kept me awake and I took to wearing ear plugs. Also I didn't find the staff to be particularly friendly. They sat in the office and did not do anything "beyond" what was necessary. We asked that our room not be serviced daily but for clean towels be provided every couple of days. We had to chase these up every time which was frustrating and quite slack in my opinion.

But the reason we won't stay here again is down to a mix up happening when I extended our stay by a few days. The duty manager was very helpful at the time, but obviously omitted to record the extension in the computer. On the day that we were initially going to check out we were told that our room was no longer available and our only option was to move to a vastly more expensive room (or leave). The manager on this day wasn't going to budge. It didn't seem to matter that I had made arrangements, that perhaps they had made a mistake and that we had already stayed five nights and needed another three (my observation was that most people stayed only 1-3 nights). It took a rather terse, longer than necessary discussion for the manager to concede and allow us to stay in our room (I would have happily moved to another room, but refused to pay a higher rate). In circumstances like this, it is always more pleasant when management go out of their way to sort a situation without the fuss we had.

Room Tip: Ask for a downstairs room if you have mobility issues. Some rooms front Great South Road and could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSRM, Manager at BEST WESTERN Newmarket Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review – we really appreciate your comments and time to write this.

We are pleased that you found our rooms clean and well priced and that you liked the free parking, and yes, the upstairs rooms do have a balcony you walk past to enter all the rooms and all the main windows have sheer curtains for your privacy. We have Venetian blinds in the kitchen area for privacy in nearly all of the rooms, but we did not in the suite you were staying in – we are changing this so that you can still have light and privacy in the kitchen area as well.

We know that there was a misunderstanding about the extension of your stay as I assisted you with this, and we did not have a record of this. If this mix up was due to an error by our staff we apologise to your family. We are glad we were able to fix the situation fairly quickly and that you were able to stay on in the room you were already occupying.

Yours sincerely
George
Acting Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We visited Auckland for a few days for a friend's 70th birthday and wanted to stay near his house. There are quite a few motels on Great South Road to choose from. After booking I was warned we would hear a lot of noise from the motorway and trains but it wasn't too bad. The rooms are a bit dated and beige is the colour theme, but they were mostly clean. We had a spa room, but when I turned on the spa the residual water in the pipes was rank and horrible, so I didn't try it again. The bathroom had a lot of long black hairs in it, these appeared after cleaning too so I'm not sure whether they were from past guests or cleaning staff. The room was only cleaned twice in four days because we came back to the room before it was cleaned. I think it would be better for the hotel to clean the rooms all in the morning and not leave tham until late in the afternoon. The laundry facilities were very good. It's close to the city and there are buses and trains, although we had a car. Overall I would come back here but I think the rooms could do with some refurbishment and updating, and the cleaning be a bit more organised.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSRM, Manager at BEST WESTERN Newmarket Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you for letting us know you would come back and stay with us and for your comments on the décor.

There is no excuse for the hairs in your bathroom, and we apologise. We have hired extra cleaning staff to ensure we finish cleaning earlier and our cleaners are also undergoing additional cleaning training with a new senior staff member. In the last month we have just been independently assessed by the Best Western Quality Assessor and Qualmark assess the property annually as well – we hope these two independent agencies will ensure that any guest staying with us in future encounters a clean, quality environment.

Many thanks,
George
Acting Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Newmarket Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Newmarket Inn & Suites

Address: 112 Great South Road | Newmarket, Auckland 1051, New Zealand (Formerly BEST WESTERN Great South Road Motor Lodge)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BEST WESTERN Newmarket Inn & Suites 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4.5 star luxury motel centrally located in Auckland providing quality and good value accommodation in a pleasant setting. Only minutes away from ASB Showgrounds, train/bus station, Newmarket shopping centres and Auckland CBD. On-site restaurant open in January 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Newmarket Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Newmarket Inn & Suites Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Newmarket Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.