We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Musashi Japanese Cuisine

Musashi Japanese Cuisine
64 Waimarie Street, St Heliers, Auckland, New Zealand
64-9-5752827
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #281 of 1,295 Restaurants in Auckland
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Description: To owner and Chef, Satoru Aoki, nothing is more important than the quality or freshness of his food and he is therefore deeply involved with the overseeing of all ingredients within MUSASHI’s menu.MUSASHI not only presents its guests with fine seasonal ingredients and good choice of local wines, it also treats diners to traditional Japanese refreshments such as Sake and Shochu, and beverages.We believe in catering to all individuals’ needs and requirements and therefore the menu generously includes choices for those who prefer Wheat Free or Vegetarian options. With many excellent reviews and compliments on MUSASHI dining experience, the staff and team at MUSASHI endeavour to retain that reputable status by providing visitors with exceptional cuisine and impeccable hospitality, every time.At MUSASHI our main goal is to provide you with a well blend of Japanese fusion cuisine, good service and value-for-money dining experience in Auckland where quality is the focus.Check out our website for more details: musashirestaurant.co.nz
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Authentic Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

From the warm welcome as you enter to the sincere farewell as we left this was a really pleasant evening. The menu is extensive as is the sake list. A good selection of Japanese beer and NZ wines also.The food was excellent, try some of the pork dishes.and also the vegetables. Many of the dishes are finished off at your table and the smell is mouth watering.Bookings essential in the evenings, plenty of parking outside.Thoroughly reccommended.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    14
    3
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant Japanese Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

I don't claim to be an expert in Japanese cuisine but I loved this place. We went there for lunch one day - noticing the lunch special sign in an area that has very little in the way of non-foodcourt dining options for lunch.

The moment you enter you are welcomed, given some truly nice green tea and left to browse a great menu. When we went they weren't licensed but the did allow us to nip across the road to secure a beer to have with lunch. Nice touch.

We both ordered set lunches and both really enjoyed them. The platters were ornate, beautiful and freshly assembled. The sashimi was bright and shiny. The serving generous.

I loved the place and look forward to going there for dinner. It should be supported as basically nothing else in Milford opens for lunch.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piha, New Zealand
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The Best Lunch in Milford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

I frequent the Milford location of this restaurant. I was first taken by a friend who claimed that she knew the best Japanese restaurant ever, considering myself an expert I was keen to understand her version of best.

All I can say is she was right. For the $15 set menu for lunch, this has to be the best value lunch you can buy. Even if value was important, next comes presentation, flavour, variety, and service.

Everything is wonderful and it has become my happy place.

The only thing is why am I sharing my secret place in Milford with others????

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My Favorite Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

I love going to Eiji, Ive always been going there since it opened, and i have always had a good experience, the only problem you can get is that its so popular you have to book on busy nights. I love the shabu nabe, the pork belly and most of all the udon noodles.. if your looking for quality noodles then this is your place. Great service aswell.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Had a dinner here, ordered the "deluxe" set menu. It was very much worth the money. Very much enjoyed. Little...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

Had a dinner here, ordered the "deluxe" set menu. It was very much worth the money. Very much enjoyed. Little cramped in space but that's the only negative thing about this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musashi Japanese Cuisine also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
 
North Shore City, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Musashi Japanese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Musashi Japanese Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.