We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome late night food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Love A Duck Restaurant

Love A Duck Restaurant
302 Dominion Road, Balmoral, Auckland, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #825 of 1,179 restaurants in Auckland
Restaurant details
Whakatane, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“awesome late night food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Went to Love a duck very late on a Friday night after the Ronan Keating concert. We just walked in off the street and were treated to an excellent meal from a very comprehensive menu. This would have to be the best Chinese food I have had since coming to New Zealand! Proper Chinese cuisine, they even had 'wood ears' and 'straw mushrooms'.
My partner is an East Coast Kiwi and stated it was the best Chinese meal he had ever eaten!
Excellent to be able to find somewhere good to eat late at night, very clean, good food, friendly staff, and very cheap.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    7
    11
    4
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Food is ok but - pretty average. Not a place that we go to after a few not so great experiences

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Don't give them your business.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

We got takeout from the restaurant on Beach Road. The pork was very tasty but very greasy. After a story that changed 3 times regarding how much duck we would get if we ordered the Peking duck, we foolishly got it anyway. When we got back to our room and opened the package, we found the container had very little duck atop a mound of those fried things that look like packing peanuts. It was very good Peking duck but we estimate it was about 1/3 of the meat from the duck when we had been promised it would be almost all the duck's meat without the bones. Price - $40.

Later in the week we walked down Anzac a few blocks to the Chinese market and purchased a WHOLE roast duck with sauce for I think it was $25. It was chopped into serving pieces and ready to go. Delicious! Since we could cook in our room we also purchase some Chinese greens to go with it and could have picked up an entire package of 20 Chinese pancakes for $5 but we still had some left from our skimpy meal of Peking Duck.

I feel they were deceptive and that the food we got was not a good value so I would never give them my business again.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

I like chinese food, and in this place was quite good.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“good food, good value and tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

This is what a call a 'cheap and cheerful' restaurant. The food is consistently good with large portions and reasonably priced. I have been a patron here for many years.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Love A Duck Restaurant also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Love A Duck Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Love A Duck Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.