We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merediths

Merediths
365 Dominion Rd, Mt Eden, Auckland, New Zealand
09 623 3140
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 1,175 restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: International, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had heard several good reports about this place so booked for our wedding anniversary. It was a degustation menu with a choice of 6 or 8 courses along with a choice of wines to match each course or just buy a bottle or glass as you wish. We opted for the 6 course with one wine match which we shared (from previous experience found having a match each was a little too much by the end of the night). From the moment we walked in we found the place had a lovely ambience, clean lines with warmth. Our waitress was friendly and attentive. The food was all exquisite in presentation and every mouthful a delight for the tastebuds. A vegetarian option was offered if required. We thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience and food superb. Would certainly recommend it , particularly for a special occasion. Not a cheap night out but worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    98
    15
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I went there for the last dinner in new zealand, and it was a very good choice. When I looked into the menu, the combinations of the foods were somehow strange, but when I tasted it, I felt in love with it. Amazing experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Don't Miss It!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Fabulous food, the chef is a wizard and it is a great place to go if you want excellent dining and a very relaxed space. it is good, really good - and you'll be sorry you missed it fi you don't check it out!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Belongs at the top.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Clearly belonging in the top of Auckland's dining scene.
All meals are expertly crafted with the highest level of care and attention to detail.
All service staff are attentive and very professional. A truely memorable dining experience.

One little note to mention,perhaps white table cloth would be appropriate.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Everyone had raved about this place!
Some strange flavour combinations and poorly cooked food.
Fatty lamb
Wine was the best thing on the menu
Waitress was lovely
I had the setting sun in my eyes through the frosted glass for ages - very unpleasant!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merediths also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Merediths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merediths, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.