We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Morning coffee stop” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Benediction Cafe

Benediction Cafe
30 St Benedict Street, Auckland, New Zealand
09-309 5001
Improve this listing
Ranked #583 of 1,295 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Tauranga, New Zealand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Morning coffee stop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I visited this cafe hoping to have coffee and brunch. The location suited us as it was close to the inner city residential area. Neither my companion nor I could find anything on the menu that appealed. There was a selection of nice looking sandwiches and rolls but we were looking for more of a traditional brunch. The coffee was OK but not great. I will probably look somewhere else next time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I can't stop thinking about the potato scones.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is a real gem of a place.
The staff seem very friendly but not over the top...the menu was not elaborate but seemed concise with a good range of choices. Seating was ample with a lovely looking outside area.
When it arrived, the food was glorious (with my emphasis on the potato scones....superb!) it was all very hot and tasty, but the thing I am most pleased about was the absence of loud music (a particular pet hate of mine.)
My friend, who happens to be a bit of a coffee snob, rated her coffee very highly.
All in all, a very positive experience and we will definitely return!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good eatery but average coffee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is a good neat joint but can be better I would give it 3.5 stars, we went for breakfast my wife had Red Flannell Hash which was clearly the stand out dish and I had eggs Benedict which tasted good but the presentation was very average, 2 small muffins in a plate with little effort to make it more appetizing ...! Considering New Zealand has the best coffee culture in the world I would rate the coffee as 5.5/10 as per NZ standards, the latte art was also average.

Do try their Raspberry and White Chocolate Friand.....I would visit for that alone….the service is very friendly and good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“funky little cafe with nice outdoor area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

A hidden gem - upstairs nice outdoor seating area - great menu with favorites but a few really interesting different dishes too. Great coffee, attentive service. A good breakfast/brunch and lunch spot

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Benediction Cafe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Often crowded and noisy but good food. Nice outdoor area upstairs

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benediction Cafe also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Benediction Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benediction Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.